We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break”
Review of Mullacott Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mullacott Park
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice break”
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Stayed at Mullacott Park last November just for a 3 night break to relax and thats exactly what we got. We booked a caravan and got upgraded to a lodge which was amazing!
The lodge had 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The lounge area was fantastic and so was the kitchen and dining room. It was very modern, clean and spacious. You also get an allocated parking space next to your lodge which is very convenient.
It was a complete home away from home and had everything you could need. The location was great for Woolacombe and Illfracombe but in a quiet location itself.
Enjoyed a meal at the pub onsite and found staff very welcoming and friendly.
Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hisaronu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    40
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
75
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonnybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We stayed at Mullacott Park in February 2008. We were having a few stresses and was looking around for somewhere to stay with hot tub etc. We came across the Hoeseasons website which offer lodges all over the country most with private hot tubs.

We searched the website trying to find a really cheap break just for a few days and we found this park, and since we both love North Devon we decided to go for it. We were a bit wary as we had never used Hoeseasons before but we were really happy with the service.

On arrival at 4pm check in time we entered a park which had a pub at the entrance and a reception block, cafe and little shop. All we could see were static caravans at first no lodges in site.

We went into reception and were greeted by a pleasant lady who showed us which way to go to our lodge and gave us the keys. We were also told that the hot tub had recently been filled and would take 12-14 hours to heat up.. we were quite disappointed by this as we only had 2 full days there and 3 nights we wanted to enjoy the hot tub.

When we drove down to our lodge it was facing onto a row of pretty shabby looking old static caravans, and when booking we were told it had a sea view. Well if you stood on the verandah and squinted you could almost see it over some bushes. Also the park is on quite a main road so there is a fair bit of traffic noise in the distance so not the quietest of places.

We drove onto the "driveway" to the lodge, which was a few slabs placed onto a very waterlogged muddy grass area in front of the lodge.

Upon entering the lodge you enter a small hallway and to the left is the large open plan kitchen,diner and living room. The living room area had a large french doors opening onto the front of the verandah, 2 big brown leather sofas, tv which was barely watchable, fireplace and coffee table. Because our lodge was privately owned there was a few personal touches one of these being a dvd player and ps2 with games which kept us a bit occupied.
The dinging room has a big dining table with leather chairs, the kitchen was very well stocked with everything we needed to cook and it was very clean and tidy including dishwasher.

We had 3 bedrooms, the main bedroom had double bed, with all beds made up with clean bed linen and a small en suite shower room.
The other two bedrooms were also clean with wardrobes, one had another double bed and the other had 2 singles.

There was a main family bathrooms which had a big bath with shower over. This was also very clean.

The hot tub was on the verandah, it took quite a while to heat up so we didn't make the most of it until Saturday. It was a small hot tub with a lot of different settings and colour changing lights, but the heat didnt keep very well and within 30 mins it was quite cool, and since it was a freezing cold February it wasn't good.

On the last night we were there it was when the country had the terrible weather and storms, the lodge was definitely moving and we were quite worried but the next day upon leaving the receptionist didnt even ask us if we had a good night!

One night when we were in our hot tub, one of the residents of the static caravan across the way was waving a saw around in the dark and looked very scary so that didn't impress us much either.

The pub on site was much needing improvements as it looks very old and shabby but the food was really delicious we only tried it one night though.

All in all its hard to recommend this place really... its obviously in state of improvements and building because the lodges were very new. The customer service was pretty poor. But the lodge itself inside was beautiful and very relaxing.
It was in a nice area which was close to quite a lot of things to do in Devon. I hope it has improved a little since we were there, in a few years we may try again but for now i will stick to other places in Devon and Cornwall that we have found and loved.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstyb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2009

Booked Mullacott 3+ for Feb half term '09 for myself, hubby and our 2 teenagers. Decided to check out reviews on this site, and nearly decided not to go! Luckily we did, and were pleasantly surprised. We've stayed in quite a few lodges over the last 5 years, and this one was one of the nicest, and definitely the cleanest yet.
The park itself is clean and attractive on the whole, and we found the staff pleasant and helpful.
The hot tub was a real bonus for the kids, and even though it was not up to temperature when we arrived, as we were told that it had been cleaned and re-filled, (which was nice to know!), it was fine by late evening.
The only downside to the park, and this is a personal opinion, is that I felt there were too many lodges, and that the peace and quiet we experienced in Feb would not be there in the height of summer. There are also a number of empty plots, and I think that Hoseasons through whom we booked should make it clear that this park is going through some redevelopment, though I must say there was no work being carried out while we were there, and we had a really nice time.

Val Beauchamp, West Wales

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2008

Booked this VIP lodge with Hoseasons, not cheap, found the lodge to be what i would call 'tired'. Matresses lumpy, third room advertised as a twin only suitable for small children. Shower in the en suite would not turn on, staff tried to fix it with WD40 but only brute strength would make it work! Complained about cooking items but nothing done, TV only worked on 3 channels.
Beware if booking, Hoseasons advertise and take the money but this a private site and the cabins are owned by individuals. The staff on site are not helpful and if you have a major complaint make sure you complain at the time to Hoseasons.(If you dont contact them until after the holiday they dont want to know)

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Tired and worn out furnishings
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 4779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

My partner and I booked a weeks holiday at Mullacott Park for a week of peace, quiet and relaxation. The lodge we booked was a Mullacott Plus, which was described as one of the luxury lodges which included an outside hot tub on the decking and guaranteed views.

Upon arriving at the park we were concerned to find empty plots surrounding our lodge, resembling a building site. The lodge itself was modern, clean and nicely decorated but the twin plug fitting for the TV and DVD player was dangerous and the hot tub was freezing cold. We spoke to reception and they told us that the hot tub would not be warm until the next day and they also ASSURED us that NO building work would be carried out during our stay.

On day three we were woken by builders and their equipment. We looked out of the window to see that they were constructing a new lodge right next to ours. The weather was bad, so we decided to stay in that day. We had to have all our curtains drawn closed as the builders were so close to us and the equipment was so loud we could not even hear the TV. During the odd breaks in the weather we yet again could not use the hot tub because of the building works. This continued for 7 hours that day and also through the following 2 days.

We compained to the park owner who did not seem to think that we had a valid complaint but confirmed he would get back to us.

That afternoon we arrived back at the lodge to find the hot tub freezing cold and unusable again and the builders back carrying out further works on the new lodge. Very upset we complained again and were greeted again with a very unsympathetic response by the owner.

We will never return to Mullacott Park, the lodges themselves are nice but not worth the money as they are glorified caravans. The park has no management team as it is privatly owned and unfortunately the owner has no understanding of customer service. After a lot of stress and a real battle we managed to get a refund of £300, however our holiday was ruined by three days of building work and a hot tub that could not be used for 3 days.

Had there been no building work as promised or had the owner had a more sympathetic attitude to the effect that the work was having on our holiday, we may have still been able to enjoy our holiday.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullacott, owner at Mullacott Park, responded to this review, 26 February 2009
A very tired couple arrived at reception to comment on the empty plot next to their lodge, and about the cold hot tub. We explained that due to changeover all hot tubs were still warming as we always carry out thorough cleans with full drain downs, so to warm that amount of water it takes several hours.
A lodge was positioned next to their unit aimed to please, but NO building work occurred as the lodge was already constructed. Our maintenance team spoke to the visitors who at that time were fine. This movement only occurred on 2 half days. Perhaps the bad weather upset their stay more than anything else, something that is beyond our control.
I, being the owner of the Park, visited the guests at their lodge and agreed £300 compensation, mainly due to the hot tub issue. During this discussion the lady was extremely rude and kept interrupting only to be told off by her partner (who was courteous and professional ). The compensation was agreed amicably and swiftly and should have been the end of the matter and it is galling to read such an unfair and inaccurate review of their visit.
We are the only park in the area with the Rose award for the quality of the accommodation and pride ourselves on 1st class customer service.
I have only owned the Park for 5 years, yet we already havve a regular customer base who have visited every year since my acquisition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
3.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
804 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
780 reviews
5.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Watermouth Lodges
Watermouth Lodges
#5 of 8 in Berrynarbor
226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mullacott Farm
Mullacott Farm
#20 of 53 in Ilfracombe
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mullacott Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mullacott Park

Property: Mullacott Park
Address: Mullacott Cross, Ilfracombe EX34 8NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mullacott Park 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Locations, close to all amenities, such as Woolacombe Beach, Ilfracombe & Exmoor. Our Lodges offer Luxury to everyone, with a selection of meadow views, hot tubs and VIP plots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mullacott Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mullacott Park Hotel Ilfracombe
Mullacott Park Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing