We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My first U3A holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke of Gordon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
GreenLeadersBronze level
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My first U3A holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My first U3A holiday was a fantastic experience. The hotel is situated in the small town/village of Kingussie with access to many local facilities such as the Highland Wildlife Park and Aviemore mountain railway. The staff are very organised in looking after a large influx of guests from coaches....no queuing at reception with your baggage: room keys were handed out on the coach after a welcome speech from the hotel manager, and baggage arrived at your room shortly afterwards. My good sized room had two single beds ( I had booked a single), one with a soft mattress and the other with a firm one; very comfortable.

The general décor of the hotel was in very good condition and it had the feel of a classic country hotel with its high ceilinged dining room, chandeliers and large oil paintings of Highland scenes.

While breakfast was the standard comprehensive hotel buffet, a chef was there freshly preparing fried or poached eggs. Unusually for such buffets the scrambled egg was soft and creamy rather than coagulated and watery. I especially enjoyed a little haggis with the bacon.

The four course dinners were extremely well presented and cooked to a higher standard than most of the hotel chains. The venison stew was delicious.

The friendly and hard working staff appeared to be a mix of Scots and EU members; they could not have been more helpful.

There was entertainment every night in the ballroom; thoroughly enjoyed by all present.

My final comment: When can I return for another great break?

Room Tip: When the hotel is full, I understand that some of the single rooms are a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgethebear2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to the Highlands and the Duke of Gordon Hotel. We have had a few groups from U3A this winter that have all enjoyed the spectacular scenery here. The changing seasons here mean that every day is different. I trust you will visit us again at another time of the year. All of the team here are encouraged to read the reviews to understand when guests are unhappy and how they can improve the guest experience but also to receive their praise. Thank you again for your king words.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    141
    51
    20
    27
See reviews for
48
188
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherburn in Elmet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Just got back from a fantastic time, our room was a little tired. So what it was very clean & cosy. The hotel was warm. The staff could not do enough for us, food was good , tasty and excellent value for money. The entertainment was brill and the drinks where a reasonable price. We went on a very large coach trip, I did not hear any complaints, we all enjoyed it. Thank you for all your hard work.. A really nice touch when we left the staff stood in the cold and waved us off. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

We are a hardy bunch here in the Highlands and always make a point of seeing our guests off on their journey home with a wave and a smile. I hope you will visit us again enabling you to see more of the spectacular scenery here.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Have just returned from a brilliant coach holiday at the Duke of Gordon Hotel. Meals first class with plenty of choice, nothing too much trouble for the staff. Special mention to the Manager and the waitresses!. Rooms warm and spotless. The last night buffet was to die for!. Hoping to visist again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

Thank you for your comments. it is always nice to get reviews that praise the team, they work hard to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable time here in the Highlands and at the 'Duke'.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STOCKPORT CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is the fourth time we have been to the Duke of Gordon Hotel with Cairngorm Travel.
The coach driver Richard was excellent , the Hotel was very warm and the food was 1st class.
The Staff could not do enough for you.

Would recommend this Coach Holiday . exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: Not been given a bad room yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SNOWY51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

Thank you for your kind comments, it is always nice for the team to know that a guest has had an enjoyable experience and that they are appreciated. I trust you will visit us again in the not too distant future.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Snowflake break great hotel wonderful food, coach trip all staff went out of there way to help highly recommend. Hotel little tired in places but spotlessly clean . Booking again next year. Good value for money.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank lucaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

Thank you for your kind words and comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Duke again next year.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel as part of a coach holiday.There was a cock-up with the seating arrangement on the coach which caused much fustration to me, my partner, and another couple. We did not bother withh a couple of the day trips as they did not appeal to us, and we knew that there were better times to be had on long walks up and down mountains in the local area. As a result of us not being on the bus, the other couple wanted to sit together so they sat in our seats. This caused me to blow a gasket so I spoke with the general manager and the coach driver. We got our seats back for the 12 hour trip back to Birmingham

The breakfast selection is fantastic! Two plates of Haggis and bacon every morning. The dinner option were not to our particular liking, as we discovered on our first trip but there is nothing wrong with them. We prefered to either eat in the bar area, or elsewhere. There is a fantastic Chinese takeaway in Kingussie.

Our room was fine, the only disappointment was that the heating and hot water only seemed to be on when people returned from the day trips that we did not participate in. A week or so before our holiday, I telephoned the hotel and requested the same room as the previous holiday. The staff were happy to assist us. Speaking of the staff, I have never come across such a hardworking team of individuals who would go so far out of there way to make there customers happy as I did at the Duke Of Gordon.

The local Village of Kingussie, and the natural environment around it has grown to become our favourite place in the world. We can't wait until our next visit (hopefullly March)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CheeseToastie316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.
I have passed your comments to the tour operator regarding the seating on the coach. I am sorry that there had been a problem but happy that we were able to sort it out for you. Thank you for your kind words and comments regarding the team here at the Duke, they all appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Duke again in the future.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I can say without fault one of the best hotels we have stayed in, the bedrooms are well designed and very warm. the food was 1st class and the staff are very helpfull. apart from the long jouney we would go again..hopeing for a little more snow

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cocobella58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your comments.
It is always nice when the team are recognised for their efforts and I thank on their behalf. There has been a lot of snow on the mountain but little in the town up to now. Still there is time for us to get more. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Duke again in the future.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.5 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
11.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Gordon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Gordon Hotel

Property: Duke of Gordon Hotel
Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Gordon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Gordon is one of the premier privately owned hotels in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park,a truly unspoilt and spectacular part of the world. The hotel is one of the few highland hotels that can offer all the home comforts of a modern hotel combined with the traditional charachater and heritage of an old scottish coaching inn. The open log fire welcomes our guests into the warm and friendly enviroment that is the Duke of Gordon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Duke of Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Gordon Kingussie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing