We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Wentworth House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wentworth House
Ranked #25 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2013

A holiday can be made or broken by where you stay.Perhaps this is why we have stayed at Wentworth House for 5 of the past 6 years.Always greeted with a warm and friendly welcome from geoff,sharon and her lovely mum.Rooms are spacious,well furnished,comfortable and spotlessly clean.Breakfast is tasty and filling with choices on offer to suit all tastes.All of this combines to create value for money. Ilfracombe is our holiday destination of choice and staying at Wentworth House is an integral part of the pleasure.Anyone who wishes to experience what we have should strongly consider Wentworth House. John and Mandy Perry plus Pete. p.s. look forward to staying here again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

We generally stay at modern hotel chains throughout Continental Europe as I find the standard similar. As we mainly stay as stop overs, I find this comforting as you tend to know what you’re getting. If not for my friends who have a caravan in nearby Woolacombe, we would probably have never come across this very beautiful part of Devon, and indeed, this very pleasant B&B.
Like others, I read the reviews. A little mixed, but overall good. I fancied a change from the same type of hotels we normally use and opted for a place like this which I thought would offer a bit of character. Wentworth House certainly has character. Additionally, we received a bit of warmth and comfort which made our short stays all the more enjoyable.
I believe someone mentioned in their review that it reminded them of visiting their nans house. I agree with this 100%.., and we loved it.
Essentials were covered - clean room, clean bathroom and facilities, comfortable bed, good powerful shower and a decent breakfast to start the day. All you need.
I found the hoteliers to be friendly and nonintrusive. Yet also approachable and social if that's what you want.
Overall it was very good and good value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russ_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at the Wentworth house twice; either side of our trip to Lundy & have nothing but praise. Our first morning we were in a bit of a panic as the ferry had been cancelled & we had to be at the port ready for the bus to the helecopter at 9am. This meant that we didn't have time for breakfast but we were given three breakfast sandwiches (a bacon, a sausage and an egg) wrapped in foil to keep warm complete with some fruit and cans of drink. This was really appreciated.
The tea trays in the room were well stocked & a hot chocolate drink for the young ones a throughful touch as many don't like tea & coffee.
Comfy beds, spotlessly clean, masses of hot water & lovely fluffy towels.
Breakfast on the day we returned from Lundy was delicious. Cooked to order and masses of it.
We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquelineIreland_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Reports about this hotel are varied and sometimes unfair. I stayed here last night and as my job sometimes requires me to stay in hotels, I can write with some knowledge. Its needs some updating certainly, but in these times which small hotelier can risk spending thousands on new carpets, and furniture? The hotel is comfortable, is warm, I slept very well, the breakfast was great, the owner was very welcoming and only too pleased to help. The bathroom suit was all new and must have cost a good few quid. I am sure they continue to work very work in updating the hotel and as a small business owner, I know what they are up against. I have stayed in Travelodge 'dumps' at twice the cost that have been far worse and most un-welcoming. I would be happy to stay at the Wentworth again and suggest friends stay there as well. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PTservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Lovely b n b - above average comfort - fixtures and fittings pristinely clean. Clever rubber bottom sheet to protect mattress - clearly experienced hosts. Powerful piping hot showers. Lovely teapot and tea tray. Delicious cooked breakfast with lashings of tea. Nice free atmosphere we were made to feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoannewaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We booked on the price 4days before we went, read a few reviews. We had a faimly room and as we were only 2 using it there was plenty of room. As they say you get what you pay for and we felt we payed the right price. The host was very good and helpfull. If the moaners wanted 5star then go and pay £100 plus per person per night and moan for all your worth when you do not get the service you are expecting. We had no problem with the service we got.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkilbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Very impressive house a little outdated in need of a bit of decoration. The mattress was so hard had trouble sleeping. Breakfast was nice and even though we had booked a double RM we was put in a family room which was very spacious. The cleaner needs to check closely too as found cigarette filters behind the table in the room. The shower was lovely. The bar wasn't open whilst we was there and it wasn't offered to us either. I felt that the owners really didn't want to socialise and they were not as people friendly as they could have been. Lovely house though. There was WiFi offered and we couldn't receive this we was then told by the owners this was down to the thick walls.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wentworth99, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

We are most upset that our visitors were not comfortable, as this is most important to us. We would have been only too willing to rectify the problem of the matress if it had been brought to our attention during their visit. The lounge is always unlocked and available for drinks etc. and it is our pleasure to assist with our guests needs should they ask. Wi Fi is not always available in rooms but is available in public areas as we advertise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.7 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#14 of 20 in Ilfracombe
355 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
13 reviews
1.1 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 52 in Ilfracombe
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth House

Address: 2 Belmont Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £56 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wentworth House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wentworth House is a beautiful Victorian property with warmth and character and, open all year round, is perfect for Family Summer Holidays, Mini Breaks, Business trips and Winter Breaks Including Christmas and New Year. We offer a fabulous location, Centrally based only a stones throw away from the High Street and only minutes walk from Tunnels Beach, The Promenade and Harbour with the surfing beaches of Woolacombe and Croyde only a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Wentworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing