We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful find. Great facilities and superb service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Elmfield

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Elmfield
Ranked #20 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Somerset
1 review
“A wonderful find. Great facilities and superb service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

We have just stayed at The Elmfield and were very impressed. We stayed in the newly decorated family suite with our 3 year old son and grandparents. The location was great with just a short walk down to the Tunnels, South West Coast Path and seafront, yet the road it is on is very quiet. Beautiful stepped garden overlooking the valley. Lovely warm (hot !) pool which was a good size. Fantastic breakfasts (wanted to try all the options) Perfect place for children - games room, pool, trampoline and garden. Loved the decor and facilities for grown-ups too. Finally, the service was superb - the owner was extremely helpful. Would definitely love to stay again, and this time for more than one night.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hocema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    62
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
125
124
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

We stayed here on honeymoon in September 2009, we wanted to splash out on somewhere nice and opted for this hotel - what a good decision!! It was the most we have ever spent on a hotel but it was well worth it!!

We used the hotel as a base whilst we went to Lundy island for 2 nights, so we checked in for 1 night and stayed at Lundy for 2, then back to the elmfield for another night - this was no problem for the hotel owners, they even let us leave our car whilst we were on Lundy.

Upon arrival we were welcomed with tea in the lounge and a friendly smile, our room was lovely with a 4 poster bed and stunning views. Although the bathroom was a little retro (it was very clean) the room was fit for a king and the bed very comfortable. We took a dip in the pool - which we had to ourselves and was nice and warn (compared to outside). Later we ate dinner in the restaurant, the food was stunning and tasted very fresh and we were presented with champagne to celebrate! As we had to leave very early to catch the Lundy ferry, the hotel accomodated our needs and gave us breakfast early and even organised a taxi for us - nothing too much trouble.

After we returned from Lundy, we were put into a different room (another four poster) at the very front of the property which was even nicer than the first room (and with a new bathroom). What was nice was to compare the individual touches in each room, the sumptuous bed linen and cushions must have been very expensive!! Unfortunately my husband caught a bug on Lundy and so we spent the night locked in our room testing out the massive flat screen tv. What a nice room to be stuck in!!

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to my friends and family and my only regret was that we were unable to see more of Illracombe due to illness (not the hotels fault).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emfuzzyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

Usually I would stay in a larger chain hotel when traveling for business. However there is a distinct lack of such in Ilfracombe.
The Elmfield, was selected by our travel agents.
The Hotel was a little smaller than we expected, but very friendly. My room was nice and very clean, and free Wi-Fi worked. The service and breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beetonbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

I took my grandchildren to this Hotel and we had the best time the scenery and peace of the area is amazing but being in devon there was so much to do, we found this hotel friendly clean and enjoyed our stay so much we are all going back this summer.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millicentmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

First time to North Devon and the Elmfield left me wanting more. Carefully located to avoid the snow inundating the rest of the country, a short walk from imperial views over the Channel, the Elmfield is the ideal combination of comfortable rooms, hospitality, great food onsite and a choice of socialising with the lovely hosts Matt, Zoe and family or enjoying the solace of the environment. The swimming pool is a big plus and the big screen projector and range of films available a great way of winding down after some tough coastal walks. Highly recommended, especially for those looking to clear the head outside of the normal holiday season.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snapeysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hastings
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

I stayed whilst combining business with a family visit. As a solo traveler, the hosts made every effort to ensure I felt welcome, which I appreciated. I invited my family to join me for dinner there one evening, and we all a very nice time - even the children. My only complaint was that my room on arrival was a little chilly - but this was soon rectified with a portable heater.
Will be back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

A long w/e Friday-Tuesday to celebrate friends birthdays and re coup before the Xmas onslaught and once again The Elmfield delivered. Great discreet service provided by Zoe, Matt and Cat as we 'took over' The Elmfield for the birthday w/e with superb cooking by Tom Frost, and then two days of peace, good walks in the winter sun (and no snow!), quality time together, top food, lazy swims in the pool and chilling with a good movie and drinks in the lounge - Xmas has seemed so much better!

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traveling-siren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmfield

Property: The Elmfield
Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elmfield 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely Victorian villa that combines contemporary style with a classic twist. The Elmfield offers the facilities of a luxury hotel, with the warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere of a friendly family home. There is a fully licensed bar, and games room, and the comfortable family lounge transforms into a cosy cinema in the evening. In the gardens is the pool house with heated swimming pool (Easter - October), and a summer house with terrace offering lovely views of the wilder valley. The grounds run down to a secret garden with fire pit and the soft sound of the stream as a relaxing backdrop. Available for whole house hire or individual room B&B basis. The Elmfield in Ilfracombe offers very competitive packages for exclusive use wedding weekends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Elmfield Hotel Ilfracombe
Elmfield Hotel Ilfracombe
Elmfield Boutique Hotel Ilfracombe
The Elmfield Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing