We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Spent three days here on a coach trip.
The staff at the hotel were very helpful and pleasant, the food was far better than the two star rating the hotel has. Our room was very comfortable and very clean.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that's not near the lift, it can get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

I travelled from Belguim to holiday with my mother, she arranged a coach holiday to the Palm Court Hotel. We had a lovely time, I was very surprised bearing mind the cost that on arrival are cases were carried to our rooms, after a welcome cup of tea. The room was very clean a bit basic but lovely. I was pleased there was lifts as my mother would have found stairs a problem. The food wasn't what I was use too in Belguim we eat different food but did everything to make me welcome and brought me familar food, which I thank them for. We had lots of fun with the entertainment, my mother and I had a great time

Room Tip: Barnstaple is a great place for shopping
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I stayed at the hotel for five days with my family and had a fantastic time. The rooms on arrival were clean, comfortable and had everything you needed. The food was superb, we particularly enjoyed the buffet style breakfast where there was always plenty to choose from. The staff in the dining room were friendly, polite and nothing was too much trouble. Hotel staff were always available to help and you felt you were really being looked after.The location is great only a short walk to tunnel beaches. We really enjoyed our stay and will be returning next year. Well done Palm Court!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

If you are looking for value this hotel provides it! The food is home cooked and as a vegetarian I was pleased to have several choices. The staff are very friendly and helpful.This is so important. If you stay here it gives you the 'faded glamour ' of the Great British seaside hotel. There are peculiarities especially the bell ringing to summon you to breakfast at 8.30am and dinner at 6.30pm.It's like a stampede and woe betide if you try to go in early!!!!!! I think B and B would be the best option as 6.30pm is very early to eat. The rooms are chintzy with matching bedspreads and curtains.The florescent strip light is a bit dazzling!!!! But it is CLEAN-freshly laundered sheets and towels replaced daily. The shower is a bit hit and miss in the morning rush. This hotel does what it sets out to do-give value for money with a smile.Well Done Palm Court.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SueGorleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

my father and two friends have just returned from the Palm Court Hotel after a four day break. Feedback on the hotel was dissapointing. The breakfast and evening meal was good however the rooms were questionable in quality and cleanliness.
Dust in one room was thick enough to clear with a hand, the kettle in one room was so scaled up it was deemed unusable. The abundent fly bodies in the over head light in the other room caused concern. Reception knocked off at 5.30pm with any enquiries to be directed to the bar man.
Entertainment was a man on an organ, the same man as a DJ and the same man as Bingo caller. The biggest dissapointment was that there is no skittles or bowling facilities. This was not available and was never seen during the duration of the stay. From 3 guests the general feedback was great location, for day trips out and hanging around ion the evening in ilfracombe but the hotel was a real let down.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Spend 5 day holiday at the palm court had a lovely time the location was super right in the heart of things, food great, love the buffet breakfast, clean airy rooms. The staff were lovely to, nothing too much trouble. Very relaxing holiday

Room Tip: I think the Palm court HOtel is the only Hotel with a carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank judy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of a coach party,along with my Mum and Sister,we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay,Palm court is a traditional seaside hotel,the rooms were cleaned daily,and were immaculate,the food was also traditional fare,plenty of meat and two veg,but there was also salads and the veggie and special diet option (you only have to ask) it was cooked excellently and was very tasty.Breakfast was buffet style with plenty to choose from,cereals,fruit,fry up etc-yes,only one rasher of bacon is allowed at first,but the notice does say that when everyone else has been served you can go back for more! I have a large appetite,but as the bacon was a substantial slice,I found further portions unneccessary.The staff are exceptionally friendly and really could not do enough for you! the location is excellent,no more than 5 minutes walk away from the tunnels beaches,seafront and town centre.The only niggle would be is that as is usual with most hotels,the showers can be not very good with water pressure at 'peak' times! please bear in mind this is a 2 star hotel,so there are no satellite tv,jacuzzis and what not,but as a base to explore Devon,Cornwall and Somerset,it cannot be faulted. Well done,Palm court!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blackbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
471 reviews
0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
217 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
650 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#16 of 20 in Ilfracombe
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Address: Wilder Road | Ilfracombe, Ilfracombe EX34 9AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Hotel Class:2 star — Palm Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palm Court Hotel is owned by the same family for the last 28 years. It is centrally located 30m from the sea front, with its own Car park.A great location to investigate Ilfracombe by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing