We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian Charm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hampton's Hotel
Ranked #35 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Lovely Victorian building, with a lot of thought put into the decoration. Views from our room good. Breakfast very good, plenty of choice. We will be returning (hopefully).
Area very hilly & the town was well worn! but don't let this put you off as the seafront area was lovely.
Plenty of lovely walks & if you like gardens Marwood Hill Gardens are well worth a visit.
As it was out of season places to eat in the town were very limited, if you do not mind driving out of town there are plenty of good pubs in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornishmaid87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2011

Superb place to stay for a relaxing and romanic time away. The room was amazingly beutiful from its roll top bath, soft bed sheets to its nice view of the town (even see the sea).

Very quiet and would recommend this to anyone!

p.s the breakfast jams are quiet something too!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pawtricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Hidden because I couldn't find it in the dark but was I did I was given a very warm welcome. Bedroom was 'boutique' and very well appointed. Super breakfast - made especially for my early stay with warm croissants. Only downside was the drive on a the 1 in 2 slope .

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyglebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We stayed in Chantilly, which had a lovely roll top bath. We enjoyed sitting in the window and looking out at the amazing view.

Breakfast - delicious!

Our hosts - wonderfully welcoming.

This is how all hotels should be run.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sashapet_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Great decor, great welcome, great coffee, great advice. Super close to the coastal path. Easy for Croyde, Georgeham and Exmoor. A great stay.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank barneyrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

From the second we arrived at The Hamptons Hotel, we felt a wave of absolute relaxtion take over. The atmosphere is one of utter calm and sophisication whilst being homely and cosy.

We stayed in the Chantilly Room which was truly beautiful. The views were breathtaking. The bed is super-comfy and the decor wonderful. The bath is fab - perfect for two!

My husband and I are real foodies and the breakfast certainly did not disappoint!! Excellent cooked breakfast - and many other options. Paul and Janine are such fantastic hosts. Friendly, knowledgable and easy to be around.

There are some exceptionall restaurants in Ilfracombe - La Gendarmerie and Espresso are a must try! The nightlife is a little on the dodgy side - but to be honest, we went there purely as a quick getaway. Our interest lay in spending time with each other, sampling some fine food (which we definitely did) and coastal path walking - which was utterly fantastic! The coast is rather dramatic and makes for a truly pleasurable and exhilarating experience. Ilfracombe itself is only so-so. It has *such* potential though. As a base to explore North Devon, it's rather perfectly placed.

All in all I would absolutely highly recommend this hotel - and, in fact already have done so to several people - and we only got back yesterday! We fully intend on returning in the winter. A desire to return to a so-so coastal town in the middle of winter?! I think that speaks volumes. Awesome time. Lovely people. Loved every minute of it! :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonBelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

My fiance & I stayed at the Hamptons for a weekend in June & we loved everything about it from location, to decoration, to service!

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The decor throughout the hotel was stunning, the room was beautiful, breakfast offered a great choice & great food and the service throughout our stay matched up to the high standards.

We highly recommend the Hamptons to anyone who is looking for a base in North Devon for a special weekend away - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-A_and_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.0 mi away
Westwood
Westwood
#19 of 53 in Ilfracombe
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#6 of 53 in Ilfracombe
205 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Habit Boutique Rooms
The Habit Boutique Rooms
#15 of 53 in Ilfracombe
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
446 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mullacott Farm
Mullacott Farm
#21 of 53 in Ilfracombe
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hampton's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hampton's Hotel

Address: Excelsior Villas, Torrs Park, Ilfracombe, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £80 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re a unique boutique, offering chic, sumptuous accommodation that’s been designed to provide our guests with the ultimate in comfort and indulgence, at B&B prices.The Hampton’s is an imposing Victorian villa, located in an elevated position, which delivers commanding views of the town and coastline. The house has recently been renovated by an award winning interior designer and promises to deliver exceptional accommodation, food and service, always with you in mind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamptons Hotel Ilfracombe
The Hampton's Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing