We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, beautifully presented, friendly and relaxed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hampton's Hotel
Ranked #33 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel, beautifully presented, friendly and relaxed”
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Friendly. Great breakfast. Lovely decor. Great room. Good supply tea/coffe etc in room. Good shower. Good view when eating breakfast. Relaxing sitting room with honesty bar. Good location. Nothing missing! Would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val39Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    12
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
63
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2010

the two of us stayed at The Hamptons for 3 nights in July. Booked the Chantilly room and the photos are accurate - loads of room, beautiful decor, great view and you can see the sea. don't often see Bang and Olfsen tv in a hotel room but you do here. slight grumble about the shower (huge bath great for two) as i could not get the shower curtain sorted and had some mopping up to do after. breakfast was superb as was service by the owners and staff who are also ready with info and advice should you ask. did loads of walking - the hills are something else - we would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruggergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2010

My husband whisked me away to this truly delightful hotel as a present for a joint birthday and anniversary weekend and what a memorable one!
The hosts Paul and Janine are accomodating, friendly and truly make you feel as though you are in a home from home - but with the luxury of being "looked after".
The breakfast was superb and really comprehensive with the fresh baked croissant smell enticing you down from your room!
I would whole heartedly recomend this boutique hotel to anyone, it was comfy, stylish, clean and relaxing.
All that is left to say is Thank You Janine and Paul for a beautiful weekend - we look forward to seeing you again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaG_1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

My wife and I chose The Hamptons from Trip Advisor for a short weekend break to attend a wedding. Here's what we found.

Location: The Hamptons is a large semi-detached Victorian house set into the side of a cliff in the picturesque Torrs Park section of Ilfracombe. It's a ten minute leisurely downhill stroll to the town centre. The house overlooks the town and the hills beyond with the sea visible on the left. There is a steep drive up to the house from the street with a sharp hairpin bend half-way, and this is mentioned on The Hamptons' web site. There is parking for 3 or 4 cars at the top of the drive, and ample on-street parking.
The House: The outside of the house is in good condition and both it and the gardens are well presented. To one side of the front door is a raised deck with a secure childrens' play area. Inside, the decoration of the common parts is to a very high standard with welcoming and relaxingly elegant Long Island/Cape Cod-type influences, blending well with the Victorian features. The air is mildly and pleasantly scented. The open plan guest lounge and breakfast room is light and airy, elegantly and comfortably furnished. There is a DVD collection for guest use, and a well-stocked honour bar. There is quiet chillout background music in the lounge from an iPod on a soundstation. Everything is in its place and spotlessly clean.
The room: We stayed in the Kashmir room, small, but light, well-appointed and comfortable overlooking the front of the house with a view to the town and hills. As the name implied the decorative theme was Indian and this was well carried through in the wallpaper, pictures and curtains. The double bed was comfortable, albeit somewhat hard for my liking. The furniture and bedstead were antique mahogany. There was a facility for making tea and coffee. There was free bottled water, a LCD TV and DVD player. The ensuite bathroom had a small handbasin, a bathtub with shower; there were complimentary toiletries. The whole room looked and smelled lovely. It was immaculately clean, the bathroom equally so.
The breakfast: The owners give you a menu to be filled in at night. The cooked breakfast was freshly prepared with organic ingredients, and was excellent. Although there is a timetable for breakfast, the morning we overslept the owners were quite happy to prepare something for us.
And finally: Friendly and passionate about their creation, nothing was too much trouble for owners Paul and Janine Powell. From arranging a hair appointment to pointing out good places to eat, we were well looked after and made to feel very welcome.
The Hamptons exceeded our expectations by a long way. The owners have lavished attention on the details as well as the overall guest experience, and created a bed and breakfast experience that left us relaxed, refreshed, and looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremyfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We stayed in the Osborne Suite for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was beautifully designed with lots of thoughtful touches - good lighting, nice toiletries etc. The owners were very charming and helpful - recommending the best pubs and places to eat and tips for days out. We really enjoyed the breakfasts, good quality, nicely cooked, no grease! We would definitely go back if we vist the area again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBeelette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in the Jasmine Room - the room is very comfortable but the bathroom is a little small, that said it's perfectly adequate for a short break. The hotel is stylish and immaculate, the service is fantastic and the owners make you feel very at home. The breakfast's are of excellent quality and are beautifully cooked - there is a lot of attention to detail to make your stay an enjoyable one, from the honesty bar to the DVD collection - they really do go out of their way to make it a pleasurable stay.

A couple of tips for eating out:

1. The Espresso bar - fantastic for a bottle of wine and /or dinner, the food is good quality and the service is excellent. Nice atmosphere.
2. The Quay - Damien Hirsts restaurant on the harbour: Excellent - bit pricey but worth it.

Things to do: Lynton and Linmouth - lovely day out / Woolacombe beach is fantastic / Exmoor Zoo is well worth a trip

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2010

After living in Ilfracombe many years ago i returned for one night and was so pleased to find that a London quality hotel had finally reached this seaside town. The service and hospitality is second to none and the rooms are simply beautiful. I have stayed in some of the most prestigious hotels in the UK paying upto £500 a night and i would put this right up there with them. The attention to detail is fantastic and this is one hotel i will be making a return visit to... there is only one hotel in 'combe' worth staying in and this is it!
Peter Murtha March 2010

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterMurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
372 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
353 reviews
3.9 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#8 of 53 in Ilfracombe
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Acorn Lodge
Acorn Lodge
#23 of 53 in Ilfracombe
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westwood
Westwood
#15 of 53 in Ilfracombe
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hampton's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hampton's Hotel

Property: The Hampton's Hotel
Address: Excelsior Villas, Torrs Park, Ilfracombe, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re a unique boutique, offering chic, sumptuous accommodation that’s been designed to provide our guests with the ultimate in comfort and indulgence, at B&B prices.The Hampton’s is an imposing Victorian villa, located in an elevated position, which delivers commanding views of the town and coastline. The house has recently been renovated by an award winning interior designer and promises to deliver exceptional accommodation, food and service, always with you in mind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamptons Hotel Ilfracombe
The Hampton's Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing