We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Score Valley Country House
Nearby Hotels
Mullacott Farm(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Epchris House(Ilfracombe)
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Varley House(Ilfracombe)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandy Cove Hotel(Berrynarbor)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sea Breeze House(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath House Hotel(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Carlton Hotel(Ilfracombe)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Olive Branch(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
67
29
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
29
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurrounding townsperfect hostsroll top bathlovely hotellocal areastayed here for nightsfriendly hostsfull english breakfastbed was comfortablehome from homea wonderful stayshort breakrogerdevonwifidogheartedly
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Score Valley was a perfect change from the heat and hurried pace of Orlando, Florida. I enjoyed the history of the hotel and the surrounding countryside but most of all the care taken by Roger and Jenny to see that all of my needs were met in such a lovely manner. This was a great vacation and I cannot wait for a return trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sheelagh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger W, Owner at Score Valley Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback. It is always a pleasure to help to enable overseas visitors to experience the beauty of North Devon especially when the weather is behaving itself. I hope you enjoyed our hot, dry spell even though as a Florida native you probably still appreciated a cardigan!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My sister and I stayed here for two nights whilst visiting relatives. Access off the main road is a little tricky but once down in the valley there is ample parking in front of the house which is a rare find in Ilfracombe. Our room was homely, clean and comfortable, much more pleasant than the sterile, overheated rooms you find in modern hotels.
Breakfast was generous and good quality, I would particularly recommend the fruit and yoghurt with freshly made waffles, they were delicious and set us up for the day.
What makes us want to go back though are the hosts, they were so relaxed and charming that it felt like we were staying with family rather than in a faceless hotel. We will be back soon to visit our beloved seaside town and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger W, Owner at Score Valley Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback. We hope now that you have found us we will see more of you and your families soon. It was also a pleasure for us to meet you both and to learn more of Ilfracombe history.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had a perfect couple of nights at the hotel.Very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and tidy and the breakfasts are excellent. Roger and Jenny were the perfect hosts. Will certainly stay there again

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger W, Owner at Score Valley Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We hope now that you have found us that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stopped here for four nights and were thrilled with this find. Roger is a great front of house host who really made this guest house better than your average hotel. Jenny makes an excellent breakfast (good range of cooked food included in the price) and was very helpful. The hotel is close to Ilfracombe by car or just over a fiver in a taxi. Bedrooms are kept very clean, the grounds around the guest house are stunning and one of our party even saw a deer with two foals. Roger recommended a visit to Clovelly which was a fantastic place. I also recommend Tunnels Beaches. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyGrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger W, Owner at Score Valley Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you very much for your very generous review. We are pleased that the wedding you attended went well in the sunshine and that we were able to contribute to your extended break. I was delighted when he saw the deer in the garden. Luckily we have a disclaimer that we are unable to guarantee sightings of the wildlife but the deer certainly appear to be getting bolder. Bambi and Faline's appearances (yes, I know but it isn't me that names them) are most welcome except when they start eating the roses and flowers......then they are likely to be called slightly less endearing names!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

After a wonderful relaxing and eventful week at this beautiful hotel I am very sad to be home!
The hotel is clean and comfortable with excellent hosts and fabulous Breakfasts! My partner and I had busy days touring the surrounding towns with some great advice from Jenny and Rodger, then returned to the hotel in the evenings to relax and recharge ready for the next days activities!
The views from the hotel are simply stunning and I couldn't wait to go and explore!
This is one hotel I would definitely recommend and will most certainly be returning to soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmBeretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews