We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no complaints” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke of Gordon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gwynedd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“no complaints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

helpfull staff, couldnt do enough- and lots of variety with food and entertainment! lovely ground floor single room with new bathroom- loads of hot water- really comfy bed!
thank you for trouble taken to make sure we all enjoyed our holiday

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fussy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

Thank you for your kind words and comments. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us here and look forward to welcoming you back to the highlands again in the future.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    141
    51
    20
    27
See reviews for
48
188
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I recently organised a trip for 43 members of Porthmadog U3A, travelling with Cairngorm Travel and staying at the Duke. I have to admit to starting out on this holiday with trepidation. What if the coach didn't turn up or was late? What if it was dirty or the heating wasn't working? What if the hotel was awful and the staff couldn't care less about the guests? I need not have worried at all.

The coach driver, Darren, was brilliant. He was punctual and the coach was warm and spotlessly clean. The care given to his passengers was wonderful.

The hotel staff, from the initial welcome to the final farewell wave, were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them. And the choice and quality of the food in the restaurant was extremely good.I have a lot of food intolerances and they looked after me tremendously.

The evening entertainment was very popular with country and ballroom dancing and our members had an absolute ball.

Our room was beautiful and spotlessly clean. If I want to really nit pick the carpet was marked; it looked like an old water stain. But it did not detract.

I did not receive a single complaint from our group and, with 43 travellers, I think this says it all.

Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your kind comments regarding the team here. I encourage all of the team to read the reviews, good and indifferent. It helps us to continually improve the guest experience and lets them know their efforts are appreciated.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My first U3A holiday was a fantastic experience. The hotel is situated in the small town/village of Kingussie with access to many local facilities such as the Highland Wildlife Park and Aviemore mountain railway. The staff are very organised in looking after a large influx of guests from coaches....no queuing at reception with your baggage: room keys were handed out on the coach after a welcome speech from the hotel manager, and baggage arrived at your room shortly afterwards. My good sized room had two single beds ( I had booked a single), one with a soft mattress and the other with a firm one; very comfortable.

The general décor of the hotel was in very good condition and it had the feel of a classic country hotel with its high ceilinged dining room, chandeliers and large oil paintings of Highland scenes.

While breakfast was the standard comprehensive hotel buffet, a chef was there freshly preparing fried or poached eggs. Unusually for such buffets the scrambled egg was soft and creamy rather than coagulated and watery. I especially enjoyed a little haggis with the bacon.

The four course dinners were extremely well presented and cooked to a higher standard than most of the hotel chains. The venison stew was delicious.

The friendly and hard working staff appeared to be a mix of Scots and EU members; they could not have been more helpful.

There was entertainment every night in the ballroom; thoroughly enjoyed by all present.

My final comment: When can I return for another great break?

Room Tip: When the hotel is full, I understand that some of the single rooms are a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgethebear2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to the Highlands and the Duke of Gordon Hotel. We have had a few groups from U3A this winter that have all enjoyed the spectacular scenery here. The changing seasons here mean that every day is different. I trust you will visit us again at another time of the year. All of the team here are encouraged to read the reviews to understand when guests are unhappy and how they can improve the guest experience but also to receive their praise. Thank you again for your king words.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherburn in Elmet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Just got back from a fantastic time, our room was a little tired. So what it was very clean & cosy. The hotel was warm. The staff could not do enough for us, food was good , tasty and excellent value for money. The entertainment was brill and the drinks where a reasonable price. We went on a very large coach trip, I did not hear any complaints, we all enjoyed it. Thank you for all your hard work.. A really nice touch when we left the staff stood in the cold and waved us off. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

We are a hardy bunch here in the Highlands and always make a point of seeing our guests off on their journey home with a wave and a smile. I hope you will visit us again enabling you to see more of the spectacular scenery here.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Have just returned from a brilliant coach holiday at the Duke of Gordon Hotel. Meals first class with plenty of choice, nothing too much trouble for the staff. Special mention to the Manager and the waitresses!. Rooms warm and spotless. The last night buffet was to die for!. Hoping to visist again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

Thank you for your comments. it is always nice to get reviews that praise the team, they work hard to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable time here in the Highlands and at the 'Duke'.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STOCKPORT CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is the fourth time we have been to the Duke of Gordon Hotel with Cairngorm Travel.
The coach driver Richard was excellent , the Hotel was very warm and the food was 1st class.
The Staff could not do enough for you.

Would recommend this Coach Holiday . exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: Not been given a bad room yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SNOWY51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

Thank you for your kind comments, it is always nice for the team to know that a guest has had an enjoyable experience and that they are appreciated. I trust you will visit us again in the not too distant future.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Snowflake break great hotel wonderful food, coach trip all staff went out of there way to help highly recommend. Hotel little tired in places but spotlessly clean . Booking again next year. Good value for money.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank lucaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

Thank you for your kind words and comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Duke again next year.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.5 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
11.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Gordon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Gordon Hotel

Property: Duke of Gordon Hotel
Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Gordon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Gordon is one of the premier privately owned hotels in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park,a truly unspoilt and spectacular part of the world. The hotel is one of the few highland hotels that can offer all the home comforts of a modern hotel combined with the traditional charachater and heritage of an old scottish coaching inn. The open log fire welcomes our guests into the warm and friendly enviroment that is the Duke of Gordon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Duke of Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Gordon Kingussie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing