We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£108
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
£108
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£83
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Jimmy M

Great spot in a great location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Feb 2024
Great stay with plenty of activities a short drive or some only a walk away. Some lovely authentic Scottish food options on the menu which were great to let the kids have a try of some new thing. Great spirits available in the bar for the adults to try new things too. Will definitely be going back.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
£136
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
0.0 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£209
  • Expedia.com
    £187
  • Hotels.com
    £176
  • Priceline
    £199
0.1 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
£82
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £83
  • Agoda.com
    £81
  • Skyscanner.com
    £83
0.1 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£181
  • Agoda.com
    £181
  • Vio.com
    £181
0.1 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Hotels.com
£126
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £119
  • Agoda.com
    £135
0.1 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Booking.com
£66
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £66
  • ZenHotels.com
    £62
  • Expedia.com
    £64
0.3 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£88
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £88
  • Agoda.com
    £88
0.1 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
The Leslie
Lol.travel
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.2 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Lol.travel
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.3 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lol.travel
  • Booking.com
0.8 miles from Duke of Gordon Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kingussie
Reviews (777)
Filter reviews
777 results
Traveller rating
347
217
91
52
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
347
217
91
52
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cairngorm travel coach trip coach party dining room breakfast was buffet style entertainment every night the hotel manager course meal plenty of choice log fire excellent value for money long journey salmon short break friendly hotel scottish highlands ballroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 777 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2024 via mobile

Very much enjoyed my stay, travelled with friends and had some lovely days out.
Bar is well stocked and sandwich in bar for lunch was great.
Had some great days out at local attractions.
Room recently refurbished and very comfortable.
Will be returning.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rainman1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2024

Terrible hotel and holiday nice hotel that needs a lot of work food wise and entertainment. New years eve was terrible entertainment, we were sat with no eating on . The food on this holiday wasn't good either Ordered sausage and mash and was given 1 and a half sausages and mash no veg, the fish pie was 1 prawn covered with mash no sauce in the pie, lairds buffet was not a lot better , there was nothing to do on this holiday spent 2 days with nothing to do , although the hotel did but a buffet on at lunch time, we had 1 day out which we had to pay £17.50 for.we did complain when we got back but they wanted us to speak to the manager which we refused. We also went to the duke of gordon in November on the mountains and mistletoe that was also terrible we complained and said we wanted to cancel new year. We rang up and spoke to an arrogant manager who accused us of being proffesenial moaners and that we couldn't cancel the new year without losing £100. And was assured the holiday would be better. Unbelievable, just to add to this we have just received a letter from cairngorm travel admitting they had a problem with the hotel and that if we booked new year for this year they would take us out new years day and would be given an hot chocolate , and we're offered a £40 reduction Unbelievable

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 February 2024 via mobile

We have now been to The Duke of Gordon with Cairngorm Travel 12 times over the past 6 years. It has always been a clean, comfortable hotel with a welcoming atmosphere and helpful, friendly staff.
Our most recent visit in January did not disappoint. Our ground floor room was excellent, a large comfy bed, plenty of storage, and a large walk in shower in the spotless refurbished bathroom.
Our daughter travelled with us & had a single room on 2nd floor which was clean, cosy and comfortable but the shower room needed updating.
The standard of the food on this visit was wonderful. we could not fault any of our dinners, a good choice on the menu, large portions nicely presented with veggies served separately. Our daughter had asked for a vegan menu & was delighted with her choices.
Probably the best stay that we have had at The Duke, even a power cut just before dinner one evening did not faze them, the meal was served by candlelight with a complimentary bucks fizz.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mij7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2024

Without a doubt the worst burger I've ever had, unseasoned, dry to the point of chewiness, bun soggy, just terrible. Fish & chips was marginally better, but still didn't get more than halfway into it. Beer was warm, service was glacial (over an hour for 2 burgers and a fish with bones in it), decor was tacky.

The fact that this has 4 stars has severely undermined my faith in trip advisor.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank exosus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2024 via mobile

Poor quality of food, very bland.
up graded room - Had to ask for Clean towels and coffee. Should have been provided biscuits. Room itself was nice and a great bed
Room Not cleaned while stopping there
hotel dirty needs a good dusting especially light fittings and carpets cleaned
entertainment poor apart from one evening.
Jill on arrival and Adam in the bar very polite and friendly -
poor Location

Room tip: Poor food
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank CherylM1461
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews