We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary break down the drain!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Star Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Anniversary break down the drain!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

My girlfreind and I booked the star hotel through groupon, it was just a little break away for our anniversary as we planned to keep the celebrations based in edinburgh but we just went for it with the thought of well it cant be bad if groupon have it up, WRONG! we had a 3pm check in so we arrived at 3pm sharp to check in and were giving our room key buy the facebook entertained receptionist who did seem to not even be aware of our existence only what her friends had been doing on her facebook news feed! after been giving our key we heded to our room (17) to find music blaring from inside the room and the duvet and hoover lying outside at the door, turns out it hadnt even been cleaned for us arriving to the dismay of the recptionist, turning another cheekt we headed to explore to give them time to get ready. The room was out dated and had a very lingering smell.

The voucher included 2 steak dinners with a prawn platter starter, so as we sat down and began to order the young waitress had no knowledge of any voucher and had to refer to "managment" to make sure it was all correct (shambles) she then came back with the news of there was NO steaks left, now the hotel was like a ghost town so no way did i belive they had sold all the steaks so this was a case of preeration gone wrong!! as my girlfreind has a wheat intolerance the steak was by far the only thing she could eat of the bread filled bud menu they used in the "restraunt". we asked if a bottle of wine was included in the voucher as we could not remember, again she refered to managment in the kitchen and to our joy we had the oppertunity to hear the very stern comment towards us through the very thin doors, for this so called manager to then approach us and asking for our voucher with a face you could just slap. we agreed to just buy a bottle and get on with our already shabby meal, during service we herd a few saying back and forwards from the young waitress to the chef, nothing but a bit banter until she went into the kitchen and shouted and i quote " whats happening my N***A" we where shocked!! i could nopt belive this young girl would use such racist lanauge in a hotle! i was furious and could not wait to get a gold of the general manager to explain our horror and discust!

we ended up eating out the next night at the big hotel just up from the star and it was beautiful and the service was top notch!

Overall our time up the cairngorms was amazing we had so much to do and was so relaxing the but sadly the best bit was checking out this hell hole of a hotel!

STAY AWAY!!

Room Tip: best tip i can give you is well, dont go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank johnbPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star M, General Manager at The Star Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We spoke before you left the hotel and If you feel we did not address your complaint please feel free to call me at the hotel to discuss further.

Mhairi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    66
    30
    17
    24
See reviews for
36
70
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Just spent a three day break with elderly parents at Star hotel. As they are both 89 years old and not very mobile it was nice to get a ground floor room for them. They were happy with their room and although it was in the annex there was only one step up into back door of the hotel which they could manage. My husband and I were also happy with our room.

The food was delicious. Good choice at evening meal and very well presented. Hearty breakfast really set us up for the day!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morrock47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star M, General Manager at The Star Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you so much we enjoyed the time you spent with us - your parents were lovely people!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

I use this hotel for all of my visits to Badenoch area, mainly through work related. Can't praise this hotel enough. Excellent food with generous portions and very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are very comfortable. The bar is very reasonably priced and it proves very popular with the locals too. I've no hesitation in recommending this Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyBFortWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star M, General Manager at The Star Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you so much for your review - I look forward to your next visit.

Mhairi Moffat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We got a very good deal for a 2 night stay at The Star Hotel, so our expectations were not very high. Our expectations were met when we first arrived and went to our room. It was very small (bathroom door could not fully open due to hitting the bed) with tatty decor and very faded bedding. The bathroom was also tiny and the glass light shade was broken. The curtains were too thin so the street lights lit the room through the night. The bed was hard and we could feel the springs from the mattress. There were 2 rooms either side of us and we could hear snoring from the next door room. On the Saturday night there was a birthday party going on in the function room very close to our room and even with the television up at the maximum volume we could not block out the sounds of Show Me the Way to Amarillo and similar songs going on until 1am! We also had to walk through the function room (to many disapproving and puzzled looks from the guests of the party) when the party was in full flow to get to our room! It was all rather embarrassing and we felt a prior warning from the staff that this was going to be the case would certainly have been appreciated.

On the plus side, the room and bathroom were clean and the shower was hot and reasonably powerful. The breakfast was hot and well cooked. The staff were mostly very pleasant and polite, although some of the serving staff looked quite stressed and unhappy. The bar was nice and friendly and although the entertainment was not to our taste, it was well done and quite enjoyable.

In summary, if you're strapped for cash and want somewhere clean just to rest your head before exploring the highlands, then The Star might be for you, but be warned that it is very noisy at the weekend and you're unlikely to get much sleep!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star M, General Manager at The Star Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We have only very recently taken over The hotel and the rooms will be refurbished very soon.
I apologise for you not being told about the party.
I am glad that you found the staff pleasant and the rooms clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingussie hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

I went here to have a nice dinner with my family. I was recommend to come here by a friend as she heard it was good.. She was terribly wrong. We got in around 7.15. We were sitting down waiting until finaly someone came over and took our order. As most if the menu was chicken you can imagine most of my family chose chicken. We were then informed that by 7.25 they had run out of chicken. Now there was hardly anybody else in there and there is a co operative just a few seconds down the road so we asked if they could go and get some chicken for us. After that charade we were looking forward to have a lovely meal. We got out dinner an hour and a half later at around 8.50 and one of my family members did t get there's until 9.00. As you can imagine we were all starving by this time! The meal was awful and some could hardly eat it. My family members got the tinyest piece of chicken I have ever seen in my life! We payed half price for the dinner as it was just atrocious. I will NEVER be coming back here again i advise you not to come and to go somewhere better.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottishGal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star M, General Manager at The Star Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I remember this night well and I have to admit it was a bit chaotic as the dining room was full - some off your family have been in previously and I am sure they had enjoyed their meals so I hope you can accept my apologies for your bad experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Avoid room 12. Right above the bar . Especillay noisy when there having a pub quiz. room matresses rock hard. Springs were poking through. After 1 night got a change of room no problem. No complaints about 2nd room. Food lovely .Staff lovely.
AVOID ROOM 12 !!!

Room Tip: Avoid room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattygee227567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

ive stayed in the star hotel many times i also take mini bus with 17 people not had a bad time yet staff all been very good the meals the last time i was there where a lot better george malcolm did very well justed booked 3 day break for june

Room Tip: you should only been in to sleep in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronald b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star M, General Manager at The Star Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for your review - we all enjoyed having your group to stay with us and look forward to your next visit. I am sure George Malcolm will also be delighted that you enjoyed his fantastic music. Thank You Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.2 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Hotel

Property: The Star Hotel
Address: 32 High Street, Kingussie PH21 1HR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Star Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Kingussie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing