We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burton-on-Trent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Restaurant Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

First of all I would like to thank Paul for his friendly welcome when we arrived on Friday the 11th of October. Beautiful hotel in an amazing setting, friendly reception and staff.

I appreciate it is hard to please all of the people all of the time, but as a retired chef/manager the food and service in the restaurant left a lot to be desired.

The waitress service was dire, through no fault of their own I hasten to add, total lack of organistional skills sadly lacking by whoevers in charge.

Breakfast spot on, sadly the same could not be said about the abysmal "table d'hote dinners" a fact we did not know when we booked with Cairngorm travel.

I am saddened to make this complaint but to survive in the world of hospitality you have to be on top form.

Last but not least, not good to see giant cobwebs in the windows of the ballroom!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAPIDRIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. I note your comments and thank you for bringing your observations to my attention.

Regards
Paul Brown. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    143
    51
    20
    30
See reviews for
50
192
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights recently on a DBB basis for a weekend break and really enjoyed our stay. The buffet dinner on the Saturday night was very good so was the table d'hote dinner. Breakfast was also good, dining room staff were very efficient and pleasant. We had a large room which was nicely furnished and very was clean. The staff were very polite and helpful and overall we had a really good break. If I had to mention any negative it would be the evening entertainment, although nothing wrong with it, it catered more for the elderly which was the majority of people staying in the hotel. Don't let this put you off as we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your kind comments regarding the team. All team members are encouraged to read the reviews on trip advisor to help keep abreast of guest feed back and help us continually improve the guest experience. It is so nice for them to receive appreciation for their efforts in this way. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel and the Highlands again in the future.

Paul Brown. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were at a family wedding on the 20th sept first proble the carpet was that bumpy in the lobby I caught my heel and to my embarrassment feel to the floor then after the speeches were done I went to the toilet and got told off as the soup was being served and I was not the only one!!!!! also was asked to hurry with my soup as the hotel had a schedule to keep that was the saying of the day then when our main meal came we were half way through when the waitresses removed the veg of all the tables before anyone could say anything they were gone found the restaurant manager running round checking every 2 minutes to see if anyone was finished alot of people said they felt rushed so never finished their food the wedding cake was cut and the bride had asked that every table got a plate of cake there was a couple of tables that didnt my sister needed to take her son (who has a medical condition with his bladder )was told told she could not go to the toilet as they were doing the line up she explained that she needed to take her son to the disabled toilet as he needed sorted and it was her mothers wedding and she would understand to which she was told she could not use the disabled and had to trail downstairs to the ladies which is to small and not private for her 7 yeat old son I could go on but my biggest problem was the attitude of the restaurant manager dont know his name just that he has glasses and a beard and was the topic of conversation the next day as to how rude he was the wedding is supposed to be the happiest day of your life I just hope the bride and groom get a very big apology

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your comments and for bringing these points to my attention. Following an investigation into the points raised I have spoken to the team member concerned. I apologise on their behalf and trust this situation will not arise again.

Regards
Paul Brown. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed in hotel just one night on business
Hotel staff was very good and friendly
Manager was stop on in his job
Hotel is clean but a wee bite wear and tear
Food was very good
Would stay again
Staff are very good they had two coach party's in and wedding and I had no waiting on food or drink

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcgheeallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All reviews are posted on the team noticeboard for all of the staff to see. I thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to the highlands again in the future.
Paul Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel is a little tired in places but the room was spacious and clean and the bathroom clean and functional, although the bath linen was past its use-by date.
The food was excellent and the staff very obliging. There was even entertainment in the lounge each evening and a jigsaw puzzle for anyone to contribute to!!
Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Des T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The hotel is a traditional Scottish hotel with all the charms and character of an old 'Dame' that is in need of a face lift in places. The redecoration of the hotel is an on going project which takes a little time. Each year we strive to improve another area of the hotel but like the Forth Bridge, as you get to the end you have to start at the beginning again. I do hope we will be able to welcome you to the hotel again and to this special and spectacular part of the world.

Paul Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Our tour group was supposed to be lodged at Macdonald Aviemore Resort. Instead we were taken to Duke of Gordon Hotel. In room, a memo from Zsolt Balogh, General Manager of
Macdonald Aviemore Resort, found in our room said about Macdonald Aviemore Resort being
unable to accommodate us, "This is due to an oversight on our part and is in no way the fault of
your Holiday Company". Facing the hotel, our room was last on left, second floor. THEIR hair
dryer I borrowed blew the circuit on the floor. 45 minutes to get electricity back. Bathtub was
duct taped on front. Our room looked SHABBY -- not like pictures of rooms on web. Fire alarm
was set off first night -- Fire Brigade came, shut off alarm, found no cause. Faulty Towers???
I realize the hotel was built in 1906 and it's time to bring it into the 21st century!

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you have to stay in it. If it looks like the photos on the web, fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

It was a pleasure to look after the happy couple and to be a part of their special day. we look forward to welcoming you all again to the Duke of Gordon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Good accommodation,good food,excellent staff and good place to tour from.Entertainment good and it was live.Don't expect to much and you will be pleasantly surprised with a bit of scottish dancing too .Another couple of pubs in the town are ok. Don't miss the folk museum just south of Kingussie......excellent.Spent 5 days at the hotel and it was well worth it .

Room Tip: we went for the four poster room....very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to Review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards
Paul Brown. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
16.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Gordon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Gordon Hotel

Property: Duke of Gordon Hotel
Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Gordon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Gordon is one of the premier privately owned hotels in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park,a truly unspoilt and spectacular part of the world. The hotel is one of the few highland hotels that can offer all the home comforts of a modern hotel combined with the traditional charachater and heritage of an old scottish coaching inn. The open log fire welcomes our guests into the warm and friendly enviroment that is the Duke of Gordon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Duke of Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Gordon Kingussie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing