We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise in Ilfracombe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A surprise in Ilfracombe”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Don't be put off by the 2 star rating, this hotel is a little gem. Good value for money, very clean, food nice and the staff were always friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We had room 103 which had a huge bed and TV. The bed was made every day, we had tea making facilities and full sized bath/shower. Special thanks to Clare for assisting with my dietary requirements. We spent four days at the Carlton, we were shooting at the two local grounds and it was a great benefit to be able to use the secure hotel gun room with individual cabinets and additional security. The hotel was a short walk into the town and harbour, and easy access to a good selection of restaurants. Happy to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 103, huge bed and massive TV, full size bath/shower. Very quiet apart from the seagulls!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieGun2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for the review Annie. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    127
    31
    18
    5
See reviews for
69
113
43
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding,
Room. Bed was very nice one of the best yet!!

However room was very small for two people,shower was grubby

Full length mirror was inside wardrobe,but couldn't open fully to use as bed was in front.

Food was ok if you like a microwave breakfast.

And it cost me £160 for two nights very very expensive. Would not go back

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for taking time to review Lee. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Staying in this hotel for 4 nights. Very friendly and amenable staff. nothing too much bother.
Room is clean and tidy with usual facilities ,single room even has a bath. Cleaned daily.
Excellent choice of Breakfasts and Evening Meals freshly made . Anything that's not on the menu ,just ask to see if available.
Ideally suited for sightseeing around Ilfracombe and surrounding areas.
Suitably stocked bar and wine list.
Proprietor Claire extremely helpful.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for the great review Alwyn. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Do not be fooled by the star rating for this hotel it is a travesty it should be 4 stars at least. I stayed here for a long time just over three weeks with a short break in between,I was here on business and coming back from work every day to this hotel was like coming home,and that is not an accolade I use lightly.The staff are quite simply brilliant professional courteous and very friendly their local knowledge is unbiased and very professional places to eat visit.And go down to what time the parking meters stop charging.The hotel is spotless.The food excellent and varied nearly every taste and quirk catered for.The beds exceptionally comfortable.The Monet prints and scientific plant paintings and Beatrice potter prints placed around the hotel give you a pleasant surprise every time you find a different one.I can not praise this hotel highly enough it is quite simply excellent.And the wifi worked everywhere I tried it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for such a sterling review Dominic. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I took advantage of the midweek special offer, staying for 3 nights, and was pleased with the result. Many others have said that the décor deeds updating (the feel is 1970s) but the rooms are very clean and the staff friendly. One very nice touch was when some guests arrived for breakfast one morning (one of whom had Down's syndrome), a mug was produced from the kitchen to replace the cup & saucer. How many other hotels would have done that? There are plenty of local bars and restaurants if you don't wish to drink or dine in the hotel. A great place to stay for a short break.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cavaliergb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for taking time to review so highly. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A group of us spent a wonderful weekend visiting the seals of Lundy Island and staying at the Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel. When I arrived I had a very warm welcome from Claire the owner who was very knowledgeable of the area giving some invaluable advice of where to dine and what to see during our visit.

I had a room on the second floor at the front of the hotel, near the lift but heard no loud noises and had a great nights sleep. The on-suite was interesting but functional. It was like an airline bathroom with the addition of a shower. You could not really get more than one person in but how many people would you want in the bathroom at a time. The shower was effective at getting me clean and ready for the day.

In the mornings we met in the restaurant for breakfast. As I was scuba diving I had only a light breakfast as I do not like to eat too much before diving. What I had was scrambled egg and bacon. For those who do not know I have a wheat allergy and so avoid wheat. I had brought some wheat free bread with me as this is not always available in hotels so it is easier to travel with my own. Although I am getting better I also do not like to admit to people I have this allergy so just avoid items that could possibly have wheat in them. For the others there were cereals available, tea or coffee and juices, full cooked breakfast and toast. A good start to the day.

There is wifi on the premises but the signal is strongest in the reception bar area and then depending on how close your room was to the reception in the room.

A great bed and breakfast establishment with a lot of great restaurants around it and a short walk from the dock where the boats go to Lundy Island.

Thank you to all the staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saaby665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel and location so well. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I recently had a long weekend stay in Ilfracombe and stayed at the Carlton hotel. You can't fault the staff, they were so friendly and helpful, nothing was any bother for them. I went scuba diving while I was away and Claire the owner offered to put my diving gear in their dry room to dry until I went on the Sunday. This was such a help, as it would have been sitting in my car for a couple of days before leaving!!

If I ever travel to Ilfracombe again, I would certainly stay here again, free parking, clean comfortable rooms and friendly staff.... what more do you want!!

Room Tip: Obviously Ilfracombe is near the sea, and the sea has seagulls!! If its hot and you need the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for taking time to review Joanne, we look forward to welcoming you back. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
353 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
260 reviews
1.0 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel

Property: Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Address: Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned and operated, conveniently located in the maritime area, close to the seafront, tunnels and harbour. Hotel offers all day dining and is fully licenced. All rooms are en suite, centrally heated and well appointed with flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, hospitality tray and WiFi throughout. A friendly team will look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing