We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Britannia
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Royal britania is a friendly warm environment with a great atmosphere and good valie for money definitely recommend it to friends staff are welcoming and are always eager to help and are very chatty the locals are also chatty and friendly will definitely be goin again

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mr6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

We are locals, and often go down for a game of pool, we had a curry to night and it was vert good quality, lovely food and bog portions !! Thestaff are welcoming and very friendly and help you as much as they can. Deffnatly can't wait for the summer to be sat out in the lively garden over lookin the beach, Stacey && Stephen

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank ilfracomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I have stayed in The Britannia over the past 2 weeks and I couldn't fault it, if I faulted it I wouldn't have kept on staying, it's a quirky and old which I think is good :) the location is good as it out of the way from the town and is right next to the harbour which sets the seen,
Big Thanks to Kyle and Megan for welcoming me there, easy to approach and talk too, had a few laughs too. Both great bar/hotel staff,
I LOVES ETTTTTT

Tom The Tiler

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasKeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Our group from china went to the UK for shopping sightseeing and Golf and ended up here at the Royal britannia hotel with many wonderfull places to see and good Golf cources
The hotel itself is a great historic place with helpfull staff and good food at amazing prices
if in uk its a place worth visiting

Room Tip: Take a harbourview room (i dident as i was with a group) and be next to the SEA
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ming y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I am with a group and we are at the royal britannia hotel in ilfracombe Devon England, I have had a wonderfull time whilst in London shopping in the other big cities
Now relaxing in Devon at the Royal Britannia Hotel and avoiding the swiming in the big pond
The Britannia Hotel is a friendly place where the staff and owners try hard to keep us happy and provide us with great English food and drinks at amazingly cheap prices.
A big thank you to all at the Britannia and i will be back

Room Tip: Take the small room if you dont spend your time in the room as they are cheap and the views can be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ying c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

i was at the Royal Britannia Hotel Ilfracombe during Dec 12 with some friends and we had a wonderfull time at the britannia hotel
The food is good and cheap and the drinks are by far the cheapest in devon so you can party over a few days without breaking the bank
we had a swim from the back garden of the britannia into the sea which was cold but great.
the staff and the ovners are very friendly people who thy so hard to make people happy
I am comming back with my family next time

Room Tip: take the bigger harbourview room as they are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed here back in Dec 12 and had a twin room overlooking the bay which was just amazing to sit near the bay window watching the see smash against the rocks and the harbour itself was choppy with waves just missing the top of the wall (i am glad they dident come over as we were only yeards away) the next day we found the see flat and had a swim in the cold see (who needs a pool) diving off the Britannias garden wall
the staff are geret and owners have time for customers and we all our food at the britannia as the food is good and is much cheaper than the local restaurants so its a place to chill out eat and have a few games of pool and darts with the locals. We will be back

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.5 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
446 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
278 reviews
3.1 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Britannia

Address: The Harbour Broad Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £43 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Britannia 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel sits on the Harbourside and we have a waterside seating area two restaurants Carvery on Sundays and two bars open from 8.30am until late. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Royal Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Britannia Hotel Ilfracombe
The Royal Britannia Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing