We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”
Review of Auld Alliance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auld Alliance
Ranked #7 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San José
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Great breakfast. Nice decoration. Nice view. Great overall. Maybe they could install something to put the shampoos soaps etc in the shower unit. And be more generous with toilet paper.
Loved the croissants the porridge and the eggs.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roccarva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
47
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife, son and I occupied 2 rooms for 6 nights at this B & B, in June this year. Lydie, the owner and chef, along with the young lady (embarrassed I can not remember her name) who served us a huge outstanding breakfast every morning, were extremely pleasant and informative. One of our rooms had a plumbing problem, and as the saying goes s... happens, it is what you do afterwards that counts. Lydie handled the problem in a professional manner and adjusted that nights room cost, to compensate for our inconvenience.
We traveled by car every day, leaving usually about 9:30 to10:00, after breakfast and not returning to around 10:30 p.m. . At that time of year, sunrise is about 4:30 a.m. , with sunset after 10:00 p.m., so you get 1 1/2 days of sight seeing in each day. The breakfast lasted us to dinner around 9:00 p.m. , with only snacks in between. Kingussie in itself is not a tourist destination, but was located where we wanted to be, for our planned day trips. A dram or 2 (sometimes 3) was
enjoyed each night in the parlor. Lydie leaves the whisky in your room each day.

Room Tip: Our small party had 2 rooms.one on the ground floor and one on the second floor, both with bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Our first visit to the restaurant was in 2008 when Lydie opened specially for a birthday dinner for three. Since then, we have returned several times for intimate dinners with friends. Last year Lydie accommodated 24 for another and special birthday celebration. The ambience is warm and welcoming, homely and relaxing. The food is always superb, and we appreciate the Table d'Hote, taking Lydie's recommendations for the wines. She is an excellent and passionate chef who "knows her onions", applying French cuisine to local produce. While we have not stayed there, family did and raved about the breakfast. All have reported memorable experiences and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gav420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Interesting house .The rooms were delightful and the complimentary single malt a lovely touch. The views from the bedrooms were stunning and the walks nearby lovely. We booked this hotel partly because of the reviews of the food. We were surprised to find that the two nights we were there, Monday and Tuesday, that the restaurant was closed. There was no mention of this on the web site. In fairness to Lydie the owner chef she did offer to cook for us on the Tuesday but she had recommended an excellent local restaurant for our first night and we had enjoyed it so much we returned our second night. This was partly because the set menu for Auld Alliance had no choice and it was expensive. Breakfast was great. Everything was made by the chef including the wonderful croissants and home made preserves.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gracieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights while visiting the area for a wedding. We were made to feel at home straight away! The room was fantastic with great views and, my favourite part, a wee decanter of whisky on the dressing table refilled every day! The breakfast was without a doubt one of the best I've had at a B&B, 4 courses including freshly baked croissants, porridge or muesli, a variety of juices/fruit dishes including a hangover curing energy burst smoothie and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and creme fraiche. A fantastic place to stay!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RossC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a Twin Room last weekend. The staff are warm and friendly especially the English lady who served us breakfast the second morning. As well as a decanter of a lovely single malt in your room there is a gorgeous sitting room where you can enjoy a dram in front of an open fire.

The breakfast is delicious and both mornings I enjoyed freshly baked croissants, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs with crème fraîche.

The only small issues to the stay were the lack of a full length mirror in the twin room (while getting ready to attend the wedding I had to keep running out into the hallway to use the mirror there) and the lack of a shower - there is a shower attachment to the bath taps but it would have been great if there was a stand to hold it up to enable you to shower standing up. Otherwise it was a wholly enjoyable say in a breathtaking location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhDear_Deer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I can't get over how amazing this place is. We were staying in a double room for 2 nights. The staff were so warm and relaxed that we really felt at home. We had a small whisky decanter and 2 tumblers waiting for us in the room - a real Scottish welcome :) The view was stunning; we were asked what time we wanted breakfast the next morning - the breakfast is incredible, beautifully prepared, so delicious and everything tastes fresh. Would love to come back one day!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.2 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
338 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Alliance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Alliance

Property: Auld Alliance
Address: Viewmount East Terrace, Kingussie PH21 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Auld Alliance 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Auld Alliance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing