We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find, location, hosts and value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Score Valley Country House
Ranked #25 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stopped here for four nights and were thrilled with this find. Roger is a great front of house host who really made this guest house better than your average hotel. Jenny makes an excellent breakfast (good range of cooked food included in the price) and was very helpful. The hotel is close to Ilfracombe by car or just over a fiver in a taxi. Bedrooms are kept very clean, the grounds around the guest house are stunning and one of our party even saw a deer with two foals. Roger recommended a visit to Clovelly which was a fantastic place. I also recommend Tunnels Beaches. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyGrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger W, Owner at Score Valley Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you very much for your very generous review. We are pleased that the wedding you attended went well in the sunshine and that we were able to contribute to your extended break. I was delighted when he saw the deer in the garden. Luckily we have a disclaimer that we are unable to guarantee sightings of the wildlife but the deer certainly appear to be getting bolder. Bambi and Faline's appearances (yes, I know but it isn't me that names them) are most welcome except when they start eating the roses and flowers......then they are likely to be called slightly less endearing names!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Score Valley Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

After a wonderful relaxing and eventful week at this beautiful hotel I am very sad to be home!
The hotel is clean and comfortable with excellent hosts and fabulous Breakfasts! My partner and I had busy days touring the surrounding towns with some great advice from Jenny and Rodger, then returned to the hotel in the evenings to relax and recharge ready for the next days activities!
The views from the hotel are simply stunning and I couldn't wait to go and explore!
This is one hotel I would definitely recommend and will most certainly be returning to soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmBeretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed for a week and were treated very well by the hosts Roger appears to be the front of house where Jenny I assume works hard behind the scenes. Both were really welcoming and want to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Excellent range of breakfasts with a lovely cooked. My wife really enjoyed the waffle and yogurt with strawberries and banana. The hotel is tucked away on the outskirts of Ilfracombe and set in lovely grounds with plenty of parking. We stayed on the top floor with ensuite bathroom although there are quite a few stairs but this was mentioned when we booked. Overall if you are looking for a quiet stay in a lovely old house with character the look no further.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RustingtonRickyLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just got back from a lovely couple of nights at Score Valley. Jenny and Roger are perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. Jenny's breakfasts are amazing and the menu is varied so if you don't want a full English there are plenty of other cooked options!
Our room was beautifully decorated and spotless as was the bar and dining room. This time we ventured down into Ilfracombe on foot rather than take the car down a quaint country lane (steep on way up so an ice cream or equivalent is advised whilst in the town!)

I couldn't imagine a trip to Devon without stopping in at Score Valley.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank snugbug83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

From the very warm welcome, to the wonderful room and the very good breakfast, everything about this hotel is to be recommended. Both Roger and Jenny are excellent hosts both available and unobtrusive.
I would whole heartedly recommend this hotel.
The only advice I would give to other travellers is to ask about the alternative exit from the driveway

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonX7078VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just returned from a wonderful couple of nights at Score Valley. Jenny and Roger were so friendly and were able to signpost us to attractions in the local area we went quad biking locally and loved it. Our room was very spacious and the bed was HUGE and extremely comfortable - if it wasn't for Jenny's delicious breakfast I wouldn't have left it!! The room and all communal areas were spotless and we were certainly made to feel at home throughout our stay.

Ideal location with easy road access to Woolacombe and Ilfracombe. Ilfracombe is walkable but the walk back to the hotel is mighty steep!! Perfect if you've indulged in fish and chips by the harbour!!

We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snugbug83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger W, Owner at Score Valley Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you very much for your very generous feedback. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable break particularly at this time of year when the weather can be so unpredictable. We believe there is something to do in this area all year round and are always pleased to advise on ideas. Quad biking, with the protective clothing they provide, seemed ideal as the experience is usually enhanced by muddy fields. As it seems fashionable to say these days there is no such thing as bad weather just wrong clothing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Never left a review on here before, but this place had to be recommended. Everything about this place was was 1st class, from the welcome to our departure. We spent 2 nights here, over for my sons wedding in area. This is what id missed about England, a real gem this place, service was top notch and friendly, hôtel itself was a beautiful place. My French/ Italian Partner loved it too, made me proud to be English, and thats down to the hard work and effort put into this place by Roger and Jenny the hosts. Hope to stay here again one Day. Terry and Anna

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrysparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger W, Owner at Score Valley Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to think of us and your generous feedback. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable weekend and particularly that this fascinating old building was able to add to your wife's experience of this beautiful part of the country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.7 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
59 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Breeze House
Sea Breeze House
#14 of 53 in Ilfracombe
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#7 of 53 in Ilfracombe
203 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Olive Branch
The Olive Branch
#8 of 53 in Ilfracombe
188 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sherborne Lodge
The Sherborne Lodge
#33 of 53 in Ilfracombe
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Score Valley Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Score Valley Country House

Address: Score Valley Country House Hotel St Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £63 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Score Valley Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Score Valley Country House is a licensed guest house set in its own pleasant grounds in a peaceful secluded valley on the edge of Ilfracombe, making it also an ideal base for enjoying the vast sandy beaches of Woolacombe and the Golden Coast or exploring the wonders of Exmoor. A husband and wife team we take pride in the friendly, relaxed atmosphere of our home offering a good nights sleep, a hearty breakfast and are always happy to offer ideas and advice to ensure you get the most from your visit to this beautiful area. We have plenty of free parking. Due to the age of the property and the running streams we suggest that you consider this before bringing very young children. We are pleased to take small/medium dogs in three of our rooms on request. Please check availability of these before booking. Our double rooms are equipped with zip and link beds making us completely flexible to accept single sex groups or couples for walking, golfing or shooting holidays etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Score Valley Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Score Valley Country House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing