We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mullacott Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We stayed here for a week's summer holiday. The lodge was clean when we arrived apart from some of the bedding which was damp and dirty.
The kitchen was equipped with a broken and mouldy dishwasher, barely adequate numbers of plates/cups etc, and a floor which was so slippery we had several falls/accidents. The television was un-watchable as the reception was so poor (we thought there would be freeview, but no - maybe this was our mistake).
For the last 2 days of our stay we had no hot water. This meant we had no shower/bath and had to boil kettles etc for water to wash dishes.
The staff were pleasant and tried to help but clearly had no authority to remedy problems. The out of hours telephone line for problems/emergencies was left unanswered. We have been unable to contact the owner since as he/she doesn't reply to emails.
This lodge was truly dreadful, as was the customer service, and we would urge anyone thinking of going here to think again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StockportKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2009

Thank you again for a great stay at Mullacott Park. We've been coming here for three years and tis year we were in one of the log cabins. Very clean and luxurious and extreemely comfortable,which was exactly what we needed as it rained the whole time we were there! So lovely to have heating on when it got a bit chilly and to dry off rained on clothes! The staff were incredibly helpful,friendly and cheerful. We had originall booked a caravan, but had to go for a cabin due to our daughter join us. The staff were great at organising an upgrade for us at the last minute to a cabin and allowed us to have our dog with us too despite it being one that didnt usually allow dogs. When our VW camper van broke down, they helped us locate a VW specialist in the near by village and got us the number as well as letting us use the phone in reception. The cafe on site is fabulous,the shop is reasonably well stocked with basics. It's close to loads of attraction and the pub,which is two minute walk,serves excellent food. It's well situated for Woolacombe,Ilfracoombe and there are loads of attractions near by. We had a great time there and would reccomend it to anyone wanting a simple break away. The only downside (apart from the cost) was seeing our two 15 year old boys faces when they found that our cabin didnt have a hot tub! Oh well, they soon got over that!!! Thank you Mullacott for yet another pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zannad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

I booked this holiday with my boyfriend as a first holiday together. We booked through Hoseasons and got a good deal. We booked a Fri-Mon short break and couldn't wait. We thought we booked a Mullacott caravan which looked lovely on the website and it was only going to be a base for us.

When we arrived we got given our keys and directions and were a bit baffled...we were given the keys to a lodge!! We wondered whether we should go back to reception and see if a mistake had been made, but then we realised as it was so quiet (only saw 4 people walk past the whole time we were there!) we must've been upgraded.

It was a gorgeous lodge, 3 bedrooms (I made use of one as a dressing room!), and 2 bathrooms - the master double had an en-suite. The decor was beautiful, and of a very high standard.

There were a few empty plots infront, which was fine, it meant we had no one in front of us. I can see there must've been some work going on at some point, but we didn't see any going on, but then we were there over the weekend.

There was a pub next to the site, but to be honest we thought the lodge was so lovely we actually self catered the whole week and made the most of it!

I want to say thank you to Mullacott for making the first break away with my partner a memorable one.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lou_angel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

just returned from a week at mullacott park .We stayed in a 3 bed lodge with hot tub which was lovely, modern and clean( i'm very fussy when it comes to accomodation!)
Although the park still has some empty plots it did not alter the fact that we had a lovely quiet relaxing week.The hot tub was divine ( ready to use on arrival) The reception staff were extremely welcoming and friendly- we didn't need them for anything throughout our stay after check in but i got the impression that they would be helpfull had we needed them.
The surrounding area of north devon is one of my favourite places in the country.The scenery is stunning. We have holidayed in the area many times and never tire of it. Favourites include - Woolacombe , Lynmouth ( beautiful scenery) Morthoe and Croyde.
Barnstaple is good for shopping and for children the Milky way theme park and combe martin dinosaur park are recommended.
The only thing that wasn't so good was the weather - but it didn't spoil a wonderful relaxing week in a stunning part of the country. We want to go back tomorrow!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katyLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Stayed at Mullacott Park last November just for a 3 night break to relax and thats exactly what we got. We booked a caravan and got upgraded to a lodge which was amazing!
The lodge had 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The lounge area was fantastic and so was the kitchen and dining room. It was very modern, clean and spacious. You also get an allocated parking space next to your lodge which is very convenient.
It was a complete home away from home and had everything you could need. The location was great for Woolacombe and Illfracombe but in a quiet location itself.
Enjoyed a meal at the pub onsite and found staff very welcoming and friendly.
Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hisaronu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We stayed at Mullacott Park in February 2008. We were having a few stresses and was looking around for somewhere to stay with hot tub etc. We came across the Hoeseasons website which offer lodges all over the country most with private hot tubs.

We searched the website trying to find a really cheap break just for a few days and we found this park, and since we both love North Devon we decided to go for it. We were a bit wary as we had never used Hoeseasons before but we were really happy with the service.

On arrival at 4pm check in time we entered a park which had a pub at the entrance and a reception block, cafe and little shop. All we could see were static caravans at first no lodges in site.

We went into reception and were greeted by a pleasant lady who showed us which way to go to our lodge and gave us the keys. We were also told that the hot tub had recently been filled and would take 12-14 hours to heat up.. we were quite disappointed by this as we only had 2 full days there and 3 nights we wanted to enjoy the hot tub.

When we drove down to our lodge it was facing onto a row of pretty shabby looking old static caravans, and when booking we were told it had a sea view. Well if you stood on the verandah and squinted you could almost see it over some bushes. Also the park is on quite a main road so there is a fair bit of traffic noise in the distance so not the quietest of places.

We drove onto the "driveway" to the lodge, which was a few slabs placed onto a very waterlogged muddy grass area in front of the lodge.

Upon entering the lodge you enter a small hallway and to the left is the large open plan kitchen,diner and living room. The living room area had a large french doors opening onto the front of the verandah, 2 big brown leather sofas, tv which was barely watchable, fireplace and coffee table. Because our lodge was privately owned there was a few personal touches one of these being a dvd player and ps2 with games which kept us a bit occupied.
The dinging room has a big dining table with leather chairs, the kitchen was very well stocked with everything we needed to cook and it was very clean and tidy including dishwasher.

We had 3 bedrooms, the main bedroom had double bed, with all beds made up with clean bed linen and a small en suite shower room.
The other two bedrooms were also clean with wardrobes, one had another double bed and the other had 2 singles.

There was a main family bathrooms which had a big bath with shower over. This was also very clean.

The hot tub was on the verandah, it took quite a while to heat up so we didn't make the most of it until Saturday. It was a small hot tub with a lot of different settings and colour changing lights, but the heat didnt keep very well and within 30 mins it was quite cool, and since it was a freezing cold February it wasn't good.

On the last night we were there it was when the country had the terrible weather and storms, the lodge was definitely moving and we were quite worried but the next day upon leaving the receptionist didnt even ask us if we had a good night!

One night when we were in our hot tub, one of the residents of the static caravan across the way was waving a saw around in the dark and looked very scary so that didn't impress us much either.

The pub on site was much needing improvements as it looks very old and shabby but the food was really delicious we only tried it one night though.

All in all its hard to recommend this place really... its obviously in state of improvements and building because the lodges were very new. The customer service was pretty poor. But the lodge itself inside was beautiful and very relaxing.
It was in a nice area which was close to quite a lot of things to do in Devon. I hope it has improved a little since we were there, in a few years we may try again but for now i will stick to other places in Devon and Cornwall that we have found and loved.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstyb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

Booked Mullacott 3+ for Feb half term '09 for myself, hubby and our 2 teenagers. Decided to check out reviews on this site, and nearly decided not to go! Luckily we did, and were pleasantly surprised. We've stayed in quite a few lodges over the last 5 years, and this one was one of the nicest, and definitely the cleanest yet.
The park itself is clean and attractive on the whole, and we found the staff pleasant and helpful.
The hot tub was a real bonus for the kids, and even though it was not up to temperature when we arrived, as we were told that it had been cleaned and re-filled, (which was nice to know!), it was fine by late evening.
The only downside to the park, and this is a personal opinion, is that I felt there were too many lodges, and that the peace and quiet we experienced in Feb would not be there in the height of summer. There are also a number of empty plots, and I think that Hoseasons through whom we booked should make it clear that this park is going through some redevelopment, though I must say there was no work being carried out while we were there, and we had a really nice time.

Val Beauchamp, West Wales

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
3.4 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
903 reviews
1 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#16 of 20 in Ilfracombe
348 reviews
0.7 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
13 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mullacott Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mullacott Park

Address: Mullacott Cross, Ilfracombe EX34 8NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £52 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mullacott Park 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Locations, close to all amenities, such as Woolacombe Beach, Ilfracombe & Exmoor. Our Lodges offer Luxury to everyone, with a selection of meadow views, hot tubs and VIP plots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mullacott Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mullacott Park Hotel Ilfracombe
Mullacott Park Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing