We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would certainly recomend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Would certainly recomend”
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We found the Carlton by chance after moving from a guest house we were not happy with, and it saved our long weekend after a disasterous start. We turned up at reception and the owner was on duty, she showed us around 3 rooms and allowed us to take our pick. The rooms were exceptionally clean, All the staff were very attentive, and the food good old fashioned cooking, very tasty and plenty of it.

Admittedly the decor in the reception and lounge areas was not something I would have picked but it was clean and added to the charm of the place.

The hotel is ideally situated for both town centre and sea front and only 10 minutes walk to the harbour. There was plenty of parking in the hotel car park

If ever we were to visit Ilfracombe again this hotel would be our first choice.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis-Eastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for the recommendation Dennis. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    140
    35
    22
    6
See reviews for
80
137
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swindon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Having booked our holiday with the Holiday Coach Co I thought I would check online to see what previous visitors thought about the Carlton Hotel reading some of the derogatory remarks I was very apprehensive about my visit however I found a very different picture during the time I was there,The bedroom & the bed linen were first class as was the rest of the hotel the meals were well presented and you had a choice .I think some remarks made were not justified I can only think they in fact booked into a different hotel ,All the guests in our party were very praiseworthy and thanks to the Carlton had a very happy holiday.
Alan Cox

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butcherx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for the sterling review Alan. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We have just returned from a brief stay at this traditionally decorated hotel and cannot praise the kindness and hospitality of the staff enough. Our family room with en suite bathroom was very comfortable and exceptionally clean. What really impressed us was the attitude of the staff to our young son. When he was upset after breaking his toy they took the trouble of finding glue and tape and fixing it for him (twice). Breakfast was hearty and set us up for our long journey home.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liitleuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for the review. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2009

Hotel is "cozy"/kitsch" and decor needss a little re-thinking for the modern-day holiday maker.

Slept very well - mattress was comfortable and felt very warm and cozy in room.

Our little boy has a "blankey" which he has had since birth - he CANNOT go to sleep without it. On returning home we discovered that he had left it at the Carlton. We frantically phoned the Carlton, the receptionist was very empathetic and not in the least dismissive - Within two days the Carlton had gone to the trouble of finding the "very tatty and small piece of cloth", packaged it up and sent it back to our little boy.

The attention paid to our "plight" meant a lot - with Staff like this The Carlton could be a really lovely, child-friendly hotel. It just needs the Management to step back and look at the whole picture. Just a few yards away from this hotel is a fantastic bar, attached to the underground caves. The bar has gone out of it's way to appeal to families and The Carlton could look towards this approach/decor and be a real hit in Ilfracombe.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for the review Bob. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

This hotel lacks TLC. The rooms are dark and unwelcoming. Some furniture is dark and verging on tatty. The panel on the shower tray in our bedroom was worn, we had to prise it back into position - needed replacing. The noise from the expelair was horrendos - very unsettling when using the dark shower room/toilet especially late in the evening. The wash basin is in the room, not in the shower room so it means an awkward meander to wash one's hands. No soap was provided at the washbasin, so that was a feat in itself, travelling with dispensed liquid soap in one's hand across the bedroom. A small tablet of soap would cost very little and would show some thought. The TV was attached to the wall, at 'break neck height' with no remote control. The carpet could have done with cleaning if not replaced. Breakfast time was regimented , uninspiring and far from relaxed. The £80.00 we paid for bed and breakfast was very poor value for money.
Positive: the hotel affords easy access to the harbour and Tunnels Beach. Good to have parking facility. The reception staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Unwelcoming, dated
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaymaker020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

Good location that enables you to walk into the town centre and the harbour - where many restaurants are. Car parking available out in front of hotel. The hotel itself is a bit dated but still clean and tidy. Our room was a double with an ensuite bathroom. We were initially given a bathroom with no shower (only a bath) but was able to swap this easily. Room was clean and adequate for our one night stay.

  • Liked — Proximity to town centre
  • Disliked — Hand basin in the room (not in the bathroom)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
372 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
684 reviews
2.8 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel

Property: Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Address: Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned and operated, conveniently located in the maritime area, close to the seafront, tunnels and harbour. Hotel offers all day dining and is fully licenced. All rooms are en suite, centrally heated and well appointed with flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, hospitality tray and WiFi throughout. A friendly team will look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing