We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Britannia
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent 2 night here last weekend, the Hotel is perfectly located has wonderful views over the Harbour. I chose a jacuzzi room and it was fantastic, I hadnt expected to have a room with a harbour view so was really pleased, we spend hours looking out watching the tide come in and out. The room was huge and really clean, the room wasnt made up when we arrived but this didnt matter as we only wanted to put our bags in, the staff were really nice. We didnt book breakfast as I am not a fan so cannot comment on the food but the bar was good. There are plenty of places to park and off peak is only £2.00 per day. Fab weekend, fab hotel will be back soon I hope.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the harbour are obviously the best, however in the Summer I would imagine woul...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthWalesTiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Britannia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

My children and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in the family room, we had very good time, the room is suitable to my family and cheap.The staffs are friendly as well, we had wonderful time there.We are looking forward to go back this summer.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is not a four star hotel, it is however a pub with great staff, fantastic views right at the harbour. We were absolutely delighted with this place. The bedroom was unbelievable with a large four poster bed, and the bathroom although compact, clean and well stocked.
The breakfast was great for a pub, and the dinner at night just terrific.
The wind and rain had been going for days, and this place was a really warm and happy place to be.
Thankyou Sandra for your help.

Room Tip: Had the Lord Nelson room, if I am correct, with great views and a huge four poster bed
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johannaaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I visited The Royal Britannia Hotel last year whilst on a golf tourament in Saunton, a short drive away. The setting down in the harbour offers fantastic views and is also perfectly situated in the town. Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful showing us up to our rooms and helping with any extra luggage. The rooms were very spacious, clean and well equipped. We are in the same competition this year and look foward to our return stay at The Royal Britannia Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbmjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel is very basic, clean but a bit tired looking, right next to harbour, breakfast was great, evening meals not too good and not cheap, no direct parking you have to park a little way away and not sure what it would be like in high season.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at the Royal Britannia for 5 days over Christmas and had a very relaxing and comfortable stay. The main reason we booked for here was the fantastic location right by the harbour, and we weren't disappointed. We started off in room 25 which was a huge room but very sparsely furnished, although we were told that it is due to be refurbished shortly which will make a big difference. The room was clean with a comfortable bed but was seriously lacking in furniture and had nowhere to put clothes etc apart from the wardrobe, no drawers, bedside tables etc. The en-suite was clean and had a good shower. The real beauty of the room was the fantastic view over the harbour and we thoroughly enjoyed watching the tide coming in and going to sleep with the sound of the waves lapping. Unfortunately, on our second evening, a couple moved into the room next door with a guide dog which howled and scratched the door every time they left the room - on asking how long they were staying and explaining the problem, we were immediately offered another room and were shown to the Nelson room (32) and asked if we would like to move there. Well, it was a fab room which had already been refurbished, had a four poster bed and also had a harbour view so we happily moved there. The food was really good, home cooked curries and the usual burgers, steaks etc and the breakfast was one of the best we have had anywhere. Don't be put off by the laminated menus which gave a very bad impression of the food, (picture of an elephant in a bowl which we thought was hilarious!) - the food was actually very good. We also had Christmas day dinner which was lovely. Some other comments on trip advisor have mentioned the 'alcoholics' around the bar - do they give a thought that they may be locals who have just come off a night shift so are enjoying their after work pint? We found the locals to be friendly and I even had my picture taken with one of them - Santa - on Christmas morning when we came down for breakfast! No, it isn't the poshest hotel we have stayed in, but felt it had a good atmosphere in the bar, the food was good and the views of the harbour just can't be beaten! People looking for a larger room need to check out the descriptions of the rooms on the website - they are listed as small, large, small en-suite, tiny en-suite etc and are priced accordingly. To summarise - we thoroughly enjoyed our break at the Britannia, friendly staff, tasty food, good room with a fab view.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the Britannia for one night at the start of the new year. It was a last minute booking and we choose it for its location and availability of room. When we arrived at the hotel, it became apparently why there were still plenty of rooms left whilst other hotels were fully booked. The hallways leading to our room, whilst clean, reeked of cigarette smoke. The room itself (superior sea view) had a four posted bed stuck in the middle of a poorly decorated and fitted out room, e.g. tv and video stand mounted on the wall to be used as shelves we guessed, cheap off the shelf plywood doors fitted but not finished with paint or varnish, large mirror fitted on the wall at the bottom of the bed under the tv. The bathroom was a state as well with black mildew in the shower, which also looked like some one had attempted to cover in areas by mastic, badly. We didn't pay the extra for breakfast thankfully, as if the room was anything to go by, it wouldn't be up to much. The price charged for the room was also high, being double that of other hotels we have stayed at in Ilfracombe, but which also included breakfast. Definitely won't be returning or recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank n0rf0lk_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.5 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
435 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Devon Bay Hotel
Devon Bay Hotel
#19 of 20 in Ilfracombe
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Britannia

Address: The Harbour Broad Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £47 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Britannia 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel sits on the Harbourside and we have a waterside seating area two restaurants Carvery on Sundays and two bars open from 8.30am until late. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Britannia Hotel Ilfracombe
The Royal Britannia Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing