We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Britannia
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Sandy Cove Hotel(Berrynarbor)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Varley House(Ilfracombe)
US$108
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marine Court Hotel(Ilfracombe)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlton Hotel(Ilfracombe)
US$128
US$123
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$113
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
121
92
71
30
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
92
71
30
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharbour viewlord nelsonfour poster bedfree upgradeserved hotilfracombe harbourtea and coffeeout of seasonfantastic locationlovely roomtwin roomnew ownersshort breakdogdevonpubs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to stop for a pint, benches overlook the harbour where you can sit and watch the world go by, naturally gets busy in the summer but don't let that put you off, the cheap ale will keep you coming back for more.............and more

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Standard pub hotel on walking in, seemed to be short staffed on my arrival, took 10mins for the owners wife to show me to my room, room was clean, and newly painted look, nice little shower room, shower door abit stiff but well powered shower, toilet flush was poor, toilet roll still in toilet after 1 flush, loved the sash window. And bed was comfortable, good value for money. But food in restaurant was poor! Wouldn't eat there again, there's plenty of other places to eat within walking distance

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank katiebram123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped here the other day for a quick bite to eat, I had an Elephant burger with chops and my daughter had a cheese burger.
The food was nice and extremely well priced. We had turned up 5 minutes after kitchen closing in the afternoon and yet there was no qualms in cooking us a meal, which was done properly and not slapped together in a stroppy chef style too!

Thank you, we shall return again :)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We've just returned home after two nights at the Royal Britannia Hotel, Ilfracombe, and had a great time. We'd spent two weeks in nearby Woolacombe, and didn't want to drive straight home on the Friday, so booked a family room for four at this hotel.

First, the positives (and the reasons I've given it a 'Very Good'. It has an extremely relaxed atmosphere, which was ideal when travelling with a boisterous two year old. The staff and the regulars were very friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic; you are right on the harbour, and it's a great base for exploring Ilfracombe. The family room was spacious, had four beds, two T.V.s, a bathroom, a wardrobe and the means to make a cup of tea. I can't think of anything else I needed. The food was very good. The full English breakfast was exactly that, with two enormous mugs of tea (I don't see what's wrong with that). We opted for the Chinese food in the evening, and it was fantastic. All fresh, not like the muck you get in some restaurants or takeaways. And, at the end of the day, a lovely place to have a drink overlooking the harbour.

Now for the negatives. If you're looking for silver service, this is not the place for you (we weren't!). Yes, you do have order at the bar, but then, have you never been to a Weatherspoons? The food could take a while to arrive, and they could probably do with a few extra staff. Some parts of the hotel are in need of renovation, though it appears they are working their way through. I found the Multi-coloured spot lights and water-wall in the restaurant a little strange, but having said that, my four-year-old daughter thought they were wonderful! Our room overlooked the pub across the road, which got a little noisy on Karaoke night. Fortunately, the room had new double-glazed sash windows, which blocked out the noise completely. My only feedback to the owners of the place is this: don't put pictures of the food on the menus, and on the walls outside. It's a hotel, not a kebab shop. If the standard of food is as good as we experienced, it should speak for itself.

All-in-all, we enjoyed our stay, and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight after fab week in Westward Ho! Looked good on booking.com with harbour view and spa bath ..... All ok room wasn't ready but staff obliging and offered complimentary drinks. Room looked ok and half view from window over harbour. Didn't stay for evening meal visited an alternative local eatery where food was fab. Arrived back at hotel for drinks and went up to room all good until heavy rain about 4 am there was a dripping sound and a bulge in wallpaper where roof leaked in also water running down light pull in bathroom. Informed staff on morning at good breakfast. Told it had happened before what do you expect from old building ....will be contacting owner via email sad could have been nice place.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews