We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dorothea D

Group holiday

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Oct 2023
A wonderful highland hotel with tartan carpets and welcoming real fires to keep you toasty warm. 4 course evening meal was excellent. Nightly entertainment and a piper piping you in on the last evening. Our whole coach group had a truly wonderful stay and would highly recommend this hotel in the heart of the Cairngorms national park.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£143
  • Expedia.com
    £143
  • Hotels.com
    £143
  • Trip.com
    £143
0.1 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
£165
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Trip.com
0.0 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£90
  • Expedia.com
    £99
  • Hotels.com
    £90
  • Skyscanner.com
    £90
0.1 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£128
  • Expedia.com
    £113
  • Hotels.com
    £113
  • Agoda.com
    £128
0.1 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
£192
  • Agoda.com
    £192
  • Vio.com
    £192
0.1 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
£60
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £60
0.3 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£110
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £110
  • Agoda.com
    £110
0.1 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
The Leslie
  • Vio.com
0.2 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Greystones B&B summer
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
0.3 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kingussie
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveller rating
348
217
91
56
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
348
217
91
56
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cairngorm travel coach trip coach party dining room breakfast was buffet style entertainment every night the hotel manager course meal plenty of choice log fire excellent value for money long journey salmon short break friendly hotel scottish highlands ballroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 783 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2023

We stayed at the Duke of Gordon hotel while in transit to a different destination, booking for just one night. The room was on an upper level that required two sets of stairs to access. It had a small window that looked out over the road and distant hills. Our room had two twin beds as well as a desk with chair, and had plenty of space. There was an in-wall cupboard with shelves for items, as well as hanging coats, etc. The room featured a flat screen television, but we never used it.
The shower/bath was a tub that did have a lot of mold in the area near the faucet. An easy fix for housekeeping. I honestly don't know how anyone could have missed it.

Samples of shampoo, conditioner and body wash were plentiful. Adequate towels, but no wash cloths, which I found to be surprising since it is obvious that the hotel is set up for tours. There was a high-end hair dryer in the closet for use.

Upon checking in, we received complimentary bottles of water and a 5 pack of specialty chocolates. This was in addition to the standard hostess tray featuring tea/hot chocoate/coffee and packaged cookies.
In the morning, I was pleasantly surprised to see a lovely breakfast buffet with hot food, yogurt, fruit, cereals and toast.

The hotel did have wi-fi, but it was not consistent in regarding service.

Our room was above the ballroom which had a live guitar/singer performance that began around 8 and lasted for two hours. And, I'll admit...it was loud. But the noise level dropped to nothing after the singing ended. There were only a few rooms in the same hallway, so any noise from people coming and going was limited.
Parking was just outside the building. There was a large car park in the back as well.
At the time, the weather was unseasonably warm, and the window only opened a few inches, so we did have a warm night sleeping. But that is not typical of Scottish weather in this area. There was no fan that I could locate to try to cool the room down. Just mentioning if you tend to be a hot person.
Over all, it was a very nice stay for an overnight.

Room tip: If you tend to go to sleep early, be sure to request a room that is not over the ballroom. as there are evening performances.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank geismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2023

For the sake of clarity I shall appraise the Duke of Gordon Hotel and Cairngorm Travel separately. The hotel is perfectly adequate with attentive staff and bar facility. Food was excellent and plentiful but there were times at breakfast when guests were left waiting because various food items were not ready and at times cold. To be fair this could have been due to the sheer numbers coming down to breakfast at the same time and not adhering to their allocated seating. We did ask if possible for a room with a view but did not expect a room next to the fire escape. Entertainment was perfectly reasonable for the clientele. The addition of a warm fire certainly improved the ambience of the main room. This hotel although a little dated is perfectly adequate for its location and has lovely walks on its doorstep.
As for Cairngorm Travel we did not expect a 12 hour journey to our destination. This was due to a three hour mini bus journey prior to meeting up with the main coach. Perhaps Cairngorm Travel could be more explicit in their itinerary to inform guests in this respect. Our trip to the Highland Games was cancelled due to the atrocious weather after traveling for two hours to the event. The event had been cancelled at 8am that morning and posted on social media before we arrived at 10am to a deserted arena. A further disappointment was a trip to Grantown on Spey. We had been to the distillery previously and therefore only wished to visit Grantown on Spey. This was conveyed to the office and we were assured this was not a problem. We duly took our seats only for the driver to request us to leave the coach as we had not booked the distillery. A perfectly acceptable request denied by a driver who implied to other passengers we were "free loaders" Our request was further endorsed by the hotel management later that day to that affect. Again these issues could have been avoided if somebody had done their homework.

Room tip: Exceptional location for Cairngorms
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Steveshols2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2023

I went there for a few days over the Bank Holiday weekend. Rooms were basic but clean and comfortable. Meals were mostly very good - nice choice of dishes and ample portions - and there was a well stocked bar (proper real ales) and music every night. A couple of niggles. First the decor (particularly the carpets) was looking a bit jaded in places and could do with a refurb. Secondly a TV lounge would be nice for those who don't fancy the music. Other than that a very enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank johnwadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2023

Hidden gem close to wildlife park , Cairngorms and Aviemore 20 mins with Loch Morlich a must.
Friendly welcoming staff nice size twin bedroom .
Character building old but modernized .Excellent breakfast would highly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: Loch Morlich worth a visit highest beach in uk
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2023

Booked this tour through Cairngorm Travel, Goole.
NEVER, NEVER book this hotel. Service in Restaurant was shocking from day one. Waiting an hour just for a starter! At breakfast bacon was raw, sausage was under cooked, staff clearing tables whilst we were still eating! Food of a substandard quality. When you complain you are branded a troublemaker and allegedly staff are frightened of you. However Cairngorm make no effort to rectify any complaints, we would never recommend nor book Cairngorm Travel again, suggest you look at all reviews.

Room tip: Check all reviews before you decide to book
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews