We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming to a small family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Harbour Lights B&B
Ranked #17 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming to a small family”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night with our two daughters. The top floor room offered us perfect family accommodation albeit with 54 steps. Ruth and Steve were efficient and welcoming. The Harbour lights is brilliantly located near the harbour and nit far from anywhere else.
The room was homely and clean,ample bedding and towels
Breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble
We ate in the restaurant and they did a great job of accommodating my girls who wanted food off the main menu.
We will visit again

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank prestoneEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    35
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
70
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a lovely stay at The Harbour Lights. Ruth, Steve and Nick looked after us so well. The food was brilliant. We stayed on the first floor with a balcony, even though we were on the front of the hotel it wasn't noisy

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The owners were very helpful and friendly, they let us book in early as we had driven 250 miles to attend a wedding at Tunnels Beaches. We stayed on the first floor in room 1. The room was clean, but I was concerned about the flooring in parts where holes in the floorboards were covered by carpet, which needs to be addressed by the owners. On a personal note I would have preferred more than one thin pillow. The view from the window was a row of terraced houses and a lot of rubbish in the alleyway which is not the owners fault.
Breakfast was nice, we didn't try the restaurant as we left quite early. Overall The Harbour Lights is a clean place to stay but needs a bit of TLC......

Room Tip: Probably a better view the higher up you are
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyboy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We spent a weekend break here with friends and had an enjoyable stay.The owners were very welcoming and the rooms were clean, comfortable and well equipped. The breakfasts were very well cooked as was the evening meal that we had. I would have no hesitation in recommending this guesthouse.

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs and if you have a problem with stairs I would ask for a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights with our best friends Terry & Sue who were celebrating 44 years married!! Lovely rooms, delicious breakfasts and a very warm welcome from Ruth, Steve and Nick. Would certainly recommend to all our friends and family

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlboroughShooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Well what can I say, stayed here for 3 nights, lovely rooms, very tasty breakfast and the owners Ruth, Steve and Nick some of the nicest people we have met. Would recommend to anyone who wanted to stay in llfracombe as made the holiday so much better. Thank you again for a really lovely stay

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duquemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here for a week in October and were greatly impressed with the hospitality, the superb cuisine and the hosts went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Highly recommend and would happily return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noadtrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.0 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Lights B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Lights B&B

Property: The Harbour Lights B&B
Address: 26 Broad Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9BL, England (Formerly The Harbour Lights Coastal Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Harbour Lights B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Lights is a family run B&B situated in the heart of Ilfracombe's Heritage Harbour on the spectacular North Devon Coast. Built in 1895 as a small Victorian hotel The Harbour Lights has nine en-suite letting rooms. The Harbour Lights is owned and operated by the resident proprietors so you are assured of a warm welcome and personal service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Harbour Lights B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Lights B&B Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing