We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Britannia
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here for a night the end of june.We stayed in the four poster room it was well worth the money and the breakfast was hot and tasty.The view from the bedroom is a1 you would go a long way to get a better view.The staff were very friendly to and you can also take dogs added bonus
The room was very clean and tidy

Room Tip: go for 4 poster room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedgepiggler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    83
    62
    28
    40
See reviews for
67
179
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Been to the royal Britannia hotel again and it’s a stunning place its solid oak stairs, sitting on the edge of the waterside and mixture of old and new and yet the old character has not changed.
The owners are great and they gave me a free membership card as I am a regular customer
The prices are good and the food is excellent so give it a

Room Tip: book the new room 25 as its only £79 at moment and once the 4 poster is in it will be £105 and get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Nice place in centre of ilfracombe although we didn't stay we stopped for food, which was cheap cheerful and plentiful. bar area cozy and they didn't mind the kids being kids. would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hairybikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Only visited the pub at the Royal Britannia on several occasions. A cosy bar room and comfortable with nice drinks. Although we did not eat there food was readily available until quite late and looked very good. .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linds190819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

As you will see by the image, the view from the bedroom which we stayed in is second to none. A lot of work has been done to the hotel, and a lot more is being done. For the price we paid, we were very pleased with the hotel. The room was clean, nice and quiet even though we looking out over the harbour. The staff were helpful, maybe a little inexperienced, a decent breakfast ate out on the front decking (the weather was glorious). The only slight negative was the parking, as there is no parking attached to the hotel. You have to use the harbour car park.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worthalook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The hotel itself is situated above a pub and close to other pubs, but while staying there we were not disturbed as all. The lady that checked us in (? the manager) was lovely and made us feel very welcome. The room was slightly on the smaller side but was suitable the bathroom was not great, the shower was very small and was tucked into the corner of the bathroom and you had to go in at the correct angle or you touched the freezing cold wall. There was a crack in the shower head so water kept on dribbling out there was also a few small areas that could of done with some attention was the basin all of the pipes behind were on show and the window could do with some paint. The breakfast that was on offer was lovely it was £5.00 per person per day, but this included full english, tea/coffee and toast. the bar menu that was on offer was ok could do with some attention to make it more appealing but other then that it was fine. Overall we had a lovely stay and would happily go back as we were made to feel so welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhowarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here one night in May. Rooms are above a pub but I didn't notice any noise from down stairs. The room was basic but nice enough. The only down side was the bed being a bit sinky in the middle. Otherwise it is in a good spot close to the harbour with a brewery down the street and ice cream shops across the road. Free parking is available about 100m down the road. Overall good value for money!

Room Tip: There are a few doors in the hallways which bang closed, try to avoid rooms next to these doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drongo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.5 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Britannia

Property: The Royal Britannia
Address: The Harbour Broad Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Britannia 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel sits on the Harbourside and we have a waterside seating area two restaurants Carvery on Sundays and two bars open from 8.30am until late. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Britannia Hotel Ilfracombe
The Royal Britannia Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing