We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grrrrreat place”
Review of The Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Star Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kingussie
Reviewed 4 June 2008

hi i went here last year with my neighbour and friend and we both loved it and are planning a return visit soon, this hotel is the friendliest most welcoming one i have ever stayed in,( and i have visited all over the world) the staff are great and so nice, the decors a bit dated (me being polite)
but the hotel is clean and we didnt want for anyhting except perhaps a lift to our room which was in the gods so to speak. we stayed for 5 nights and only once did we decide to eat elsewhere, the atmosphere in this place makes it a great place to just unwind and have fun no airs and graces needed.
the wine at night with the meal was supermarket prices making for an even better time.
liz frae st andrews

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank nqueenmercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2008

My wife and i were at the star hotel for highland night weekend 27th january cannot praise the friendliness of staff enough food was excellent service second to none entertainment good we will definetly be going back probably regularly and i have already told friends about the star great value great weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank hiram2abiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2007

My partner and i (early 20s) went here in july 07 for a weekend. I enjoyed staying here - traditional scottish hotel. only thing i would say is rooms quite small. Food lovely and a good base for touring.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliG317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2007

The Star Hotel, Kingussie, Scottish Highlands, was a wonderful surprise. My partner had booked a 5 day stay in mid November, and we ended up adding an extra night. Charming, clean, and close to all the hiking we wanted to do, the Star became "home" for us quite quickly-a breakfast and dinner are provided and as others have said-the selections are very good. The rooms are colorful and kept spotless by the efficient, courteous staff. There is a bar attached and two of the nights we were there, a guitar player-very enjoyable (Capone). The Star is also quiet, and a refreshing night's sleep reinvigorates for the next days activities. We saw so much from this home-base, it instantly became one of my favorite places ever-and I am a frequent visitor to the UK. The owners and staff there are all very sunny and ready to answer any question you could have. I truly got the sense that I was a valued guest, and we are already talking about when we can get time and go back.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sylvia127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

I have stayed at the star hotel 4 times and am thinking of booking another stay. Has very friendly staff and the service was great. The rooms were always clean and tidy and quite spacious.
The main bit i loved was the food, the breakfast was always delicious and you got to choose from a wide variety. The main course was mouthwatering and i have never complained about anything on any stay at this hotel. Would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank w33mcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsMCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fiona2326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.1 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingussie
512 reviews
2.3 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
2.6 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtonmore
261 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Hotel

Address: 32 High Street, Kingussie PH21 1HR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range: £58 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Star Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Atrapalo and Agoda so you can book your The Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Kingussie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing