We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coastal Fringes

Coastal Fringes
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coastal Fringes
Ranked #29 of 55 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We spent the Easter weekend at Ilfracombe and stayed in this delightful bed and breakfast. The breakfast room has lots of lovely Art Deco collectibles in pride of place. Spotlessly clean, Marianna, the owner, spends a lot of time keeping the place immaculate. We were in the Joan Fontaine room which was the biggest, and very comfortable. There were even old videos of this great Hollywood star if you wanted to go back down memory lane (I have to confess I watched one "The Bigamist" and enjoyed every minute of it! ) Being new to the area, the owners were very helpful and knowledgeable of places to visit, with special walks that had been prepared by Marianna's husband David. The B&B is within walking distance to the town where we discovered Fore Street, which has some lovely restaurants and pubs. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room with the most delicious home made biscuits to die for! We really enjoyed our weekend away in Ilfracombe and staying at Coastal Fringes was just the icing on the cake. Thank you to Marianna and David. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Joan Fontaine room is lovely and big - however, if you are 6' plus it might not suit as it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
71
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The room was immaculately clean and comfortable, big telly, great shower and nice bed. However, it was so regimented that breakfast was between 0800 and 0830 exactly (on a holiday?????) with no flexibility. Breakfast was ok but smiley potatoe faces isn't so cool. Continental breakfast has ham, cheese and yoghurt, not just two croissants!!!! The owners were very nice but just a little overpowering with niceness. All in all, nice place but not for the under 50s.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastalFringes, Owner at Coastal Fringes, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear guest, Thank you for staying at Coastal Fringes and for your reveiw. We cannot however, agree with some of the opinions stated. Firstly, if you have issues with the accomodation or service at a B & B it is normally courtesy to in the first instance, approach the owners and to give them a chance to deal with your concerns. You did not mention anything to either my wife or myself and when asked if you had enjoyed your stay you said that you had. Calling us a 'Timewarp' is totally unfair. In this industry. that normally implies an 'Abigail's Party' decor of swirly multi coloured carpets and garish big patterned wallpaper and clapped out fittings and furniture, none of which is evident at Coastal Fringes. . If you wanted a contemporary room, why did you book the only room that is not done in a contemporally style? When you booked all the other rooms were still available, but you asked particually for the Ann Harding Room. Photos of our rooms are on our website. On our website, is our breakfast menu othering a wide choice of main courses and it states croissants and fruit. You were offered everything on that menu. If you wanted cheeses or ham you could have asked for it, or for anything else for that matter, as we try to oblige. As for our fab, groovy, smiley potato faces, they only appear occasionaly as part of the English breakfast, They obviously did not cause you amusement You were also making a big deal about breakfast times. Why did you not ask for a later breakfast? and why did you choose to order breakfast at 8.15 when you could have had it at 8.30? or later if you had asked We are flexible and often make breakfasts early for people going to Lundy island or going fishing. Your comment about us being not suitable for anyone under 50 is very unfair and an insult to all the many people under 50 who enjoy their holiday with us and like what we provide. Coastal Fringes is not a temple of Minimalism but it is not full of tat or kitch wither. Our guests, including our younger guests have liked the fact that Coastal Fringes is not like everywhere else and brings something different to the table. Things are not regimented here, people have access to their rooms at all time, we are flexible and caring. All you need to do is ask! We are a small quality seaside B & B. and have no pretentions ro be anything that we are not. Sorry that we have had to write this but we believe in fair play. David & Marianna Holdsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Having experienced a number of guest houses in Ilfracombe, we would, without hesitation, single out Coastal Fringes as the very best. It's also the best value (besides some highly competitive room rates you can also expect "the works" come breakfast time), the most stylish (three highly individually movie themed rooms), the best appointed (besides tea and coffee, you'll also find delicious homemade cookies, toiletries, flatscreen TV, a great selection of magazines and DVDs and a plethora of local information in your suite/room), the roomiest (the Joan Fontaine suite is palatial; the stunning Ann Harding room a little smaller but bigger and eminently preferable to standard hotel fare) and the best located (minutes from the town centre and little further to the harbour.) Having arrived late and frazzled from a trip to Lundy, we could not have received a warmer welcome from Marianna and David and were instantly made to feel at home. Finding decent seaside accommodation is never easy and Ilfracombe is as littered with poor digs as any other resort town, which is why Coastal Fringes is such a wonderful, unique and rare find. Thank you so much Marianna and David for sharing it with us. We'll certainly be back! David, Paul and Wendy, London.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We decided to extend our break and travel to Ilfracombe for a couple of days, hoping to find appropriate accommodation on arrival. We viewed two guest houses which were not at all suitable. We spotted Coastal Fringes on Trip Advisor. Believe me the positive feedback given is all true! We gave Marianna a call. Although she could only accomodate us for one night we were so impressed we decided to stay for the night and we were not disappointed.
Our suite was enormous, having a comfortable sitting room at the front and a lovely bedroom at the back, overlooking the garden.
There was a huge shower and a bath with a selection of toiletries. Everywhere was spotless. The bedlinen and towels immaculate. I am sure quite a few proprietors would have been tempted to divide the room into two separate lettings. Marianna and David obviously have their guests comfort at heart and obviously enjoy providing a high standard of service. It was a nice touch to have a jug of fresh milk brought to our room on arrival. The biscuits were lovely and I was very impressed with such a large choice of tea specialities
Yes, we were asked to order our breakfast the day before but that wasn't a problem. There was so much choice it would not be at all practical to leave the choice too late as it would cause unneccessary wastage of really good quality food. The advantage of ordering enabled Marianna and David to have the food cooked in a timely manner, and it was piping hot when brought to the table, something our previous hotel with all its staff had not managed!
This is a small guest house with many amenities. If you appreciate a high standard of service at a very reasonable rate, you will not be disappointed. When planning another visit to Ilfracombe I shall book well in advance.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Joan Fontaine Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garstang
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

My wife and I have stayed with Marianna and David on many occasions in a succession of their Guest Houses since 1988 and it so happened we were their first guests when they opened "Coastal Fringes". We last stayed with them there in October 2010. It has always been a delightful experience to be looked after with such consideration and attention, and consequently we were very surprised to read the "downside" section of the recent QUIRKY review, in particular the comment about overfamiliarity. In all our 22 years' experience of staying with Marianna and David we have never ever found this to be the case. Friendly, warm and welcoming - yes. Overfamiliarity - never. On several occasions over the years we have brought friends on holiday with us, and without exception they have all commented how much they liked and enjoyed being looked after by them.
We would thoroughly recommend you try the Coastal Fringes Experience for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exmoorphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Now its our sixth visit in the past two years to this outstanding guest house!
On arriving there is ample car parking spaces for all the quests adjacent to the hotel and a very well maintained front garden and with a wide variety of plants, the whole look of the building and grounds looks so inviting and welcoming! Greeted by the nicest landlady you ever meet you are made to fell so at home and nothing is too much trouble for these owners, they have a great knowledge of the North Devon area and provide a superb list of local information,bus routes ,all the best walks with maps, and also where to eat in the area and much more,these are available in every room. The whole property is immaculate and very tastefully decorated to a very high standard throughout with easy access to all the rooms.There are three guest rooms all very spacious any very well presented with top quality furnishings and fittings." And the home made biscuits"
The breakfast menu is outstanding with such a wide choice available you pre order the evening before which makes sure everything awaits you in the morning.Served at a reasonable time so you can make the most of you day "and there excellent breakfasts will set you up for the day too!"
Just a few minutes walk to the Tunnels beaches and then along to the historic harbour,you can leave your car and explore this lovely area and do a bit of shopping if you wish in the town.There is also a bus stop close to the hotel so if you wish to travel a little further afield without the car this is made very easy with a regular and reliable service.
Overall we have never found anywhere that is so warm and welcoming, just look at all the 5 star reviews they have received, all these quests cant be wrong, try if for yourself you will not be disappointed !!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MREDSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Coastal Fringes is about a 15 minute walk from Tunnels Beaches and 25 minutes from the harbour. It doesn't look that great from the outside but we were made to feel incredibly welcome. Our room appeared clean and had undergone some modernisation in terms of decor (with the exception of the shower and seperate toilet), but if you are after sea views or rolling hills then this isn't the place for you. Our room on the top floor was spacious enough and the homemade biscuits was a nice touch. On walking up to our room (I would suggest anyone who struggles with stairs should make this clear on booking as it is an old house with a quite narrow and steep staircase; our room was on the end of three sets of stairs); other room doors were open for cleaning and these all appeared to have been decorated quite nicely also; although the communal areas appear quite 'chintzy'.

On the downside, although we were given a warm welcome, we found the introductions a little long-winded and not to our liking. We had ordered our breakfast (in great detail) for the following morning within 5 minutes of arriving (circa 4pm). This we found to be incredibly odd; I understand that for a small establishment that a little more preparation is needed but I think they could manage this better by having a sheet in the room which guests could easily fill in by a certain time. We also found the 'small talk' a little too much, with great detail being offered about Ilfracombe's former residents and buildings. The whole process must have taken about 30 minutes which was a little unexpected.

We can't comment on the quality of the breakfast as it was served between 8 and 8.30am which we were never going to be up for on a Saturday or Sunday.

Overall, the room was fine and the reception we received was incredibly warm; we just found it a little different to what we have experienced before; I guess this was aimed at being a more personal touch but we found it to be a little overfamiliar

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thoughtfulphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Coastal Fringes, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear Customer, We are sorry that you did not choose to mention it when you were staying with us if you had anything you where not happy with. We could have hopefully have rectified any problems you have experienced with our accommodation. or refunded your money as our customers are important to us and we both care deeply for their well being as our other clients appreciate. I appreciate Coastal Fringes is not for everybody as some people might prefer the brisk and impersonal form of establishment. We have never ever been over familiar with any guest in 25 years of running b and bs. We never ask personal details or address people by christian names unless told to do so. Please tell us how we were over familiar to you.? As for the outside of the property. We know that it is not baronial but it has been kept in good repair and was repainted in the last couple of years. You did not mention our award winning colourful garden and displays and compares well with other similar b and b's in the West Country. The Gene Tierney Room was completely gutted and totally refurbished less than 12 months ago. The en-suite shower room is completely new and the toilet has been completely redecorated and retiled. The suite is not the boring and uniformally white and is a soft shade of jade but the tiles are white and anyway it is nice to be different. We have never claimed to offer rolling hills or seascape vistas from any of our rooms. On booking you did not say that stairs were a problem if you had, we would have offered you a first floor room. As for 'chintzy' What do you mean by this? Our public areas are full of film memorabilia or antique pictures and also some Coalport figurines all of good quality and no fussy drapes or pot boiler pictures to be seen. All coridoors and stairs are well lit and are the standard width for a domestic house. The introduction othered by my wife was a short introduction to Ifracombe lasting at the most five minutes and is appreciated by most of our guests who have not visited ilfacombe before. If it bored you we are very sorry. As for breakfast we cook everything fresh and offer a very good choice of all the courses, to do this we have to ask guests to preorder. Writing down on check lists is used by other establishments here. We prefer the personal touch. On the first day the gentleman was having breakfast with the groom and the lady wanted to lie in. They said that they did not want breakfast on that day. My wife asked them if they were sure and they said that they did not want any breakfast. On the day of departure they were offered breakfast before they left even though it was after 10 a.m. No one has ever left Coastal fringes without breakfast before. Indeed we have often made breakfast at 6.00 am. for people going to Lundy Island or fishing. I think we offer good value and are often praised for our friendliness and the cleanliness of our accomodation. We were very down when we read your comments. But all three lots of people who came today and many other guests said What a lovely room! . In summary we are sorry that we cannot please everybody but we never claim to be a boutique hotel our anything of the sort. We are just a quality little seaside b and b run by a couple who care deeply for their guests. We are sorry that Coastal Fringes was not for you. David and Marianna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.5 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 55 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorchester Guest House
Dorchester Guest House
#4 of 55 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Collingdale
The Collingdale
#3 of 55 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wentworth House
Wentworth House
#30 of 55 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze House
Sea Breeze House
#16 of 55 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairn House
Cairn House
#17 of 55 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Fringes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Fringes

Property: Coastal Fringes
Address: 76 St. Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Coastal Fringes Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing