We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Ever!”
Review of Ruthven House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ruthven House
Ranked #9 of 22 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Dhahran
1 review
“Best B&B Ever!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I have travelled extensively but I have never come across such first class hospitality! Ruthven House is situated close to Ruthven Barracks but only a short walk into Kingussie. Booking accommodation was so easy, and the welcome from Ruthven House hosts was second to none. They were so helpful and patient with us nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had, and the home made cakes were a welcome addition from being out all day hillwalking. We had a large bedroom on the ground floor with a newly refurbished bathroom with a great large shower. I have had the best night's sleep here in a long time and can't wait to come back. The ski-ing slopes are only 35 minutes away and Kingussie is a great alternative to the hustle and bustle of Aviemore. The local pubs are good too! Have booked for New Year and can't wait to come back! Thank you, Ruthven House, for such a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Ground room floor has a private bathroom next door, 1st floor bedroom is en suite. Both are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiamondMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
25
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This was our first stay at Ruthven House having been recommended by a friend.
We received a lovely welcome from Fiona and also a welcome pack of milk, bread, jam, etc. The hospitality was second to none with lovely surprises of delicious homemade cakes.
We had a truly wonderful stay in one of the cottages. It was warm and cosy, well laid out, nice and bright with our own patio and garden. The birds came to feed outside every day. We enjoyed our trip so much we so decided to extend our stay in the B&B. The B&B room was also lovely, spacious, luxurious bathroom and an excellent breakfast.
The location is ideal for walking in the local area and is not too far in the car to travel to other good walking locations.
We were made to feel very welcome and didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 504SueL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We just got back from a wonderful easter - a few days in one of the cottages and one night in the B&B. Lovely time in a lovely place run by really lovely people - couldn't do enough for us. Nice treats in the afternoon too!
The cottage was really good - well equipped and warm and really well located just off the A9 but in a quiet peaceful spot.
The B&B was in the owners large victorian house with lovely spacious rooms and a great breakfast.
We could've stayed forever.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We have stayed at both cottages over the last few years, the latest being this summer. A fabulous place to use as a touring base or just to relax in the area. We have been treated to wonderful hospitality from Fiona, the proprietor from the welcome pack to impromtue homebaked cakes that appear in the house! If you wish to dine locally Fiona & Colin only recommend venues after personally checking them out. The house and cottages are in a fantastic location near to Ruthven Barracks, a Historic Scotland ruin just off the A 9. If you are into wildlife you can't go wrong here RSPB having a santuary withing walking distance, with rabbits and many birds resident around the cottages, and of course you can actually count the sheep in the adjouring field to get to sleep!! Thoroughly Recomended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trotter49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I really would like to express my great feelings about this place and people who run it. It was lovely and very easy to book this place and we felt welcomed from our first conversation. Ruthven House is ideal for pairs, young couples, old couples, families... everybody can find here piece of heaven. Superb location, easy to find, easy to park, everything was handy, we even found many touristic maps and information about surroundings... you must try Fionas breakfast and see her smile and you will have the wish to come back once again :) we felt like home :) Lucia and Adrian from Slovakia

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuciaVolek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My partner and I spent an idyllic week at Ruthven House in Creag Dhubh cottage
The welcome was second to none,friendly and helpful after a long journey it was lovely
The cottage itself was very clean and tidy we loved the tartan decor and we were delighted to find a welcome pack of bread and milk waiting, along with tea and coffee.
The owners were available when we needed to ask anything ,very knowledgeable about the area but not in the slightest bit intrusive ,most evenings when we got back in all we could see and hear were sheep rabbits and birds.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heeze
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Very hospitable hosts who are always willing to help you with anything. We had a very romantic room and beautiful clean bathroom! Nice rural place with amazing view when you're standing in front of the house. Great breakfast (love the rabbits who joined us!).
Dinner at the local pub is awesome!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eveline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingussie hotels
0.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 22 in Kingussie
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Silverfjord Kingussie
The Silverfjord Kingussie
#20 of 22 in Kingussie
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruthven House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthven House

Property: Ruthven House
Address: Ruthven Farm House Ruthven Road, Kingussie PH21 1NR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast (one en suite and one with private bathroom adjacent) and two holiday cottages. Close to the historic Ruthven Barracks and the RSPB Reserve, and just a short walk into Kingussie, Ruthven House is an ideal location for all your activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ruthven House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing