We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury stay on a tight-ish budget!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hampton's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hampton's Hotel
Ranked #32 of 55 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury stay on a tight-ish budget!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked into the Hamptons for two nights. Very impressed with the hotel, it's location was perfect for us for going into Ilfracombe and also surrounding places such as Woolacombe. The decor is beautiful, every area is well presented and very clean. Breakfast included in the price is excellent value in my opinion, and the choice is good and very tasty, fresh cooked for each guest.
We will definitely be visiting again, our host Paul was very welcoming and helpful with suggestions of where to visit nearby.
With not much money to spend on hotels, if you don't want to slum it camping, definitely look into coming to the hamptons, as I think the price for a standard room for two people is great for such a beautiful place. And breakfast is so good and filling that we didn't have lunch at all,so you save money on eating out too! :D

Room Tip: The Sanderson room is ideal for a couple, the space is cozy, but if you are going out and about and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    12
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
63
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here on Saturday 1st June for our 1st Wedding Anniversary for one night. We booked the Chantilly room with the four poster bed and bay window overlooking Ilfracombe. The room was absolutely beautiful, as was the rest of the house. The room had a beautiful bathroom with dual aspect, with a rain shower and a roll top bath, which was so deep I didn't want to get out. The White Company toiletries, fluffy white towels, IPod docking station, DVD player and Egyptian cotton bedding were all really nice finishing touches. The owner was really welcoming and showed us around the house before giving us a key to our room and the front door, so we could come and go as we pleased. We had a lovely cooked breakfast which we ordered to our own preference, with tea, toast, croissants, juice and cereal. The hotel is within walking distance of Ilfracombe centre, but wear comfy shoes as there are a fair few hills between the hotel and the marina. I cannot recommend the hotel enough, it really is a boutique haven. It was lovely waking up to such a beautiful view, with the chimes of the church bells drifting in from the church below, and sitting in the bay window seat with my morning coffee. Blissful! The owners have really created a stunning hotel, with rates that don't leave a massive dent in the bank balance.

Room Tip: The Chantilly room is beautiful for a romantic weekend away, with amazing views and a roll top bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraR1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

What a fantastic hotel, and such an amazing host in Paul. Beautifully appointed boutique rooms, scrumptious breakfast, top location and an amazing host.

We were there for our wedding, and booked the hotel out. Fancy a romantic weekend - this place is perfect.

Fancy a weekend away with a baby/child, big enough rooms for everyone.

Just fancy a nice breakfast? Book a night there, it's great!

Thanks you so much, a great stay. Can't recommend you more than we are already doing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Spent 2 nights travelling with a friend to this lovely B&B that was full of charm and excellent decor throughout. The building and rooms are lovely, the owner very welcoming and it's excellent walking distance from Ilfracombe town centre. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner to customise the breakfast options and the twin room (Rococco) was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samborakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Enjoyed one night here for birthday celebration. The room, Chantilly, was beautiful, with stunning views over the town and sea. Only 10-15 minute walk to sea/town. Very friendly owner, made us feel very relaxed. Breakfast very good, including warm croissants and nice selection of teas. Couple of things could be added to improve the room - hot chocolate sachets and complimentary shower cap!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cocoamoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My fiance and I stayed at The Hampton's in February 2014 to celebrate our engagement and the six year anniversary since we met. It was excellent from start to finish. Each room is different, but we picked the Chantilly room, which was more like a small suite! The four poster bed was really comfy and the bathroom, with its free standing bath, was luxurious. Breakfast was delicious (I was offered veggie sausages as I made a note when booking that I was vegetarian) and Paul, one of the owners, was really friendly and helpful.

There's a pantry on the top floor for all guests to use which was great, as we used the fridge to chill some champagne when we went out for dinner. The driveway is steep, but there is plenty of parking on the road at the bottom and we left our car there most of the time because spaces at the top were full. There's a big cabinet full of DVDs in the lounge which you can use whilst staying, which we thought was a great idea. One of the owners is an interior designer and that's apparent as soon as you step through the door of the hotel, as it looks amazing throughout. In fact, I took a few photos for inspiration for when we buy our first house! Before I forget to mention it, the price per night was fantastic value for money too.

Would highly recommend driving out to The Rock at Georgeham - great menu and lovely atmosphere if you can get a table in the conservatory. Also, the 50 minute drive or so to nearby Clovelly is a must, especially on a sunny day. It's one of the most breathtaking places we've been to (not just in the UK either). Woolacombe bay is also nearby, about 10 minutes away, so definitely worth a trip as the beach is beautiful. Also, Giovanni's & Luca's is a great italian in Ilfracombe if you fancy a nice pizza or pasta dish and the small aquarium is fun to visit.

Room Tip: Can only comment on Chantilly, as all rooms are different, but judging by the floor plan it's th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are just back from a return visit to the Hamptons for our 1st wedding anniversary. The Hamptons holds many special memories for us & with my birthday & our anniversary so close it was lovely to celebrate both for a couple of nights. We stayed again in the Chantilly room which is opulent & stunning, felt relaxed from the moment we arrived, just like on our wedding last year. The free standing huge bath tub was to die for & I could of spent the majority of the visit relaxing in it! Lovely breakfast & vege option on offer. The owner was away but lovely friendly people looking after while he was away. Ilframcombe was a friendly place to revisit & we enjoyed many conversations with lots of random people! Can't wait to revisit on future anniversaries.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LadyTorbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.0 mi away
Norbury House Hotel
Norbury House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Habit Boutique Rooms
The Habit Boutique Rooms
#13 of 55 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Torrs Hotel Ilfracombe
Torrs Hotel Ilfracombe
#10 of 55 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hampton's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hampton's Hotel

Property: The Hampton's Hotel
Address: Excelsior Villas, Torrs Park, Ilfracombe, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re a unique boutique, offering chic, sumptuous accommodation that’s been designed to provide our guests with the ultimate in comfort and indulgence, at B&B prices.The Hampton’s is an imposing Victorian villa, located in an elevated position, which delivers commanding views of the town and coastline. The house has recently been renovated by an award winning interior designer and promises to deliver exceptional accommodation, food and service, always with you in mind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamptons Hotel Ilfracombe
The Hampton's Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing