We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hampton's Hotel
Ranked #35 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in the beautiful “Chantilly” room, on a Thursday night at the end of August - great views from our bay window, exquisite bedroom decor and opulent bath tub (bring a candle for extra ambience!)
The room had all the modern facilities, the Wi-Fi was fully operational and the bedding was to die for (best Egyptian cotton I have come across in a B&B!)
The B&B owner was very friendly and directed us towards a coastal walk, to the village of Lee, where we had a tasty bite to eat in the local pub – don’t forget to carry a torch if you plan to walk back at night!
Egg Benedict for breakfast was tasty and the portion just right.
Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MumU40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for The Hampton's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

The Hampton's Hotel is situated in the beautiful village of Ilfracombe, the hotel is on top of a steep hill so the views of the sea and hills are fantastic. There are so many positives about this hotel but I thought for the price you pay it is important for people to also know the negatives.

Positives:
-Lovely, welcoming staff
-Good breakfast
-Beautiful room with great views
-Very clean with special touches
-5 min walk to the centre of town
-Your own key to the front door so there is no time restriction on coming back from a night out

Negatives:
-Limited parking
-Steep hills to walk home
-No lightning on the drive at night whilst walking up the steep hill to the hotel front door, trips/falls could easily happen
-The shower in the room was either freezing cold or boiling hot
-The bathroom toiletries were not stocked up upon arrival
-The toilet seat would not stay up (for the man)
-Very thin walls so you can hear people in the next room and they can hear you!

These are all minor negatives that can be easily adapted, we had a really lovely stay and the service we received made up for everything else. We went for a wedding at tunnels beach which was stunning, if you are going for a wedding there too I advise you to wear flats and pack your heels in your handbag as the hills are very steep! Enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BubbleandSqueak_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I stayed here the eve of my wedding at Tunnels beach in October 2012. I arrived with my mum and friends. it was extremely relaxing before the wedding and after a lovely meal out in Ilfracombe i relaxed in the huge free standing bathtub. I stayed in the Chantilly room, which was such a good choice as many brides have pre wedding photos, what a beautiful backdrop this was to all the photos. The owner was great i had an amazing vegetarian breakfast on the morning of the wedding. Then the videographer, photographer and make up artist arrived, we were the most relaxed bridal party ever, everyone commented on how there was no stress and we were all so happily relaxed. I think the relaxed beautiful hotel setting contributed to this, the room had stunning views as we all took turns to have our make up done sat in the bay windows. When returning in the early hours with new husband he was also impressed with this boutique hotel. The location is very close to tunnels beach so perfect as wedding accommodation. We will definitely come back and stay for future wedding anniversarys, must book soon cant wait to visit again its now a place of such amazing memories.

Room Tip: Chantilly, stunning backdrop to any pre wedding getting ready photos.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyTorbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We absolutely loved this boutique hotel. It had a lovely feel to it, the owners were really friendly and the room was exquisite. We couldn't fault this hotel, I would recommend to anyone who appreciates stylish decor and a gorgeous sea-view. The Bath added even more sumptuous luxury and to top it off the breakfast was delicious, all local produce! Best Hotel I've stayed in and real value for money.

Room Tip: Chantilly room has a wonderful roll top bath and felt very luxurious.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Took my wife Verity to see "Verity" in Ilfracombe and decided to stay here. Two of my better decisions this year. The hotel was just what we needed,quiet luxurious and spacious. We were warmly greeted and shown to our room,well informed on restaurants and local goings on.The expectations were high and well met. Really liked walking round the sights,and sampling the good food and drink to be had. Verity liked "Verity" but the jury is still out for me. It is a magnificent structure whatever... Thoroughly recommend the Hamptons,we parked up the top without problem and walked town and back several times which in itself was pleasant. Do try "Chimes" restaurant,up there with the best.

Room Tip: Plenty of space in suite,
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We loved this place! Just returned from our holiday and wanted thank our amazing hosts for the best stay ever. We were there for 5 days with 2 small children and it was so relaxing! Fantastic breakfast, beautiful accommodation with the comfiest beds with heavenly bedding = great night sleeps. Nothing was too much and the children were welcome to use all the facilities :) DVD's on hand for the couple of hours we needed refuel from visiting the harbour which was only a stone's throw away. Attention to detail was evident wherever you looked and local knowledge was so key to us enjoying our holiday. Perfect location in a perfect accommodation! Thank you xxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaThuile74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Really well cared for at The Hamptons, used for our daughters wedding accommodation for her wedding at Tunnels Beaches. Food excellent,Comfort Excellent. Very flexible with the extra persons we had with us (hair make up photographer videographer_) Well decorated, clean and comfortable stay. Modern boutique hotel. Will visit again & recommend highly

Room Tip: All individual in design & subtle themes, we had three rooms one of which a beautiful honeymoon...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
214 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mullacott Farm
Mullacott Farm
#22 of 53 in Ilfracombe
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westwood
Westwood
#17 of 53 in Ilfracombe
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#7 of 53 in Ilfracombe
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Habit Boutique Rooms
The Habit Boutique Rooms
#14 of 53 in Ilfracombe
117 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Harbour Lights B&B
The Harbour Lights B&B
#11 of 53 in Ilfracombe
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hampton's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hampton's Hotel

Address: Excelsior Villas, Torrs Park, Ilfracombe, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £80 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re a unique boutique, offering chic, sumptuous accommodation that’s been designed to provide our guests with the ultimate in comfort and indulgence, at B&B prices.The Hampton’s is an imposing Victorian villa, located in an elevated position, which delivers commanding views of the town and coastline. The house has recently been renovated by an award winning interior designer and promises to deliver exceptional accommodation, food and service, always with you in mind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamptons Hotel Ilfracombe
The Hampton's Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing