We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at the Palm Court at the beginning of June for 5 nights. The room was very comfortable and clean and the food was excellent. All the staff were very friendly and polite and nothing was too much trouble. Special mention must be made of Dana in the restaurant who really went flat out on Thursday to ensure that we were able to finish our meal in time to depart to see The Searchers at the Landmark theatre. We have never seen a waitress move so quickly when serving customers! We were very lucky with the weather, hot and sunny all week. The hotel is in an excellent location with it's own car park.
We will certainly return to the hotel in the future to see more of the lovely Devon scenery.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    43
    27
    7
    16
See reviews for
26
52
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rotherham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We went to the Palm Court as a party of 50.We found the staff friendly and helpful.
Our room was clean ,but a little dated, the public rooms were clean and well furnished.
We found the food was two star but that is what we paid for so that is what we got.
The entertainment at night was good ,our party all dance so the organist played for our dancing all night The Palm Court Hotel is two star but a good two star we will return.

Mickay

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christophergodfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of April 2013 for 4 days on a coach trip.
The hotel is in a really good location, giving you a flatish walk to the harbour area, which is lovely.
The food was superb. Good choice, good quality too.
Buffet breakfast was excellent with generous potions of beautiful bacon etc.
Room was ok, a bit on the small size but very clean. Other guests on our trip stated that they had large rooms , so maybe we were unlucky.
Entertainment was fine, the usual hotel stuff.
Funtion room and other sitting areas were lovely.
Staff friendly and helpful.

Only down side to this hotel is the lack of heating, especially in public areas. Some nights guests sat watching the entertainment with their coats on. It really was uncomfortably cold.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GingerWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We went for Christmas at the Palm Court as a party of 8, We had 4 fantastic days of food food and more food, WE HAD THE BEST CHRISTMAS DAY DINNER AND EVENING BUFFET. We have been on cruises which weren't as good as the food we had at Christmas Staff were kind and very friendly, Palm Court Thankyou be back next year

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albert j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The public rooms were clean and well finished ,our room was large and could have been pleasing ,however the neon strip light without a diffuser and cheap soap ,toilet rolls and,tea making supplies irritated us,when we went for breakfast and saw the notice ''Only one rasher of bacon per person '' completed the cheap penny pinching feel.

Room Tip: I can't really help we had one of the better rooms but they seemed to be a pretty mixed bag
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 93cecilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I stayed at the palm court for five days on a coach trip.This once nice hotel is now a bit tired looking and in need of some TLC.My room was clean and of reasonable size,the shower which was in the bath did not have a hand rail which made showering a precarious excecise especialy for the older clientel which was the majority.the staff were polite and hard working with the same people cleaning rooms and serving meals.the evening meals were quite good with a choice of menu for all three courses plus coffee.The only thing i was not happy about was the hotel policy of leaving the room keys out to help yourself to on the reception desk if it was unmanned,for me this was a not a good idea.All things considered I enjoyed my stay at the palm court and for the price I payed I considered it good value.RG GREAT YARMOUTH.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pubeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Spent three days here on a coach trip.
The staff at the hotel were very helpful and pleasant, the food was far better than the two star rating the hotel has. Our room was very comfortable and very clean.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that's not near the lift, it can get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
372 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
665 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Property: Palm Court Hotel
Address: Wilder Road | Ilfracombe, Ilfracombe EX34 9AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Palm Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palm Court Hotel is owned by the same family for the last 28 years. It is centrally located 30m from the sea front, with its own Car park.A great location to investigate Ilfracombe by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing