We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Weekend - Friendly Staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Star Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Manchester
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Weekend - Friendly Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Have just recently returned from a brilliant weekend at the Star and would like to say a huge thank you to all of the staff that made our weekend so perfect.

Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by the very friendly and professional manageress who made us feel right at home straightaway.

We were surprised to find the rooms are a lot cleaner , and a lot nicer than what we anticipated after reading recent reviews on here and the comfty bed provided an excellent night's sleep. The bathroom was also spotless and perfectly adequate for a 3 night stay.

We ate here two out of the three nights on our stay and enjoyed some excellent meals. Breakfast was fresh and served on warmed plates - We really could not fault the food.

What really made the stay for us though was the amazing staff. From the manageress to the bar staff we were treated with care and just the right amount of attention each step of the way. We cannot thank the staff enough for such a pleasant and comfortable stay!

The value of this hotel is unbeatable. Would definitely stay here again if we were to return to the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    65
    30
    17
    23
See reviews for
36
70
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paisley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I have used and stayed at the star hotel every year, was on a day visit to newtonmore and decided to head to the star looking forward to a hearty meal, SO WRONG, The menu has been substantially reduced to a sheet of A4 paper, I should have seen the warning signs, placed an order for 2 adults and 2 kids, we waited and waited and waited and we were the only people in the bar area who had ordered food, 40 minutes later it arrived, gone was all the fresh produce that the star used to use, the chips were burnt and soaking in oil, said to the staff on duty about them and the manageress said they were twice fried hand made chips, don't think so then a member of the kitchen staff appeared to say that they would take them back and make some frozen chips as a substitute. Don't think so.

On paying, not even a " how was your food" the manageress could not even make eye contact or say goodbye to the kids.

Food and service was certainly not a highland welcome that we have become to expect from the star

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank scottishsean999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingussie hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here a couple of times now and have thoroughly enjoyed every stay. The staff are friendly, helpful and always cheery, and you get a hearty breakfast in the morning. Of particular note is that they welcome dogs to this hotel - we have taken our collie each time and he is always well-received, which is more than can be said for a lot of hotels. We will be using The Star Hotel again, as it is comfortable and friendly - certainly cheap and cheerful!

Room Tip: Rooms not on Kingussie main street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Having stayed here previously under the management of Joan, we were looking forward to our weekend. Food was poor welcome was poor and over all stay was not as expected. New manager is the most arrogant man I've ever met in my life.. And very rude. I don't advise staying here. We won't be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glasgowgeorge12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Having previously stayed at the Star Hotel many times , we booked for a long weekend as opposed to our usual 2 days , The service was as always excellent , The food was exceptional compared to previous years and in very large portions , The Halloween quiz on Saturday night was a real brain teaser as the theme was horror stories , movies & books & music soundtracks all related to the Halloween theme in aid of the Highland hospice. Paul was the quizmaster & author of the quiz & all the other staff made it an enjoyable & memorable evening. The Hotel
was warm & clean , Wi-Fi access is a plus point & the entertainment was a delight , My 12 year old daughter loved the long weekend , the days out and about and the Hotel , in response to previous reviews about the decor , changes are in progress , so don't be so judgemental....

Room Tip: Telephone first for for up to date status.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alec c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverness
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Read other reviews but the wife and I decided to go for weekend anyway. As others have said rooms need some TLC but the staff make up for it Paul behind the bar and andrea in dinning room both couldn't do enough for us . Food was good the band on friday were great u get what u pay for will be back .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dansmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntisland, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

arrived at this 3star hotel and it just went downhill.room21 was just filthy.mould all round the bath. wc pan jammed against the bath. paper hanging off the wall.Dust on the windowsill could have planted flowers in it. only saviour was the waitress really nice lassie and the food was good+.stay here again? no chance.

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.2 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Hotel

Property: The Star Hotel
Address: 32 High Street, Kingussie PH21 1HR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Star Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Kingussie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing