We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A group of 51 of us from Suffolk journeyed to the Duke with Cairngorm Travel, owners of the hotel. We were greeted on the coach by the hotel manageress who had it all organised, handing us our room allocations and telling us that keys were in the doors ready for us. Staff carried all of the luggage to our rooms. OK lots of hotels offer porterage but it doesn’t always happen, here it does. The 4 course dinner in the well appointed dining room followed by tea or coffee in the ballroom was great. An excellent choice of well cooked food served by cheerful waitresses went down very well. We were lucky enough to arrive on a Thursday evening when an informal group of talented musicians “jam” in the bar playing a selection of folk and other music. While in the ball room a somewhat indifferent musician did his best to entertain on a guitar with canned backing music.

Each evening we had a 4 course dinners or buffet when we were piped to our tables by piper in traditional dress. A nice touch. The wide choice of dishes on the menu were much appreciated, there was always something to please everyone. And of course drinks from the bar were brought to the table

Breakfast in the mornings offered a wide variety of cereals, juices, yoghurts and cooked foods with as much toast , tea or coffee as you could want. All served by cheerful waitresses.

With 51 people you would expect some problems. We did have one couple and one single with a problem. A quiet word with the management and the problems were solved to their complete satisfaction. Top marks there then.

Yes the hotel is ageing a little and the floors creak and when there is someone above you who cant sleep that was tiresome. But hey one night only and for a short time. The lift is small and slow and only takes 3 people at a time.

All of our group would like to go again and have no problem in recommending the hotel to all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Very good value for money .
Meals excellent and staff courteous and professional.
Hope to visit again. Entertainment adequate and bar prices reasonable.
Bathroom floor was a bit creaky but otherwise no complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanaandPapa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here for our club weekend away and were very happy with the service and the food.
Some of the rooms proved noisy and, as it is a hotel used by tour buses, some of the guests were leaving early in the morning and were up even earlier!
The staff were friendly and very helpful and the service in the dining room was extremely efficient.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is the third time we have visited the Duke of Gordon Hotel, what can I say other than it is very good.
We had a four course meal each day plus breakfast and the food was good as was the service with very attentive and friendly staff. Our double room was large and clean and also the entertainment was good.
Well done Duke of Gordon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

i am just back after a one night stay in this hotel and to i could have stayed a few
more the hotel was pleasant and very comfortable although we were in the 3rd floor and
the lift was really inadequate for the amount of people staying at the hotel food was very good
however the tables are too big they sat 10 people not enough and too hard to get at salt and pepper
and butter etc these tables would need to be smaller
on the whole i was pleasantly surprised and happy with this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorrainemorrow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from our 6th 5 day visit. Once again good food,service & room. Only complaint ! Trip to Balmoral
Very disappointing. Will definitely be back for our 7th visit. We like the designated walks at back of hotel &
the nearness of station for trip into Inverness or Aviemore.vista

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheila b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

2nd visit as part of a coach party and there has been a noticeable deterioration since last year. Booked double room, given a twin. Raised this with the manager whose curt response was "we only have so many doubles" - why ask for room preferences if they can't be met? It was blatant that he had no intention of trying to accommodate our request. At dinner our party of four was offered one space on one table and three on another. When this was refused we were told nothing else was available as tables had to be held for "privates", by this we presumed not from a coach party. This is simply not acceptable, a customer is a customer. Eventually this was resolved, but only after we stood our ground. Rooms were clean but no drawers for storage. Food was acceptable but again not as good as previous. All in all, our impression was that the hotel doesn't "tick" as well as it used to. It seems that corners have been cut to keep prices down, but Cairngorm travel need to remember that repeat business is important business. We would willingly have paid more to get the same service and standards as last year.

Room Tip: Email the hotel in advance and make sure your room needs are made clear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BroadwayStar231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 4 in Kingussie
210 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kingussie
215 reviews
2.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
684 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Gordon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Gordon Hotel

Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range: £67 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Gordon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Gordon is one of the premier privately owned hotels in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park,a truly unspoilt and spectacular part of the world. The hotel is one of the few highland hotels that can offer all the home comforts of a modern hotel combined with the traditional charachater and heritage of an old scottish coaching inn. The open log fire welcomes our guests into the warm and friendly environment. All of the hotel electricity, heating and hot water is provided using a Woodchip Biomass System from fully sustainable resources. We are proud to have significantly reduced our carbon footprint and be one of the greenest business's in Scotland. A warm welcome awaits all to this gem that is the Duke of Gordon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Duke of Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Gordon Kingussie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing