We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£108
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
£108
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£83
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Jules22
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom

Return Trip

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Dec 2023
Just returned from our coach trip had 2 people who did not feel well which could have left us leaving them behind but spoke to the manager and we sorted the problem to our satisfaction and we all agreed to travel home together.
Fantastic trips to see the Red Deers, Glamis Castle and Inverness.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
£136
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.0 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£209
  • Expedia.com
    £187
  • Hotels.com
    £176
  • Priceline
    £199
0.1 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
£82
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £83
  • ZenHotels.com
    £77
  • Skyscanner.com
    £83
0.1 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£181
  • Agoda.com
    £181
  • Vio.com
    £181
0.1 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Hotels.com
£126
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £119
  • Agoda.com
    £135
0.1 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Booking.com
£66
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £64
  • Hotels.com
    £66
  • Agoda.com
    £66
0.3 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£88
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £88
  • Agoda.com
    £88
0.1 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Booking.com
£108
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £108
  • Agoda.com
    £83
  • Hotels.com
    £108
0.0 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£89
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £89
  • Priceline
    £83
  • Hotels.com
    £89
2.2 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
£80
  • Hotels.com
    £89
  • Agoda.com
    £65
  • Expedia.com
    £96
2.8 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kingussie
Reviews (777)
Filter reviews
777 results
Traveller rating
347
217
91
52
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
347
217
91
52
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cairngorm travel coach trip coach party dining room breakfast was buffet style entertainment every night the hotel manager course meal plenty of choice log fire excellent value for money long journey salmon short break friendly hotel scottish highlands ballroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 777 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2023

This was a lovely Hotel. We stayed in Room 1 on ground floor which was very comfortable and clean. . It was lovely and the staff very pleasant and helpful. The food was particularly good. Very enjoyable stay for the Christmas festivities.
Sadly the coach we were on with Cairngorm Travel was broken but our lovely driver Les and his wife arranged for other transport.

Room tip: Room 1 ground floor twin bed. Lovely room and very clean and comfortable. Walk in shower.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank calliann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2023

An older hotel right in Kingussie, with an adequate car park.. Some stairs involved. Rooms varied but mine was a decent size double overlooking the front ( memorial gardens).
Reasonable food ( limited menu), nice bar area. Good Breakfast.

Room tip: Lift does not service all rooms.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dafona
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2023

A wonderful highland hotel with tartan carpets and welcoming real fires to keep you toasty warm. 4 course evening meal was excellent. Nightly entertainment and a piper piping you in on the last evening. Our whole coach group had a truly wonderful stay and would highly recommend this hotel in the heart of the Cairngorms national park.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dorothead780
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2023

We stayed at the Duke of Gordon hotel while in transit to a different destination, booking for just one night. The room was on an upper level that required two sets of stairs to access. It had a small window that looked out over the road and distant hills. Our room had two twin beds as well as a desk with chair, and had plenty of space. There was an in-wall cupboard with shelves for items, as well as hanging coats, etc. The room featured a flat screen television, but we never used it.
The shower/bath was a tub that did have a lot of mold in the area near the faucet. An easy fix for housekeeping. I honestly don't know how anyone could have missed it.

Samples of shampoo, conditioner and body wash were plentiful. Adequate towels, but no wash cloths, which I found to be surprising since it is obvious that the hotel is set up for tours. There was a high-end hair dryer in the closet for use.

Upon checking in, we received complimentary bottles of water and a 5 pack of specialty chocolates. This was in addition to the standard hostess tray featuring tea/hot chocoate/coffee and packaged cookies.
In the morning, I was pleasantly surprised to see a lovely breakfast buffet with hot food, yogurt, fruit, cereals and toast.

The hotel did have wi-fi, but it was not consistent in regarding service.

Our room was above the ballroom which had a live guitar/singer performance that began around 8 and lasted for two hours. And, I'll admit...it was loud. But the noise level dropped to nothing after the singing ended. There were only a few rooms in the same hallway, so any noise from people coming and going was limited.
Parking was just outside the building. There was a large car park in the back as well.
At the time, the weather was unseasonably warm, and the window only opened a few inches, so we did have a warm night sleeping. But that is not typical of Scottish weather in this area. There was no fan that I could locate to try to cool the room down. Just mentioning if you tend to be a hot person.
Over all, it was a very nice stay for an overnight.

Room tip: If you tend to go to sleep early, be sure to request a room that is not over the ballroom. as there are evening performances.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank geismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2023

For the sake of clarity I shall appraise the Duke of Gordon Hotel and Cairngorm Travel separately. The hotel is perfectly adequate with attentive staff and bar facility. Food was excellent and plentiful but there were times at breakfast when guests were left waiting because various food items were not ready and at times cold. To be fair this could have been due to the sheer numbers coming down to breakfast at the same time and not adhering to their allocated seating. We did ask if possible for a room with a view but did not expect a room next to the fire escape. Entertainment was perfectly reasonable for the clientele. The addition of a warm fire certainly improved the ambience of the main room. This hotel although a little dated is perfectly adequate for its location and has lovely walks on its doorstep.
As for Cairngorm Travel we did not expect a 12 hour journey to our destination. This was due to a three hour mini bus journey prior to meeting up with the main coach. Perhaps Cairngorm Travel could be more explicit in their itinerary to inform guests in this respect. Our trip to the Highland Games was cancelled due to the atrocious weather after traveling for two hours to the event. The event had been cancelled at 8am that morning and posted on social media before we arrived at 10am to a deserted arena. A further disappointment was a trip to Grantown on Spey. We had been to the distillery previously and therefore only wished to visit Grantown on Spey. This was conveyed to the office and we were assured this was not a problem. We duly took our seats only for the driver to request us to leave the coach as we had not booked the distillery. A perfectly acceptable request denied by a driver who implied to other passengers we were "free loaders" Our request was further endorsed by the hotel management later that day to that affect. Again these issues could have been avoided if somebody had done their homework.

Room tip: Exceptional location for Cairngorms
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Steveshols2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews