We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room with a View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Room with a View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

My husband and I were with a party of approximately 30 for a Christmas and Mistletoe break being held at this hotel.

What impressed us straight away was that the bedroom was a good size and overlooked the gardens across the road. The inbuilt wardrobes housed a true gent's one with shelves down one side, which is unusual to find.

The round tables with candle lit candelabra made a lovely setting for our five course meals, including coffee.

We were booked in for 4 nights with entertainment every evening in the ballroom for those wishing to participate. However, the large log fire proved too much of an attraction for some and with plenty of comfortable chairs around, who could blame them.

The chefs put on a truly wonderful buffet on our last evening and nothing seemed to be too much bother for the staff - both those serving and behind the desk.

My husband and I will certainly book into the Duke of Gordon in the future.

Room Tip: My husband and I occupied Room 425 which, as I said, had a very pleasant view with a balcony running...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

Thank you for your kind words and comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the highland again in the future.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    143
    51
    20
    30
See reviews for
50
192
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Called in advance to make enquiry about availability of a room for that evening. Very helpful receptionist said they had a room free and it was priced at under £50 for B & B.

When I arrived at this v large hotel (well for Kingussie it is) I saw a number of coaches in the otherwise deserted car park. I now knew what sort of hotel it was!!! Sure enough when I went to reception the hotel was very busy and the dining room was packed. Great business to have I'm sure at the end of November. Same helpful and friendly receptionist booked me in and gave me the keys to my room. The room was eventually found when I got to the attic...........no lift to the attic only stairs. This was one of the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in. Not really up to scratch for a 'Highland Hotel'. Tiny single bed with very thin, old duvet, scruffy bathroom and thinnest towels I've ever seen. Tiny 12/14 inch TV, my lap top has a larger screen!!!!

Ventured downstairs however dinner was out of the question as the dining room was packed with the travelers from the coaches.

Retired to my room after some nosh from the local pub.

Wakened very early to sound of washing machines running in what I thought to be the next door room. I was in room 35@ Not quite sure why washing machines need to be run, if that's what they were, at 7.00am!! Oh and there was a strong whiff of dogs in the corridor in which my room was located.

Breakfast was OK, but nothing special. Again very helpful staff, but please drop the 'Thank you Madame' remember it's a Scottish Highland hotel, not one in the Swiss Alps

Good points:
Available at short notice; powerful hot shower and very helpful and polite receptionist.
Poor points:
Room standards v poor and maybe a slightly larger TV, new bed, new towels and better quality duvet and bedding.

Would I stay again: No. If perhaps you had not given me the smallest room in the hotel I might have considered staying again. Remember if you offer guests the very smallest room which has obviously missed out on any recent decoration and no new beds, etc that's what I think your entire hotel is like, which I'm sure its not.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the attic beginning 35....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RegularTraveler1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

I am sorry that you were not happy at the hotel and with the facilities we offered you. As you have mentioned the hotel was busy at the time and you were given one of the last rooms available. Dinner is served in the main restaurant for majority of the hotel residents, however, we also have a lounge bar that has a bar menu and offers a more relaxed atmosphere that we would have been happy for you to use. I do hope that you will visit us again.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

This was our first visit to Duke of Gordon whereas quite a few other couples were returning after a previous visit or visits. Of those revisiting, many were disappointed overall because standards had dropped since their previous visits - primarily the food.

I can only go on my observations. Many reviews have praised the hotel amenities and I have no problems with those reviews - indeed I think the dining room is one of the best my wife and I have ever experienced on coach holidays; truly a splendid room in which to dine. No faults with the staff either.

We have only two complaints: the planned excursions and the presentation of the meals.

The excursions were poor. In one instance the first destination was an EWM (Edinburgh Woolen Mlll outlet at Spean Bridge; followed by a visit to Fort Augustus where the highlight was The Clansman Centre - if you were willing to pay an entrance fee of £6 or so. Those that didn't (or wouldn't) fork out the fee had to make their own way for one and a half hours in a closed town as it was out-of-season. The length of time to get to these places by coach did not justify the end result.

Our views on the food: the hotel seems to buy in quality produce but the cooking and presentation is failing to meet expectations. We feel the cook (not a chef by any stretch of the imagination) needs to be replaced promptly if the hotel wishes to assure some of those who vowed never to return. So many times we heard that the standard was "not the same". Two examples: roast potatoes that were so tough on the outer surface that the only edible part was the soft interior; and sprouts that looked grey (presumably as a result of being boiled hours before being served). Lack of thought in presentation was another failing: eg, an appealing fillet of salmon served with the above luckless sprouts!! Salmon and sprouts??? God in Heaven!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShieldsDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your visit to the hotel and the area. I have discussed your comments with Chef with regard to the meals and we will endeavour to make improvements. With regard to sprouts being served with the Salmon dish; The salmon was one of the choices on the 'Christmas dinner' menu served on one of the evenings. Sprouts were part of the vegetable choice served to each table. I am sorry that you were not offered an alternative at the time but assure you that we would happily change any aspect of the meal if a guest is not happy.

It is unfortunate that you did not go to the 'Clansman Centre'. This is a popular tourist attraction that tells the story of the Jacobite rebellion led by Bonnie Price Charlie in the 18th Century, leading to the massacre at Culloden and the start of the Highland clearances. There are many artefacts on display and practical demonstrations of weaponry and costume. Sadly many of the attractions and castles close for the winter which poses a problem to your tour operators. This does mean that at times daily excursions do have to travel further than they would at other times of the year. However one of the advantages of this is that you get to experience the land scape and natural beauty that is the Highlands.

I do hope that this will not deter you from visiting the highlands again and spending time in one of the few unspoilt wildernesses in the UK. Thank you for your comments regarding the team here at the Duke it is always nice for them to be recognised for the hard work they do and to know they are appreciated for their efforts.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We were a group of 36 and had a wonderful time based at the Duke of Gordon Hotel for a Mountains and Mistletoe Autumn Break. We were all made most welcome by all staff.. The hotel is very comfortable throughout with a lovely log fire in the reception / sitting area and free wifi for those who like to use that. The meals were very good and well presented (considering that the dining room was full with other groups). Good entertainment at night and the drinks were very reasonably priced. We will certainly be putting it on our list of places to return to in future.

A grand place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain_G_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

your kind words and comments are very much appreciated by all of the team.

Thank you

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

What a lovely hotel with an open fire to welcome you. Very friendly staff. Champagne reception followed by the Lairds Buffet on Friday night. Fresh salmon, pasta, curry, turkey, beef and gammon and a lovely salad bar. The dessert table was also delicious. Would certainly recommend this hotel to family and friends and would definitely go back there too. The rooms were very spacious and lovely and warm.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out the front to the garden are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendersDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

We do our best to have a welcoming, homely atmosphere at the hotel which adds to the experience for the guests. Thank you for your kind words and comments.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful they were all very nice,food excellent,rooms very clean and cosy.Would definitely go back again.certainly recommend to friends.Lairds buffet on friday night lovely fresh salmon, salads,meats,curry and rice.lovely starters and desserts.mmmm delicious.only fault we ate too much.

Room Tip: 1st floor facing east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 936DIANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

It is always nice for the staff to be recognised for the hard work they do and to know they are appreciated for their efforts. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were staying at The Duke of Gordon as part of our bus tour holiday right from the start we were made to feel very welcome . We were travelling in a group for a family wedding so had both adults and children with us the rooms we recieved were just perfect ! Large and airy plenty room for the five of us to relax bathroom lovely and also loads of room always plenty towels etc for us all , tea and coffee in room always well stocked . We found the dining room very nice also all the hotel staff were very good very impressed with children being given same menu choices as adults instead if the usual chicken nuggets etc we all enjoyed the food particularly my son with the generous helpings of haggis in the mornings ! The wedding day it's self was perfect all the staff made sure my sister had the day she wanted which she did so thank you very much ! The hotel was all beautifully decorated for Christmas with the open fire etc was very special The entertainment every evening was very enjoyable a good mix of all types if music from Scottish to swing and not too loud so could still chat in the hall while watching the couples dancing Very much hope to return in future would highly recommend this hotel for a stay . I would like to day a special thank you to the staff for the return of my daughters toy owl that happened to be left behind they searched hotel and found it had ended up going though the laundry( she had left him in the bed ) he came back very quickly from his adventure much to her delight so thank you from her too xxxx

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boogamam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

We are pleased you enjoyed your short break here with us and we are so glad Owl found his way home safely.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
16.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Gordon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Gordon Hotel

Property: Duke of Gordon Hotel
Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Gordon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Gordon is one of the premier privately owned hotels in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park,a truly unspoilt and spectacular part of the world. The hotel is one of the few highland hotels that can offer all the home comforts of a modern hotel combined with the traditional charachater and heritage of an old scottish coaching inn. The open log fire welcomes our guests into the warm and friendly enviroment that is the Duke of Gordon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke of Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Gordon Kingussie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing