We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B&B With a differance,Hosts with smiles”
Review of Coastal Fringes

Coastal Fringes
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coastal Fringes
Ranked #31 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We arrived in ilfracombe without booking anywere to stay and saw Coastal Fringes had vacanies AND places to park the car so decided to stay there, Brilliant, We stayed in the Ann Harding room which was cosy, clean and more than enough for us,Home made biscuits tea/coffee fresh milk in the room,soap shower gel and other things in the bathroom,nothing was to much trouble even asking for a drop of milk in the evening was no trouble, Flat screen tv and dvd player to go with all the mags if its raining lol David&Marianne the most attentive hosts,nothing to much trouble,Breakfasts,what a choice superb, We will certainly be staying there again,

Room Tip: i think ALL the rooms would be brilliant, clean, light and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed here on the last night of a walking holiday. The rooms were beautiful - immaculately clean, spacious and with so many extras such as delicious home made biscuits, fresh milk on arrival, dvd's to watch, themed with the owner's love of classic movies, a book of suggested walks and many other things. We spent a really comfortable night with a great breakfast in the morning and wished we were staying longer. We will definitely return - a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The reviews on Trip Advisor prompted us to book this B & B and we were not disappointed! We stayed in the Gene Tierney room which is on the top floor, it was spotlessly clean, bright, light and extremely well appointed with extras that you would be hard pushed to find in some hotels; flat screen TV and DVD player with a selection of DVDs, tea/coffee making facilities with homemade biscuits, hairdryer, illuminated shaving mirror, shower gel, shampoo (and many other little touches)
The breakfast selection is vast; starting with a selection of fruit juices, then fruit or yoghurt, cereals, and then a choice of breakfasts including smoked salmon and scrambled egg, full english, continental breakfast. We found the breakfast set us up for the whole day, only needing a Devon cream tea to keep us going until the evening!
Marianna and David are lovely hosts, they will volunteer information if asked, their recommendation to visit the Marwood Hill Gardens was greatly appreciated.
A brilliant little find, thank you to previous reviewers, so glad that we tried it despite a couple of kill joys who left undeserved negative comments.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AylesburyKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is a B&B with an unusual character, with its film themes. We stayed a total of five nights in the very spacious Joan Fontaine room which has a nice sitting area. Breakfast was always lovingly prepared and Marianna and David were welcoming and enthusiastic hosts. It's about a10-15 minute walk into the main part of Ilfracombe and the restaurants, which was fine for us. It also has three off-road parking spaces, which was handy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Marianna and David are delightful, they are very helpful and accommodating and offer a vast and very tasty breakfast selection.

We stayed in the Ann Harding room, the room was immaculate and offers home comforts, more than any other b&b we have stayed at, definitely would recommend to anyone visiting Ilfracombe and is only a 10 minute walk from the town centre.

Great hosts, great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 808susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from 2 nights at Coastal fringes and it was great, the owners a so welcoming and friendly, the rooms are immaculate and breakfast is great, I would defiantly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lcja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Another wonderful stay in Ilfracombe's finest B&B! The very high standard and hospitality given by David and Marianna never falters and is the making of our trips to Devon.We stay in the Joan Fontaine room which is so spacious, will every facility you could ever want.You could not ask for better value for money and the extensive and varied breakfast menu is amazing and keeps us going for a good part of the day.We stayed for four nights this trip and not even a bit of bad weather could spoil it for us. On our journey home we always find ourselves planing our next visit to the area and Coastal Fringes!

Room Tip: Joan Fontaine room which was the biggest, and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MREDSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.0 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Breeze House
Sea Breeze House
#14 of 53 in Ilfracombe
163 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Collingdale Guest House
The Collingdale Guest House
#2 of 53 in Ilfracombe
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Harbour Lights B&B
The Harbour Lights B&B
#11 of 53 in Ilfracombe
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorchester Guest House
Dorchester Guest House
#4 of 53 in Ilfracombe
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 53 in Ilfracombe
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Fringes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Fringes

Address: 76 St. Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Coastal Fringes Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing