We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lower Campscott Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

This was a perfect holiday. The log cabin was spotless, the farm is in a fantastic location and we received a very warm welcome from the owners. We arrived to homemade scones, clotted cream and jam. The cabin was very well equipped, great bed, good showers, TV, DVD player, bedding, full kitchen with everything you need. Outside we had a lovely seated area and could shut the gate so the dog could wander outside. There is a great games room with a pool table, children's area, table tennis and table football. The farm has a special walk that takes you round the land and there are countless footpaths. You can see the sea from the farm and there is a path that leads you onto the sea front. The village of Lee is lovely, very quiet with a fantastic pub with very good food. It was very reasonably priced and was fresh from the garden. So good we ate there several evenings! We will definitely return and thank you to Tony at the farm, a lovely host.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

2nd visit and would definitely come back again (and again!). Ideally located for sightseeing and coastal walks. A tea shop and farm shop has opened on site since I was last there and is a welcome and delicious addition, can highly recommend the scones and sausages! The owners are very welcoming and helpful, with a wide knowledge of the local area so they can help with any questions you may have, although the welcome packs in the accommodation have a thorough list of local attractions. The lodges are clean, comfortable and well equipped, perfect for a short break.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Lower Campscott Farm is a gorgeous family run holiday farm and we thoroughly loved our experience and time there. Owned by a very warm and friendly couple, on arrival we immediately felt welcomed and 'at home'. With beautiful views and lush scenery all around, the farm is situated very close to amazing beaches - some with rock pools and some with stunning sandy stretches - so there is SO much to do! The accommodation itself is delightful. All newly refurbished, very comfortable and inviting. Our son was 18 months when we visited and the owners were very helpful in providing us with all the necessary equipment for a little one that age. A great bonus!
The animals on the farm are brilliant. Both our children loved the tour of the farm and meeting all the animals then. Our daughter still talks about Tom, Dick & Harriet - the 3 little pigs and Harold the goose!
The lovely owners, inviting accommodation, stunning surrounding areas and location of this farm makes it a fantastic destination. We would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

We had a great week here. The accommodation was a very good standard, having been refurbished a couple of years ago. The rooms were all bright and well furnished, it was warm, clean etc...all the things you'd want.

Tony the farmer was very welcoming and showed us and the kids around the farm for an hour or more one day, and was happy to make recommendations on local places, discounts, printing info off the web for us - just a really genuine, helpful guy who clearly isn't just in the hospitality aspect of the farm to make money from the farm buildings.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were in the Granary, and had no complaints at all. Plenty of room given it's a farm building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed at lowercampscott farm this September and there is not one thing I could say that would be negative. The accommodation (the stable) was fantastic a lovely size which felt modern but very homely. Our two year old loved the freedom of running round the farm. The animals were all a big bonus and it was nice to include feeding them in our tea time schedule - even Howard who fell out with us one night!

The location was excellent just minutes a away from the main roads but far enough away to be in the countryside. And as for the cream teas and farm reared dexter beef steaks......... Well next time we need to keep the car boot empty to fill up and take home. Will definitely be visiting again. Thank you Kathy and tony, we had a superb time. Rebecca, Steven and Samuel

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlcbecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We visited Lower Campscott Farm in August this year and had a fantastic week. We stayed in The Stable cottage, perfect for our family of three.

The cottage was lovely. Very cosy, had everything we needed and just a stones throw from a view of the sea. We were greeted with a cream tea on arrival - and the scones were too delicious! Very welcome after a long drive.

The bedrooms were light and airy, the living room modern and the kitchen had a farm feel and a table for us to all sit down to eat together. Our only comments would be more towels - or maybe a change of fresh towels during our stay. But then again we didn't ask and maybe we should have as I'm sure they would have organised it for us. Pillows is bedroom - a small thing but they are a bit lumpy and would be worth investing in some good quality ones. Apart from that, the stable cottage was fabulous and these small things are easy to fix.

The farm was small enough to walk around and meet all the animals - and our little boy loved the tour and feeding morning. He became fast friends with Howard the goose - and still talks about him!

It was great coming back after a day out, wandering round to say hello to the animals and then relaxing in our cosy cottage. Stars at night were also pretty fabulous!

The cottage is in a fantastic spot for visiting all the beautiful nearby beaches including: Illfracombe, Woolacombe, Saunton Sands and Croyde. It s a very short drive to all and we felt we were ideally based for really exploring.

We would really recommend the beach at Saunton Sands (stunning), the cave and small beach at Illfracombe, the Damien Hirst restaurant at Illfracombe, the cool vibe of Woolacombe and the fab, little village of Croyde. We also had the best fish and chips at Squires in Braunton but then again it is award winning - and very good value. We drove further afield to Clovelly for a day trip, took us an hour and was well worth it for the spectacular views.

It was our first trip to North Devon and we will definitely be going again. We really enjoyed Lower Campscott and would return, not least to see Howard!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LisalocketUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

This was our second stay at Lower Campscott and once again we had a wonderful time. My 4 year old twins love the open spaces and being on a farm with the animals is a lovely experience. Tony's guided tours/animal feeding was a definite highlight for the girls.
The location is fantastic for exploring North Devon. It is really tranquil with a relaxing setting and great views.
A big thanks to Tony and Kathy, we will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
2.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
2.0 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
5.4 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
3.3 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#2 of 26 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Campscott Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Campscott Farm

Property: Lower Campscott Farm
Address: Lower Campscott Farm Lee, Ilfracombe EX34 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious farm cottages are set in 35 tranquil acres within our own private and picturesque valley overlooking Lee Bay, in an enviably peaceful location, with roads and neighbours over quarter of a mile away! There'll be a delicious Devon cream tea with home baked scones waiting for you when you arrive and all our 4* graded cottages and lodges are furnished and equipped to a high standard to offer you the comforts of home. Every cottage has a dishwasher, washer dryer, wifi, central heating and unlimited hot water from our green biomass boiler that help keeps our carbon footprint low and your comfort levels high! We welcome families, couples and groups alike. Children especially love the fresh air and freedom, with plenty of outdoor space to explore, and for rainy days the games room keeps everyone entertained. Spend the day on the farm and meet the animals, spot the abundant wildlife, help collect eggs or feed the ducks on our ponds. For all that, we are only a short walk along public footpaths to Lee and its local Craft Shop and traditional village pub. There are miles of public footpaths around Lee Bay and the South West Coast Path - we are happy to provide maps and can suggest walks in the local area. Only ten minutes away by car you can enjoy the family friendly and surfing beaches of Woolacombe, Putsborough and Croyde or visit Ilfracombe with its famous Victorian Tunnel beaches. The Tarka trail is right on your doorstep - so bring your bike! Explore Exmoor, take a long day out to Lundy, the Eden project or visit one of the numerous local attractions such as the Sheepdog and Falconry displays at Borough Farm (famous for Channel 5's Mist the sheepdog) which is just up the road. We have a large supply of ideas for days out. Or just simply relax...We are open all year for holidays and short breaks. Dogs are very welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lower Campscott Farm Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing