We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good B & B.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hampton's Hotel
Ranked #36 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 November 2009

Ilfracombe is a dull soulless place but this small bed and breakfast is comfortable well run friendly and good value. The owners have gone to enormous effort which is reflected in first rate service and very pleasant if slightly idiosyncratic decor. Two comments but not real criticisms. The small flat screen tvs in our rooms had just four poor picture terrestrial channels from a Welsh transmitter. The steep winding drive was unlit and has some pot holes for the unweary unseeing pedestrian. The solar lamps on the steep steps were not working.That said I wholeheartedly recommend this extablishment.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jannerbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2009

England desperately needs Janine and Paul Powell (creators/owners/operators of The Hamptons) to show them how to do hospitality with panache. This stylish boutique hotel is every bit as good as those run by my favourite U.S. hoteliers (California’s “Kimpton’s Hotel Monaco Group” and the “Joie de Vivre” chain ---- neither of which are staffed by such charming hosts)

Treat yourself to the The Chantilly, a strikingly elegant, extra large room with bay windows looking out over all of Ilfracombe. Sink into the accommodating roll top tub, cocooned in bridal whites. Soak for half an hour in designer bath oils, while contemplating which of the films you’ll borrow from the well-stocked DVD library in the House Beautiful lounge.

Breakfast on eggs benedict, bagel and lox, kippers, or a great English fry-up, all organic, prepared to order by Chef Paul. Don’t be surprised if the sumptuous repast is delivered to your table by the brilliant hotel designer, Janine Powell.

Everything you need for the perfect get-away is here. Wi-fi works first time every time. Pretty cushions galore. Excellent toiletries. Honour bar. Lounge and breakfast room as tastefully appointed as the bedrooms. Excellent housekeeping. Best location in Ilfracombe. Warm, welcoming hosts.

During our three days at The Hamptons, we had to tear ourselves away from the place. We noticed other guests experienced the same dilemma. Nobody wanted to leave the comforting oasis Janine and Paul created.

A new standard for hospitality has been set. Let’s hope other UK hoteliers flock to The Hampton’s generous door for lessons in hospitality and design.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarshaCoupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

This is a really lovely hotel; beautifully designed and comfortable. Breakfasts are excellent. The best bit is the service - attentive without being overbearing, Janine and Paul helped us out with recommendations, directions and maps.

The only downside is that Ilfracombe itself isn't so nice! It is a great base for coast walking and trips into Exmoor, but the shops and nightlife leave a lot to be desired!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blahblahBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

It’s not difficult to see why this occupies the No.1 position in Ilfracombe. For fans of interior design and style I think you will really like this place. Janine and Paul, the couple that run the hotel have not only ensured that everything looks elegant, contemporary and stylish, they’ve also put a lot of thought into the comfort, relaxation and needs of the guests. They’re also very down to earth, approachable and helpful.

We stayed in The Osbourne room which I thought was very comfortable, bright and modern. Lots of attention to detail throughout with regards to the colours used, the pictures on the wall and the other aspects that make a relaxing stay, i.e. large LCD TV, comfortable sofa’s and roll top bath and excellent shower. The place was meticulously clean and tidy. This is one of those places where you might be tempted to stay in your room instead of venturing out to see the sights and sounds of the local area.

It’s not just the rooms that have been thoughtfully designed. The stairways and landing areas are also in keeping with everything else. The framed black and white photos on the walls work really well with the old style fixtures and fittings of this building.

Downstairs is a communal living space with large LCD TV and comfortable sofas and chairs. There is also an honesty bar which I think is a nice touch and adds to the relaxed feel of the place. Breakfast is also taken in this room, as it’s so large. Part of it is set aside for the tables and chairs. These again fit in with the style of the rest of the furnishings.

There was lots of choice with regards to breakfast and it’s good to see a few different things on the menu, for example bagels with scrambled eggs. There is also an extensive choice when it comes to the teas, lots of different types to choose from.

We cycled here and Paul kindly put our bikes in the garage during our 2 day stay. Overall I thought this was an excellent place to stay, very comfortable, our room was a suite room and the living room area was very comfortable and relaxing. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in the area.

Many of the restaurants were closed when we were there but we found Basils Restaurant on 54 Fore Street which did a very good vegetarian Wellington.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We were given the weekend away as a wedding gift and what a great gift it was! The hotel was lovely and the room perfect for a mini honeymoon. The 4 poster bed and victorian roll top bath were very luxurious.
The breakfast was lovely and everywhere we went in Ilfracombe everyone raved about the breakfast!
The hotel is finished to such a high standard and is very clean. It really has a home from home feel and Paul & Janine were so welcoming and friendly.
It is the perfect base for a surfing holiday, which is what my husband and I chose to do during our stay.
We cannot rate this hotel highly enough and would recommend it to anyone.
Well done Paul & Janine!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheVeaseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We had a great stay at this hotel, it is absolutely brilliant and cannot recommend it highly enough. We had just been camping for a week in terrible conditions and as a result arrived at the hotel looking decidedly scruffy, but we were warmly welcomed by the owners who are outstanding hoteliers. This hotel is as smart and stylish as the best of hotel du vin, but unlike other boutique hotels feels completely unpretentious and genuinely welcoming. Tremendous. We will be back. definitely one of the very best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gotothrottleup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We have just got back from a 2 night stay in The Hampton's Hotel. We chose this hotel based on the great reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed in any way.
Janine and Paul are lovely. Their hotel is spotless, the decor is great, The breakfast is 5 star with everything you could wish for and cooked to perfection.
We eat at the Ecclectic Bar one night and the Tapas Bar the next. Both were excellent and highly recommended.
The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the town.
Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackoEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
355 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
13 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 52 in Ilfracombe
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hampton's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hampton's Hotel

Address: Excelsior Villas, Torrs Park, Ilfracombe, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £80 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re a unique boutique, offering chic, sumptuous accommodation that’s been designed to provide our guests with the ultimate in comfort and indulgence, at B&B prices.The Hampton’s is an imposing Victorian villa, located in an elevated position, which delivers commanding views of the town and coastline. The house has recently been renovated by an award winning interior designer and promises to deliver exceptional accommodation, food and service, always with you in mind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamptons Hotel Ilfracombe
The Hampton's Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing