We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but could and should be so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Britannia
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice room but could and should be so much better”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Ho hum, what to say. Booking in is earliest 3.00pm, so arriving as we did at 1.00pm was met with being told that. No compromise! We booked the Nelson (best?) room, top left as you look at it in pics with 4 poster etc, very nice. The rooms with sea views are above the drinking terrace which stays noisy until late with normal drinkers and children. The terrace I would have thought would be for hotel food only but people use it to eat their fish n chips from the nearby takeaway. Tables don't get cleaned, scavenging seagulls take advantage, knock over glasses = broken glass on ground. Breakfast was a shambles, do they actually have a chef? The management is poor / non existent and this I think is the real problem, it really does need managing and could then become a top notch place. For the price you'd find a guest house better value.

Room Tip: Noisy drinking terrace and road so go top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
np1257315, Front Office Manager at The Royal Britannia, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
we have a check in time of 3pm and if the room is ready its ok for people to go in however as our check-out time is 12 and some times the room is not vacated until 1 our staff do the best they can to clean and make the room ready

We serve over 300 meals in a busy day and people do bring fish and chips in and they are told to move on

Despite staff working very hard it is a task controlling people in a busy place during July and august

our hotel must be ok as so-many people want to be at the royal Britannia hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    85
    66
    29
    45
See reviews for
71
187
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Had a (too) short stay at the Brittania last week during the height of the heatwave. Everything was perfect & given the price, a total bargain! We stayed in the Nelson room (where he stayed, the hotel is very historic) which is on the 3rd floor with wonderful views of the harbour, a very comfortable 4 poster bed & a nice little seating area in the window to enjoy the view. New bathroom with shower. Despite the heat & no air con the room was very cool for sleeping as ity is in the shade from early afternoon & with the window open to let in the cool sea breezes, had a great night's sleep. The terrace clears by law at 11.45pm when any noise stops.
We had a great cooked breakfast & it was a bonus having it served for us on the sunny outdoor terrace over looking the harbour.
Nothing is too much trouble for the owners, we arrived at 11.30am & our room was ready for us despite official check in being 3pm. We had a bottle of champagne with us & the willingly provided an ince bucket & glasses for us so that we could drink it in the sitting area of our room looking out at the wonderful view in the evening.
The outdoor terrace is a perfect place to sit with a beer in the sun, good bar prices. Someone mentioned the music, it was 80s, I think they pitch it to refect the average age of the clientele there.
Parking is public & nearby, only £3.10 a day, an absolute bargain. I believe it you are on a longer stay you can by permits at a reduced rate.
When we return to Ilfracombe we will stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are worth the extra price, larger & with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TabbyWabby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night in July and it had everything we needed. The bed was very comfy, plenty of tea and coffee supplied and it was very clean. It was a very hot day and even though the rooms had no air-con it did stay cool with the window open but we did have to close it late at night as we were street side of the hotel and it was a little noisy. The outside bar overlooking the terrace attracted all ages and had excellent views. The only annoying thing was the out of date music played all day. Its a great place to relax and soak up the atmosphere and shall definately return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

7 ladies stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment - perfect for us, although its an apartment there is no kitchen, lounge area but a small tea coffee area for making drinks. Excellent value and great little location. You will need to use the public car parks for parking:-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexdunn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here for a night the end of june.We stayed in the four poster room it was well worth the money and the breakfast was hot and tasty.The view from the bedroom is a1 you would go a long way to get a better view.The staff were very friendly to and you can also take dogs added bonus
The room was very clean and tidy

Room Tip: go for 4 poster room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedgepiggler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Been to the royal Britannia hotel again and it’s a stunning place its solid oak stairs, sitting on the edge of the waterside and mixture of old and new and yet the old character has not changed.
The owners are great and they gave me a free membership card as I am a regular customer
The prices are good and the food is excellent so give it a

Room Tip: book the new room 25 as its only £79 at moment and once the 4 poster is in it will be £105 and get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Nice place in centre of ilfracombe although we didn't stay we stopped for food, which was cheap cheerful and plentiful. bar area cozy and they didn't mind the kids being kids. would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hairybikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.5 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
416 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Devon Bay Hotel
Devon Bay Hotel
#18 of 20 in Ilfracombe
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
683 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Britannia

Property: The Royal Britannia
Address: The Harbour Broad Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Britannia 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel sits on the Harbourside and we have a waterside seating area two restaurants Carvery on Sundays and two bars open from 8.30am until late. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Royal Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Britannia Hotel Ilfracombe
The Royal Britannia Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing