We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edward M. Shooting, fishing, entertainment & a few tipples!”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Edward M. Shooting, fishing, entertainment & a few tipples!”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Group of old school friends stayed at The Osbourne for our annual pilgrimage to Ilfracombe to shoot clays, rifles and to fish for the week. Its the first time we stayed at this hotel and we all wish that we had found it sooner!

We had an excellent stay, the stave were friendly, obliging and seemed to go out of their way to be helpful, drinks flowed at the bar with vigour whilst the evening entertainment (all part of the service) kept us amused and laughing, particularly by Nic, who as one of the family who seemed to wear a multitude of hats never seemed to sleep!

A personal service from a nice family run Hotel who even helped us to organise the Fishing and shooting trips, home from home. Book us in for next year guys, rods and rifles are ready!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay. We loved meeting you all and look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    72
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
55
88
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This hotel couldnt do enough for us, they managesd to put us up at short notice, after having a terrible day. They were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean, had comfy rooms, the evening meal and b'fast was out of this world, they took dogs which was handy for us and it was very reasonable. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a hotel in lifracombe.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachelandmike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thanks Rachel for the review. We were just glad we were able to help! Hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWINDON
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Clean , comfy rooms and £35.00 for B&B . Typical seaside hotel , a bit old fashioned but none the worse for it .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DGRIBBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

A big THANK YOU TO Nick and all staff for making my stay most enjoyable. I went to meet others for a great time at doing the sport we all love, and decided to go earlier than all the rest not only for a longer break but because the price of the room was extreamly good so i could afford to do so.. as money is quiet tight for most of us we all like a bargain don't we ? . and Nick and staff was very helpful, Nick was waiting for me to arrive and helped by taking my luggage and helping me to my room with my belongings .. and even put some dinner to one side for me as i was arriving late. how thoughtfull !! thank you ... I found every one very helpful and friendly nothing too much trouble and even the other holiday makers were very friendly towards me as i was on my own.how kind. The rooms although a bit dated (like most hotels these days) were very clean and comfortable .. and the food was very good. and enough choice to satisfy everyone .. The entertainment was Nick as a one man band lol . always on the go and making every one laugh and have a jolly good time.. excellent all rounder !!! well worth visiting again .. ... Thanks to All. Brenda Staffordshire.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brenda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Thanks Brenda for your compliments on the hotel and the service you received while you were here. We're really pleased you had a good time and hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We went to the Osborne Hotel on a 5 day coach trip on April 30, 2012. Upon arrival we were met on board the coach by Nick, the hotel manager who greeted us warmly in his own inimitable style. On entering the hotel we were ushered into the bar-lounge for a cup of tea, room allocation and general hotel information, quickly followed by luggage delivered to our room.
The evening meal on this and subsequent evenings was a choice of good plain home-style cooking served quickly and efficiently by Judith, our pleasant, friendly waitress. Breakfast was the usual choice of cereals etc. with a full cooked English or any variation on it.
The in-house entertainment was very good. Monday night was spent in the bar-lounge with Nick's excellent quartet of guitar/vocalists. Nick is a first class frontman who had us laughing and singing all evening. Tuesday and Wednesday nights were spent in the ballroom with a mixture of sequence and party dances as our party had requested. Thursday night was Nick's hilarious kareoke in the bar.
The property itself is old and is showing it's age but this is not uncommon for privately owned and run hotels in many seaside towns. Our room was lacking in small details which would normally be expected even in a budget hotel. For example, there was no house phone or radio alarm clock. In the bathroom there were no teeth cleaning glasses, just disposable plastic beakers. On the dressing table most of the drawer knobs were broken--they could have been easily replaced at small cost. There was no box of tissues on the bedside cabinet.
BUT, we were not there to spend our entire stay in the bedroom, which was warm with a comfortable bed, so these shortcomings were easily overlooked. The Osborne Hotel is essentially the management and staff. We had a very enjoyable stay. Ignoring some of the rough edges we would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uktourist6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Had a great stay here, was made to feel very welcomed by the owner Nick. He entertained us with his brilliant talent that consisted of singing, guitar playing, joke telling, a whole barrel full of fun! Very good value for money, there was nothing that was too much trouble.
Thanks Nick and staff!
From Dave and Sue ,
Birmingham

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My husband and i stayed last weekend and had an amazing time. Nick and his family were there to greet us with a lovely cup of tea while a group of youngsters helped our driver John unload the cases and took them up to our room. Had lovely food at every sitting and the entertainment was entertaining!!!! Well done to the Osborne. Will definately visit again as soon as we can and bring the family.

Husbands review....We were on a coach trip and no one had a bad word about the whole weekend.By the end of the trip we had made some good friends off the coach. Well done to Jamesway travel of Rugby

Room Tip: Clean but basic. What more would you need?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
We are so pleased to see you enjoyed your holiday here at The Osborne and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.0 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
416 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
371 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Devon Bay Hotel
Devon Bay Hotel
#18 of 20 in Ilfracombe
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Property: The Osborne Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated to explore Ilfracombe, The Osborne is a friendly family run hotel offering a warm welcome and fantastic value for money. The hotel has 53 en suite bedrooms, a ballroom, dining room, bar lounge, sauna and small games room.With a wealth of sporting and leisure activities close by the hotel attracts families, couples and groups who enjoy the stunning views and rugged landscape of the North Devon coastline. Our executive chef provides a mouth watering menu of treats with special group menu's available on request. We offer free gun storage for clay pigeon groups, wet clothing storage for surfers, kayak enthusiasts and fishermen, plus nightly entertainment in the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Osborne Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing