We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hilton of ilfracombe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Do not be fooled by the star rating for this hotel it is a travesty it should be 4 stars at least. I stayed here for a long time just over three weeks with a short break in between,I was here on business and coming back from work every day to this hotel was like coming home,and that is not an accolade I use lightly.The staff are quite simply brilliant professional courteous and very friendly their local knowledge is unbiased and very professional places to eat visit.And go down to what time the parking meters stop charging.The hotel is spotless.The food excellent and varied nearly every taste and quirk catered for.The beds exceptionally comfortable.The Monet prints and scientific plant paintings and Beatrice potter prints placed around the hotel give you a pleasant surprise every time you find a different one.I can not praise this hotel highly enough it is quite simply excellent.And the wifi worked everywhere I tried it.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Thank you for such a sterling review Dominic. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

I took advantage of the midweek special offer, staying for 3 nights, and was pleased with the result. Many others have said that the décor deeds updating (the feel is 1970s) but the rooms are very clean and the staff friendly. One very nice touch was when some guests arrived for breakfast one morning (one of whom had Down's syndrome), a mug was produced from the kitchen to replace the cup & saucer. How many other hotels would have done that? There are plenty of local bars and restaurants if you don't wish to drink or dine in the hotel. A great place to stay for a short break.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cavaliergb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Thank you for taking time to review so highly. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A group of us spent a wonderful weekend visiting the seals of Lundy Island and staying at the Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel. When I arrived I had a very warm welcome from Claire the owner who was very knowledgeable of the area giving some invaluable advice of where to dine and what to see during our visit.

I had a room on the second floor at the front of the hotel, near the lift but heard no loud noises and had a great nights sleep. The on-suite was interesting but functional. It was like an airline bathroom with the addition of a shower. You could not really get more than one person in but how many people would you want in the bathroom at a time. The shower was effective at getting me clean and ready for the day.

In the mornings we met in the restaurant for breakfast. As I was scuba diving I had only a light breakfast as I do not like to eat too much before diving. What I had was scrambled egg and bacon. For those who do not know I have a wheat allergy and so avoid wheat. I had brought some wheat free bread with me as this is not always available in hotels so it is easier to travel with my own. Although I am getting better I also do not like to admit to people I have this allergy so just avoid items that could possibly have wheat in them. For the others there were cereals available, tea or coffee and juices, full cooked breakfast and toast. A good start to the day.

There is wifi on the premises but the signal is strongest in the reception bar area and then depending on how close your room was to the reception in the room.

A great bed and breakfast establishment with a lot of great restaurants around it and a short walk from the dock where the boats go to Lundy Island.

Thank you to all the staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Saaby665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel and location so well. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I recently had a long weekend stay in Ilfracombe and stayed at the Carlton hotel. You can't fault the staff, they were so friendly and helpful, nothing was any bother for them. I went scuba diving while I was away and Claire the owner offered to put my diving gear in their dry room to dry until I went on the Sunday. This was such a help, as it would have been sitting in my car for a couple of days before leaving!!

If I ever travel to Ilfracombe again, I would certainly stay here again, free parking, clean comfortable rooms and friendly staff.... what more do you want!!

Room Tip: Obviously Ilfracombe is near the sea, and the sea has seagulls!! If its hot and you need the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Thank you for taking time to review Joanne, we look forward to welcoming you back. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just rocked up for an overnight stay . We had not booked .So very friendly ,could not do enough to help us .Breakfast excellent. Would recommend if staying in Ilfracombe ,this is the place to stay
Stuart & Lesley

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel so positively Stuart & Lesley. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Booked this hotel for a week's stay in June 2014. The hotel is situated to enable good access to the main body of Illfracombe, and near to a bus stop to use the local transport.
Hotel very clean, the staff were very helpful especially Claire who was a "mine of information on the local area". All the staff were helpful and nothing was too much problem.
Rooms were exceptionally well kept and clean and comfortable. A special request for a breakfast item was supplied, there was plenty of choice, and breakfast was presented well and was great.
Plenty of parking space at the front of the hotel, bar facilities if required and also food in the evening if required. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who was visiting Ilframcombe.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 695helenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Thank you for the 'Lovely' review. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night, when shooting with a group of friends around the local area.
The staff were all polite friendly and helpful, there is a gun room for safe storage of your shotgun, which is secure and alarmed and you have your own cabinet within.
The single room that I stayed in was very small but was clean and had more in than you would expect from a two star rated hotel, I did not eat breakfast as I had to leave at 5.30 am but there is a night porter who was more than happy to provide coffee and toast before my departure.
Overall the hotel exceeded my expectations and I would use it again for a clean cheap bed for the night.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel Mark. On behalf of the previous Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.0 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
446 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
342 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
620 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel

Address: Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £80 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned and operated, conveniently located in the maritime area, close to the seafront, tunnels and harbour. Hotel offers all day dining and is fully licenced. All rooms are en suite, centrally heated and well appointed with flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, hospitality tray and WiFi throughout. A friendly team will look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing