We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse service than the worst Greek Taverna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Britannia
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Lichfield, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Worse service than the worst Greek Taverna”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This was our second visit here and as before we took a room with a wonderful view over the harbour. We kept the window open at night and enjoyed the sounds of seagulls and water lapping around the boats at high tide.
The room was clean and characterful.
But we regretted taking breakfast. It's advertised from 08.30. At 08.30 the place was like the Marie Celeste. The locals in the bar (who already had pints in front of them) took pleasure in watching distressed hotel guests. The first 2 people I tried to order coffee from refused to take the order and said we'd be attended to later. Eventually a cooked breakfast arrived but no choice of toast and no marmalade.
The bill at the end of the stay was a shock. Payment for the breakfasts had been taken without authority. She couldn't explain the total and put through a credit of £15. Shambolic!
Stay here to enjoy the location of the higher priced rooms but take breakfast in the excellent Adele's cafe down the road which is warm, friendly and good value.

Room Tip: No point staying here unless you pay extra for a harbour-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 27johnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    85
    64
    28
    42
See reviews for
68
183
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Lovely room and was clean. Room recently refurbed.Felt like a queen in the 4 poster bed. Lovely view out of the window too! You can see the harbour and you are right in the centre of everything.

Would stay again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

On arrival we weren't sure if we had found the correct place as the "reception" for the hotel was not signposted or easy to find. The room was pretty standard, but did look aging with a worn and smudged information card and very dusty overhead fan and the shower "soap" seemed watered down. The biggest disappointment of the room was that a running water pipe above our room was quite loud and kept my wife awake for most of the night. On the plus side the location was very good for the harbour of Ilfracombe though local "restaurants" weren't particularly good.

Room Tip: Don't have room 27! A running waterpipe from other rooms is very loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MageRage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We booked last minute due to work commitments, got a OK, clean but very small room. Good value and dog friendly. Exterior could do with refurbishment and restaurant and bar looked a bit rough so we avoided.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 706Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to stop for a pint, benches overlook the harbour where you can sit and watch the world go by, naturally gets busy in the summer but don't let that put you off, the cheap ale will keep you coming back for more.............and more

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby Malzeard, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Standard pub hotel on walking in, seemed to be short staffed on my arrival, took 10mins for the owners wife to show me to my room, room was clean, and newly painted look, nice little shower room, shower door abit stiff but well powered shower, toilet flush was poor, toilet roll still in toilet after 1 flush, loved the sash window. And bed was comfortable, good value for money. But food in restaurant was poor! Wouldn't eat there again, there's plenty of other places to eat within walking distance

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank katiebram123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped here the other day for a quick bite to eat, I had an Elephant burger with chops and my daughter had a cheese burger.
The food was nice and extremely well priced. We had turned up 5 minutes after kitchen closing in the afternoon and yet there was no qualms in cooking us a meal, which was done properly and not slapped together in a stroppy chef style too!

Thank you, we shall return again :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.5 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
393 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
264 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Britannia

Property: The Royal Britannia
Address: The Harbour Broad Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Britannia 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel sits on the Harbourside and we have a waterside seating area two restaurants Carvery on Sundays and two bars open from 8.30am until late. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Britannia Hotel Ilfracombe
The Royal Britannia Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing