We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful family base”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lower Campscott Farm
Certificate of Excellence
winscombe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful family base”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have just come back from a 4 day break at Lower Campscott. We were a family group of 7, including a 2 year old, and stayed in Pinetree. This was just perfect as it was right by the play area. We could relax on the decking and allow him to do some exploring whilst in view. Accommodation had 4 beds and a big living/kitchen area with plenty of seating and room for play. Owners seemed to enjoy making guests welcome and happy to assist.

Children could happily spend some time on the site each day using the play area, well equipped play room and visiting the animals. Scones and cream on arrival a nice touch.

Could well become an annual trip - can you guarantee the glorious weather we had, please

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somersetcyclists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Wonderful holiday. The location is great, accomodation was lovely and the children (and adults)had a great time feeding the animals every day, collecting eggs and sitting on tractors. Tony and Kathy are great hosts. We'd love to visit again sometime, but don't tell anyone about this little gem!

Room Tip: We stayed in Granary cottage which was lovely. It did have quite steep steps up to the cottage so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a week here and cannot wait to go back. Tony & Kathy are incredibly friendly. The kids loved feeding the animals every morning!!! The accommodation is spotless and the surrounding area is beautiful. To top it all off Woolacombe Beach is a short drive down the road. See you next year!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank neilinhosmithinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stunning location, just about a mile from the beach at Lee (take the flashlights provided with you if you're walking back up the hill after dark!!), this is a lovely, friendly farm: perfect for a family holiday!! There was something for everybody here and we were lucky enough to have some glorious weather. Well worth trying horse riding on Exmoor, walking the coastal path through the Valley of the Rocks to Lynton, visiting the beaches at Woolacombe and Croyde, and getting out on the water (maybe from the harbour at Ilfracombe) to view the amazing coastline, all within easy reach of Lower Campscott. The holiday property itself was well equipped, clean and fresh, in a quiet location, with lovely views out over the valley and fresh scones on arrival! The children (15, 11 & 8) loved having access to the games room and play area on site, and the younger ones enjoyed both the tour of the farm, and being able to feed some of the farm animals. The owners are very friendly and approachable, and full of local knowledge to help make the most of your holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thornykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkerod, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here with two families, 4 adults and 4 kids between 5 and 10 for just over a week. Our first impression was that we had found the perfect place and it did not really change... Tony and Kathy are fantastic hosts and take great care to welcome everybody, especially the kids including a farm tour and introductions to all the animals :o). The kids went to help feeding the lambs, pigs and chicken every day...

There are great opportunities to walk the coastpath towards Ilfracombe, Woolacombe or or just to Lee (1/2 hour) with beach (at low tide...) and a great pub.

Pinetree cottage sleeps 8, has a great view over the sea and is perfect for small groups, all the other cottages are great for smaller groups or just one family. The cottages are extremly comfortable all providing dishwasher, washer/dryer and good showers.

I am sure we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christoph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have been staying at Lower Campscott since my eldest was 6 months old, he is now 19! We have also stayed in most of the accommodation with various friends and family over the years. Whether you have children of any age or just want a quiet adult break Lower Campscott Farm suits all. We stayed in September 2013 last year and the 3 boys aged 16, 17 and 18 proved that you are never too old for a bucket and spade holiday! They were also quite happy playing pool in the games room.
Tony and Kathy have worked hard to renovate all the cottages to a really high standard, all cottages are well equipped and nothing is too much trouble.
The added bonus of a tea shop with real cream teas is a lovely touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife, 11 month year old and I stayed in the Stable cottage for four nights in October. We were welcomed by Tony and shown around the house. Nice to have some cream and scones too. We loved the cottage which has a nice sized lounge, large kitchen and decent upstairs area. So convenient too with dishwasher, baby gates at top and bottom of stairs, flatscreen tv and dvd player. You can also borrow dvds for free in the games room.

We felt welcome throughout our stay and Tony showed us around the farm, despite a heavy downpour. Younger kids will love it here as there are many animals to see and a good sized playing area.

The farm is located a short drive from Woolacombe and Ilfracombe and a manageable walk from Lee Bay. It is in a lovely, serene and scenic setting.

We really found the cottage and Lower Campscott Farm to be a home from home and will be back.

Room Tip: Advise choosing Stable cottage if you are a couple with 1-2 young children. Cot and high chair can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ragingragnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
2.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
2.0 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
5.4 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
3.3 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#2 of 26 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Campscott Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Campscott Farm

Property: Lower Campscott Farm
Address: Lower Campscott Farm Lee, Ilfracombe EX34 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious farm cottages are set in 35 tranquil acres within our own private and picturesque valley overlooking Lee Bay, in an enviably peaceful location, with roads and neighbours over quarter of a mile away! There'll be a delicious Devon cream tea with home baked scones waiting for you when you arrive and all our 4* graded cottages and lodges are furnished and equipped to a high standard to offer you the comforts of home. Every cottage has a dishwasher, washer dryer, wifi, central heating and unlimited hot water from our green biomass boiler that help keeps our carbon footprint low and your comfort levels high! We welcome families, couples and groups alike. Children especially love the fresh air and freedom, with plenty of outdoor space to explore, and for rainy days the games room keeps everyone entertained. Spend the day on the farm and meet the animals, spot the abundant wildlife, help collect eggs or feed the ducks on our ponds. For all that, we are only a short walk along public footpaths to Lee and its local Craft Shop and traditional village pub. There are miles of public footpaths around Lee Bay and the South West Coast Path - we are happy to provide maps and can suggest walks in the local area. Only ten minutes away by car you can enjoy the family friendly and surfing beaches of Woolacombe, Putsborough and Croyde or visit Ilfracombe with its famous Victorian Tunnel beaches. The Tarka trail is right on your doorstep - so bring your bike! Explore Exmoor, take a long day out to Lundy, the Eden project or visit one of the numerous local attractions such as the Sheepdog and Falconry displays at Borough Farm (famous for Channel 5's Mist the sheepdog) which is just up the road. We have a large supply of ideas for days out. Or just simply relax...We are open all year for holidays and short breaks. Dogs are very welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lower Campscott Farm Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing