We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from our 6th 5 day visit. Once again good food,service & room. Only complaint ! Trip to Balmoral
Very disappointing. Will definitely be back for our 7th visit. We like the designated walks at back of hotel &
the nearness of station for trip into Inverness or Aviemore.vista

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheila b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

2nd visit as part of a coach party and there has been a noticeable deterioration since last year. Booked double room, given a twin. Raised this with the manager whose curt response was "we only have so many doubles" - why ask for room preferences if they can't be met? It was blatant that he had no intention of trying to accommodate our request. At dinner our party of four was offered one space on one table and three on another. When this was refused we were told nothing else was available as tables had to be held for "privates", by this we presumed not from a coach party. This is simply not acceptable, a customer is a customer. Eventually this was resolved, but only after we stood our ground. Rooms were clean but no drawers for storage. Food was acceptable but again not as good as previous. All in all, our impression was that the hotel doesn't "tick" as well as it used to. It seems that corners have been cut to keep prices down, but Cairngorm travel need to remember that repeat business is important business. We would willingly have paid more to get the same service and standards as last year.

Room Tip: Email the hotel in advance and make sure your room needs are made clear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BroadwayStar231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a two night stay and were very impressed with the accommodation, staff and catering.
Entertainment was laid on both nights, an accordionist one night and a singer the other. Both men lacked a little in enthusiasm but they were good performers and provided as part of an excellent package. The food choice and quality was very good and was served promptly, pleasantly and efficiently. Prices for drinks were reasonable.

Room Tip: We were on second floor front facing in a very comfortable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerryattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have just returned from a four night stay we have had a lovely time .We had a room on the third floor which was very clean and kept well right through our stay.The food was very nice with a lot of choice each evening the staff were pleasant and cheerful throughout the hotel in every department.Darren our driver was fantastic he must have had his patience sorely tried now and again but we didn't see a glimpse of bad mood.We will be returning to the hotel and hope to meet some very nice people again just as we did on this trip.Thankyou to all of the staff for making our stay so good.Jane & Paul Baker.

Room Tip: Ask for 233!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quills068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Just on last night of a four night stay and no complaints at all other than the entertainment on the first three nights was very "samey" BUT the entertainment tonight, "killiecrankie" are brilliant. Great stories and jokes, songs to sing along to or dance to. Best entertainment of the week. All the staff are really helpful and friendly. Norman the barman is ace!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCustomer163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just returned from a four night trip to The Duke of Gordon Hotel in Kingussie after a six year gap. It was almost like coming home with welcoming and helpful staff. Even the weather was kind.
My room was large and functional and the bedding was spotless.
The food was generally excellent apart from the vegetables which were tired and sometimes overcooked especially the courgettes which were absolutely tasteless and should be banished from the menu or at least disguised as ratatouille ! ! I wish that the attention given to producing the perfect breakfast egg (runny yolks only or the egg is discarded) could be applied to cooking the vegetables.

Room Tip: Ask for ground or first floor if you have mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendakent2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We arrived on a Cairngorm travel coach from Manchester, after seeing the advert in local paper, have been on several highland trips before, with other companies, that have generally been ok, we were given room allocation on coach and key took us through the hotel downstairs, which I thought was a little odd, however on entering room, all negative conception ended, we thought we had walked into the owner's apartment, spacious, large living room, bedroom, decorated and presented in high quality and standard of cleanliness, we had a small kitchen, fridge, freezer, etc, on reflection must have been a holiday let, the hotel used as a suite, 32" tv, home from home really.
the food throughout the stay was excellent, well presented, well cooked and with plenty of variety, we especially enjoyed the buffet on the last night.
the included trips were enjoyable, if i have a criticism at all, granton is not somewhere to spend a morning, not a great deal to do or see, the Cairngorm trip was stunning, with some of the best views in the highlands from the top, the Highland wildlife park trip was also excellent value and interesting, not a fan of zoos but as this was conservation oriented, ok, the best part of the holiday was the red deer safari at Laggan, where we got to feed wild red deer by hand vitamin pellets, which is just incredible as an experience.
the weather which of course helped was lovely and sunny for 3 full days, itrained coming up on coach and going home it was snowing over the pass of drumochter.
must also thank the manager for rearranging dining time one night so we could get to see the manchester derby at a local pub.
the staff were excellent, helpful and showed good professionalism under pressure, I feel as though a special nod must go to our Driver Richard, who was informative and helpful in equal measure, good humoured and also professional in his manner, again nothing too much trouble, even changed the route back from granton for a more scenic one to Colyumbridge.
Excellent all round holiday, one other observation really was that the entertanment was a bit samey, apart from the last night which was an excellent cabaret singer, didnt really matter too much as we went out into kingussie on 2 nights.
Outstanding Value thanks, we wil come back in another month of the year when the trips are different, hope to get the same room if available, thanks again for a memorable holiday in these times of poor value for money, this really was outstandingly good.

Room Tip: ask for basement room if available, be prepared to go on a diet afterwards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnyst3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
352 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 4 in Kingussie
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
687 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kingussie
217 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Gordon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Gordon Hotel

Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range: £63 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Gordon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Gordon is one of the premier privately owned hotels in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park,a truly unspoilt and spectacular part of the world. The hotel is one of the few highland hotels that can offer all the home comforts of a modern hotel combined with the traditional charachater and heritage of an old scottish coaching inn. The open log fire welcomes our guests into the warm and friendly environment. All of the hotel electricity, heating and hot water is provided using a Woodchip Biomass System from fully sustainable resources. We are proud to have significantly reduced our carbon footprint and be one of the greenest business's in Scotland. A warm welcome awaits all to this gem that is the Duke of Gordon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Duke of Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Gordon Kingussie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing