We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not modern but clean and comfortable, family run and service superb from owner Nick”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's not modern but clean and comfortable, family run and service superb from owner Nick”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

6 of us stayed here for a shooting trip, hotel was brilliant in their correspondence in organising taking the guns etc. on arrival the location is fab near the harbour and near the town.
The outside looks modern but as is every other hotel in Ilfracombe the interior is dated BUT this was clean and friendly!
It is what it is. It is reasonably priced and for the money couldn't fault it. The owner Nick went out of his way to help us booking restaurants and even giving us a lift off his own back.
If I had a gripe it would be allowing the front entrance of the hotel to be the smoking area. For us none smokers walking through the smoke filled entrance was not the best first impression.

For the money It was great.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cjslro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    72
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
55
90
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for only one night completely by accident. We walked passed and shared a cigarette with what we thought was a couple friendly locals. We found out later in the evening after a hilarious night of Kareoke and merriment, that Nick was in fact the owner! And what a lovely, excentric, welcoming guy he was too. We had a brilliant time with the locals in the bar and the hotel itself was well kept, with good size comfortable rooms. Thanks to Nick and Friends for a cracking night of fun and entertainment!
Sarah and Richie

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is a very tired hotel. We went last week and we have never been so cold in a hotel before. You had to wear warm clothes even in the evening when we would have warn something smart. The entertainment was good on the nights the chap played on his guitar but not otherwise. No toiletries in bathroom and no shelves to put them on if there had been any.

Room Tip: Do not go !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for your comments, we were though, sorry to read you had negative reasons to write this review.
Unfortunately your stay here coincided with the whole country experiencing the coldest Spring in fifty years! We had the hotels' central heating on constant and operating at its fullest. When & wherever requested we provided individual electric heaters. We're not sure what else we could have done!
Your dislike of the entertainment provided surprises us as we are well known for our excellent entertainment programme. Its high quality and variety is supported by our previous reviews on this website and the many thank you cards we receive, the latter includes appreciation cards from guests staying here at the same time as you and from members of the party you came with.
Apart from individual guest hand soaps and towels we do not supply complimentary toiletries. There are many reasons why, the main one being as a family run business in today's economic climate we have to be mindful of keeping our runnimg costs in line with the price we can feasibly expect our guests to pay. As much as we would love to provide such luxuries to our guests we have to be realistic and until your review this had not been a known area worthy of negativity.
We appreciate & understand we cannot please everyone all of the time and feel this is one such time rather than a poor standard of service you suggest being provided by the hotel and its staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

WOW - just returned from a four day trip with Jamesway travel to The Osborne hotel Ilfracombe.
After a relaxing journey to the hotel we were met by Nick one of the owners of the family run hotel who came onto the coach and welcomed everyone with some very funny jokes, we were informed that our cases would all be taken to our rooms whilst we enjoyed a cup of tea or coffee.
My husband and I went up to our room after enjoying some more triviality with Nick who made everyone feel at home immediately, when we entered our room we looked in amazement at the size and beautiful decoration, the room was immaculate and everything that you would want to make your stay comfortable was provided. The food was fantastic served to us by friendly and helpful staff, the entertainment was brilliant, Management and staff went the extra mile to ensure our stay at this family run hotel was perfect, we almost felt like one of the family as did all of the other guests. Everyone in our party had a fabulous four day stay and everyone wants to re-visit . We certainly will be taking friends back with us next time we book. Thank you Sandy and Nick for a fabulous holiday and we are looking forward to staying with you again very shortly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Just returned from 5 day break at Osborne hotel, on arrival Nick gets on coach to introduce himself and tells a few jokes(mostly old ones ha) given tea and biscuits and room nos while your cases are delivered to rooms, all very efficient.took a party of 36 and all had a fantastic time.many thanks to Sandy, Nick, Sue, Stuart, Yvette, Neil, and all the staff who cant do enough for you to help you enjoy your stay. have to say Nick works his socks off to entertain everybody and in my opinion does a brilliant job,The rooms are very comfortable, and the beds are the best we have had in all the coach trips we have been on, the food is excellent, Entertainment every night, dont miss race night, laugh a minute , Nick tries to involve all on Karaoke night but does not push if you are not one for singing, Neil is a great bar manager, barman, never wait long to be served, all dining room staff are waiting with a smile for you, thanks James you were great.just finish with a special thanks to Nick for taking time to give Jim (wheelchair)and little Jimmy that extra attention, it didn't go unnoticed, and for the couple of late nights when I opened my room door with my head.Many thanks to all , If your thinking of going you wont regret it, promise.:)
Not a 5 star hotel but in my opinion 5 star treatment, and ALL 5 star staff. Taken ther by Forest Travel, well looked after by Alan our driver, cheers Al.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billdonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thanks Billdonn for your great review, its always good to receive positive feedback, (sorry to hear about your head! lol) We're glad you and your party enjoyed their time here, we had a good time too hopefully we will see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Everything about the OSBOURNE is first class. From the waitress service to the lovely meals to the immaculate linen to the warm welcome. The icing on the cake is the Owner Nick who makes sure everyone has laughter from morning to night. From Ginger & Gerry with his Organ

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Thanks Jean for your lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here, its always good to receive good feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Have stayed here a couple of times, although it is on the main road to the beach you don't get much noise from the road, It is a family run hotel, the food was very good, the only drawback is that he has coach parties in and tries to cram them all into 1 sitting, so you are put on a table for 6 which is only big enough for 4 really.
You don't get much noise as the guests are mostly middle aged and older people that visit.
The decor is a bit dated but on the whole a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.0 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
418 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
373 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Devon Bay Hotel
Devon Bay Hotel
#18 of 20 in Ilfracombe
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Property: The Osborne Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated to explore Ilfracombe, The Osborne is a friendly family run hotel offering a warm welcome and fantastic value for money. The hotel has 53 en suite bedrooms, a ballroom, dining room, bar lounge, sauna and small games room.With a wealth of sporting and leisure activities close by the hotel attracts families, couples and groups who enjoy the stunning views and rugged landscape of the North Devon coastline. Our executive chef provides a mouth watering menu of treats with special group menu's available on request. We offer free gun storage for clay pigeon groups, wet clothing storage for surfers, kayak enthusiasts and fishermen, plus nightly entertainment in the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Osborne Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing