We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Britannia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Imperial Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Marine Court Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Devon Bay Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Palm Court Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Osborne Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Carlton Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Varley House(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Darnley Hotel(Ilfracombe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
121
92
71
31
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
92
71
31
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharbour viewlord nelsonfour poster bedfree upgradeserved hotilfracombe harbourtea and coffeeout of seasonfantastic locationlovely roomtwin roomnew ownersshort breakdogdevonpubs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights. Really nice touch by the staff to upgrade us for a bigger room. The room was huge and the view overlooking the harbour was brilliant, especially because it rained every day

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlasta00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I highly recommend this Hotel, a great location! Richard the owner just couldn't do enough for us, he was so helpful. We arrived early and that was not a problem, he helped us with our luggage and even let us change rooms to have one with a harbour view. The service was excellent, the sunday carvery was a little slow, but that was to be expected as the Hotel is so popular, its definately the hub of Ilfracombe, the staff were going as fast as they could! Even our dogs were made to feel welcome. Everything was very clean and tidy and nothing was too much trouble. The outside terrace was vacated by 1100pm so we had no problem with the noise and music which we were expecting as it is detailed on the website. I would definately stay again, and a huge thankyou to Richard for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: The Harbour views are a must
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed again with Richard and Yan, in this Lovely hotel, again Richard went out of his way to accomodate us. The Hotel had undergone some decoration and upgrading since out last stay, the corridor and entrance has been improved considerably with new lighting and a lovley new staircase and the new front office now fully open.

Our breakfast was taken outside overlooking the harbour, and the staff as usual eager to help and gave a wonderful service, oh the the breakfast itself, YUMMM

Thankyou Richard and Yan, see you soon :)

Room Tip: Nelsons Room, has the best views and a bed that you wont want to get out of !!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsyw64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel was right in the middle of ilfracombe, an ideal location and great value for money. The room was small but ideal for any couple nit spending much time at the hotel, everything you need in one room! Very clean and tidy, breakfast was beautiful. One point take ear plugs because if the music doesn't keep you awake the shouting people will, or the seagulls right outside at 5 am very very loud. But is defiantly stay again and ilfracombe is lovely

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here two years in a row now and wouldn't stay anywhere else, it's perfectly situated for our needs and the rooms are very nice and always very clean, can't fault the service the staff are always willing to help with everything you need, you can't beat sitting out on the terrace with a beer and a glass of wine watching the tide roll in, will be back next year for sure

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews