We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh - what cakes!”
Review of The Potting Shed - CLOSED

The Potting Shed
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oh - what cakes!”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

It was just after 5 but he was still open and welcoming! After a long walk up the Corrieyairack Pass we were in need of sustanance. No Cappuccinos here but good cafetiere and the cakes...well, .the best there are as far as I'm concerned. Full of cream and good things like fresh fruit and ground almonds but still 'light'! Delightful decor and ambience too

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank HelenRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    13
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly tiny cake-only cafe”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Two of us found ourselves in Kingussie on a November Sunday morning searching for somewhere open. Two jaunty yellow balloons gleaming in the drab, damp gray granite highstreet caught our eye. We went in to the tiny front room and were met cheerfully by a young man who turned out to be the person who makes the cakes.

This place is all about the cake - don't ask for a bacon sandwich! But what cakes they are! A variety of 7 or 8 including "coffee and cream" and "rhubarb and raspberry" and "apple and cinnamon", some of which are gluten-free.

Superb fresh ingredients, good skills in the kitchen and a single-minded focus on (you've guessed it) cake, including a cake loyalty card, meant this was a step or two above the average offer and some of the finest I've ever scoffed. Reasonably priced too at £9 for coffee and cake for 2. Enterprise like this deserves to be rewarded with our custom.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtonmore, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best cakes anywhere”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The original Potting Shed still exists at Drakes Nursery on the back road between Kincraig and Aviemore and still has the nicest cakes together with a great wild bird viewing gallery, but this off-shoot in Kingussie is far more convenient and just as disastrous to a diet.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

After visiting out of season last year and missing my chance of cake at the original location, I have been keen to return and was delighted to see there was now a shop in Kingussie. What great cakes. The peanut butter cake was great, thank you for finishing it so quickly so I could have a slice.
A lovely place to watch Kingussie go past.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ec17381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingussie, Scotland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fabby cakes”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

A tiny tea/coffee shop in Kingussie serving the most amazing cakes. All you can have is tea or coffee with cake but its well worth going.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChrisnBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Potting Shed also viewed

Kingussie, Badenoch and Strathspey
Kingussie, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Kingussie, Badenoch and Strathspey
Kingussie, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing