We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!!!”
Review of The Graystoke

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Graystoke
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Arrived at the Graystoke Hotel for a long weekend with another couple and my husband,for a birthday present to do surfing,arrived after a long four hour drive from the South East.
Once upon our arrival which was late afternoon , we were greeted by a lovely lady called Gabi the owner of the Bed and Brekfast.
Having not ever stayed in a B & B i was not sure what to expect, but i was blown away with the B & B as it was so clean and well kept and precise.
Gabi was very helpfull and showed us where to go and checked us in to the rooms.
We were shown the bar and told what time the breakfast is inthe morning.
we went to our rooms which were big and very very clean and came with an on suite bathroom which was fantastic.
The decor was old fashioned but matched the house and was clean and fresh they did have a plasma tv on the wall and the bed was so comfortable so were the pillows, the room we had looked on to a road and was a little noisy on the saturday night but nothing that made you not sleep well.
The breakfast was amazing and the choice of full english,kippers or continental breakfast, which was all set out for you to help yourself.
Gabi was very informative and would recommend places for us to go to during the day.
Ilfracombe town centre was not all that but had the odd dodgy little seaside shop but the harbour was lovely and the restaurants were very nice and the food was lovely, plenty of fish dishes.
Would recommend for people to stay in this B& B as it was fantastic and superbly managed, and a friendly environment would recommend for older people.went to Croyde bay to do surfing lessons and was fantastic beach lovely and clean and fantastic instructors.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blitz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2010

My wife and I stayed for one night at The Graystoke and were fortunate to find a room where just about everywhere else in Ilfracombe was fully booked. However, for anyone planning a visit to Ilfracombe I would suggest not bothering to look any further ... just book a room at The Graystoke. Our room was large and like the rest of the hotel, absolutely spotless. As other reviewers have stated, Gabi was very welcoming and the breakfast was enough to sustain me for the rest of the day. The hotel is on the main road into Ilfracombe from Barnstaple and easy to find. Although it was a little noisy around midnight as people made their way home on a Friday night, this wasn't too much of an inconvenience and I am sure it was a lot quieter than being closer to the town centre which is about a 15 min walk.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastbourneNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Graystoke. Booked through booking.com and didnt bother to read any reviews before booking!
On arrival we were greeted by Gabi who made us feel very welcome. We were showed to our room which was airy, light and exceptionally clean!!
We booked a superior room and it felt like home from home.
The hotel is perfectly located about a 15 minute walk to the harbour - far enough away for the sea gulls to not keep you awake!!
Breakfast was a choice of a full english, fried, poached or scrambled eggs on toast, vegetarian or a "light" option. It was delish!!! There was also a selection of cereals and fresh fruit.
I would recommend this hotel with no hesitation and will definatley return should we visit north devon again

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolines77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We have stayed at the Graystoke Hotel quite a few times, each time in a different room. All the rooms were very spacious, nicely decorated and very clean. The food is excellent, served by Gabi and cooked by John. We have been made very welcome every time we have stayed there right from the first visit. We would recommend this hotel highly as we cannot fault it in any way.We have enjoyed every break there and will certainly go again.

Thank pauline22772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

Our recommendation, of the Graystoke Hotel, is based upon the experiences of my wife and myself over several visits each year for the last five years. The welcome and the attention given by John and Gabi are second to none.
The Graystoke is within walking distance of Ilfracombe town centre and it is also on bus routes to the surrounding areas. There is car parking on site.
John is an experienced chef and the food is excellent in quality and quantity.
Graystoke is kept in tiptop order throughout. It is comfortable, relaxing and we have enjoyed every visit. It is a gem.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lux98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

A very fine place, offering a friendly welcome and service, impeccable and nicely decorated rooms, a rich breakfast selection, located close enough to the town center for a short walk. We definitely recommend this place, and book it again.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank peterGraub_nden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunner25fld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#14 of 20 in Ilfracombe
352 reviews
1 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norbury House Hotel
Norbury House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
300 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Graystoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Graystoke

Address: St. Brannocks road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Hotel Class:4 star — The Graystoke 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcombe To The Graystoke, our beautifully refurbished Four Star Victorian Guest House, providing excellent service and quality accommodation at its very best. We aim to make your stay a most memorable one, provide attentive but unobtrusive service and endeavour to be as flexible as possible. Housekeeping of the highest standard. Bedrooms are en-suit with full facillities. Breakfast options, English, vegetarian or continental, freshly prepared and cooked to your individual taste. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Graystoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Graystoke Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing