We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlton Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Osborne Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Palm Court Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Devon Bay Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Imperial Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Westaway(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Beechwood Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Darnley Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
281
153
36
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
153
36
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe newly refurbished roomsnew ownersclay shootingevery member of staffwould highly recommend this hotelvery nice stayfriendly hoteltunnels beachesa stones throwpiping hotattending a weddingfull english breakfastcomfortable bedcoach partyreception areaoff street parkingfirst floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 505 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just rocked up for an overnight stay . We had not booked .So very friendly ,could not do enough to help us .Breakfast excellent. Would recommend if staying in Ilfracombe ,this is the place to stay
Stuart & Lesley

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel so positively Stuart & Lesley. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Booked this hotel for a week's stay in June 2014. The hotel is situated to enable good access to the main body of Illfracombe, and near to a bus stop to use the local transport.
Hotel very clean, the staff were very helpful especially Claire who was a "mine of information on the local area". All the staff were helpful and nothing was too much problem.
Rooms were exceptionally well kept and clean and comfortable. A special request for a breakfast item was supplied, there was plenty of choice, and breakfast was presented well and was great.
Plenty of parking space at the front of the hotel, bar facilities if required and also food in the evening if required. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who was visiting Ilframcombe.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 695helenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Thank you for the 'Lovely' review. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night, when shooting with a group of friends around the local area.
The staff were all polite friendly and helpful, there is a gun room for safe storage of your shotgun, which is secure and alarmed and you have your own cabinet within.
The single room that I stayed in was very small but was clean and had more in than you would expect from a two star rated hotel, I did not eat breakfast as I had to leave at 5.30 am but there is a night porter who was more than happy to provide coffee and toast before my departure.
Overall the hotel exceeded my expectations and I would use it again for a clean cheap bed for the night.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel Mark. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

After arriving in Ilfracombe late with nothing booked, we tried several hotels, only to find all were fully booked. Finally and thankfully we found the Carlton Hotel. Very clean, great service, good breakfast, good rooms, plenty of parking and a great location.

Thanks also to Claire who greeted us with a warm welcome and was always on hand if ever anything was needed.

Apparently the reason a lot of hotels are full is because they accept Coach Parties.The Carlton doesn't and that's a good thing as it meant we had a great weekend and didn't have to spend time in one of 'God's Waiting Rooms' across the road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaughan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel Vaughn. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A group of us stayed at the Carlton and received a warm and friendly welcome from the manager. I shared a twin room which was on the top floor and was clean and well presented. The room was compact but comfortable although the toilet and shower room was small and the hand basin in the bedroom. Beds were very comfortable. Most of us had pre-booked an evening meal and we were all served quickly with well prepared and cooked food and extra vegetables and chips offered. Meals were all paid for individually but this presented no problem and we were all dealt with in a short space of time. Breakfast gave a good choice and was cooked to order. The lift is worth using for the experience! It is fitted with a sensor and should you move forward and break the beam the lift stops mid floor. All the staff we saw were friendly and helpful. I would have no qualms about staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel Malcolm. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews