We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven whatever your age!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lower Campscott Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven whatever your age!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have been staying at Lower Campscott since my eldest was 6 months old, he is now 19! We have also stayed in most of the accommodation with various friends and family over the years. Whether you have children of any age or just want a quiet adult break Lower Campscott Farm suits all. We stayed in September 2013 last year and the 3 boys aged 16, 17 and 18 proved that you are never too old for a bucket and spade holiday! They were also quite happy playing pool in the games room.
Tony and Kathy have worked hard to renovate all the cottages to a really high standard, all cottages are well equipped and nothing is too much trouble.
The added bonus of a tea shop with real cream teas is a lovely touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
102
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife, 11 month year old and I stayed in the Stable cottage for four nights in October. We were welcomed by Tony and shown around the house. Nice to have some cream and scones too. We loved the cottage which has a nice sized lounge, large kitchen and decent upstairs area. So convenient too with dishwasher, baby gates at top and bottom of stairs, flatscreen tv and dvd player. You can also borrow dvds for free in the games room.

We felt welcome throughout our stay and Tony showed us around the farm, despite a heavy downpour. Younger kids will love it here as there are many animals to see and a good sized playing area.

The farm is located a short drive from Woolacombe and Ilfracombe and a manageable walk from Lee Bay. It is in a lovely, serene and scenic setting.

We really found the cottage and Lower Campscott Farm to be a home from home and will be back.

Room Tip: Advise choosing Stable cottage if you are a couple with 1-2 young children. Cot and high chair can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ragingragnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a working farm that also provides accommodation in spotless beautifully maintained cottages with all mod cons. It's a 20 minute cross-country walk to Lee to explore its fantastic slate beaches and, if you're more ambitious, set off on the South West Coastal Path. Tony and Kathy plan to expand farm operations, including installing a biomass heating system. I wish them the best, and hope they keep the cottages just as they are.

Room Tip: We rented Firtree Lodge and Stable Cottage for a family reunion. Firtree is a new structure and Stab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynIsOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudersdorf, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had a very warm welcome with typical Devon clotted cream, scones and jam as a greeting present. Our hosts were a very friendly and outgoing couple and were available for any question we had at any time. After a week's stay we were offered new towels and linnen. We even received farm raised eggs.

The cottage (largest in the place) was excellently equipped, with 4 separate bedrooms, an open space living room / kitchen area with three sofas, and two bathrooms, one with a bath, the other with a shower. The kitchen provided utensils and cutlery sufficient to cook yourself a decent meal. The dish washer and washer/dryer were quite appreciated after a few days living there.

Since the Pinetree cottage was located near the common room, we had wireless Internet access for free all the time (3G quality is quite unreliable in the hilly area around Ilfracombe and Lee). We were given the key for the bycicle shed to place our bycicles, which allowed us to leave them behind when using the car only.

We had a great sea view from the cottage, with lovely sunsets in the evenings. The area is beautiful with the usually very mild Devon weather. There are extensive public footpaths, although you have to "close the doors" behind you and climb every other fence at the designated places and practice "dog lifting".

We compared the place with many others suitable for us as a couple with dogs and found this was not only the best for us but also very competitive in terms of value for money. The space is generous including the parking. Our holidays were extremely restful off season. Lots of different docile farm animals to observe, touch and feed. A guided tour twice per week.

We would love to come again and can recommend this location.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for accommodation suitable for dogs. Not all cottages have the same view. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a wonderfl holiday in Granary cottage at Lower Campscott Farm in August. The grandchildren had a wonderful time playing with others and being free to explore. They loved feeding the animals with Tony and feeding carrots to and grooming muffin the pony. We had a really relaxing holiday, beautiful view from the cottage down to Lee Bay and lots to do in the area. Enjoyed all the lovely farm produce.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimbledon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Tony and Kathy could not do enough to make their guests feel welcome. A really lovely place to stay with amazing views of Lee Bay . Our 3 children loved feeding the pigs and Muffin the miniature Shetland pony. Surprisingly the sun shone for the whole week we were there which meant lots of beach visits and outdoor adventure! However, if it rains the farm also has a games room (barn) for kids to play ping-pong or snooker with a range of toys for the littler ones. Our kids loved the freedom of wandering off to see the animals, climb the slides or kick a football outside.
Superb place. Kind and friendly owners! Stay there! You'll love it. :)

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WombleofWimbledon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Just returned from a lovely week at Lower Campscott farm, there was 11 in our party, great grandma, grandparents, parents and 4 very excitable cousins. We had two lodges, Pinetree and Firtree, both were lovely and very well equipped. Tony and Kathy were lovely, very welcoming. The children LOVED everything about their stay especially getting to feed the animals everyday, the outdoor and indoor play areas were fab too, there was always something to do. Lower Campscott is ideally situated for exploring Woolacombe beach and Ilfracombe. The Sheepdog and Falconry show at neighbouring Borough Farm was enjoyed by all. The children were very sad to leave, but we hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
2.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
843 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
416 reviews
1.4 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
816 reviews
5.4 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
2.6 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#3 of 25 in Ilfracombe
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Campscott Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Campscott Farm

Property: Lower Campscott Farm
Address: Dibbons Lane | Lower Campscott Farm Lee, Ilfracombe EX34 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious farm cottages are set in 35 tranquil acres within our own private and picturesque valley overlooking Lee Bay, in an enviably peaceful location, with roads and neighbours over quarter of a mile away! There'll be a delicious Devon cream tea with home baked scones waiting for you when you arrive and all our 4* graded cottages and lodges are furnished and equipped to a high standard to offer you the comforts of home. Every cottage has a dishwasher, washer dryer, wifi, central heating and unlimited hot water from our green biomass boiler that help keeps our carbon footprint low and your comfort levels high! We welcome families, couples and groups alike. Children especially love the fresh air and freedom, with plenty of outdoor space to explore, and for rainy days the games room keeps everyone entertained. Spend the day on the farm and meet the animals, spot the abundant wildlife, help collect eggs or feed the ducks on our ponds. For all that, we are only a short walk along public footpaths to Lee and its local Craft Shop and traditional village pub. There are miles of public footpaths around Lee Bay and the South West Coast Path - we are happy to provide maps and can suggest walks in the local area. Only ten minutes away by car you can enjoy the family friendly and surfing beaches of Woolacombe, Putsborough and Croyde or visit Ilfracombe with its famous Victorian Tunnel beaches. The Tarka trail is right on your doorstep - so bring your bike! Explore Exmoor, take a long day out to Lundy, the Eden project or visit one of the numerous local attractions such as the Sheepdog and Falconry displays at Borough Farm (famous for Channel 5's Mist the sheepdog) which is just up the road. We have a large supply of ideas for days out. Or just simply relax...We are open all year for holidays and short breaks. Dogs are very welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lower Campscott Farm Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing