We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford on Avon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Back again”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Have stayed with Nick and family for several years now,along with group of friends,and we'll will be back again,and again,and again and again,in the near future.Excellent food in quality and quantity,spotlessly clean and warm rooms,good bar and all very reasonably priced into the bargain.Nick is in the super star class at night when there's entertainment on so be prepared to laugh.You are treated like family by the management and staff,what more do you need when on holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coachman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Thank you Coachman for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your time here and especially glad you enjoyed our entertainment! Its good to read that our hotel and the service we provide is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    72
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
55
88
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tamworth staffs
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

was told of this hotel by friends who visited last year for the first time [who were introduced by more friends who had been returning for many years] & Yes!!! every thing was true [[no exageration]] Nick made us extremely welcome allthough we arrived very late..with a personal greeting of "welcome to our house"...& that is just what it was.
loads of fun,laughter & marvellous food....esp the seafood on Sat night.
We are allready planning our next trip to this hotel....n might not wait till next year!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ispokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Just returned from the Osborne after spending 3 night there. We were both disabled and Nick and the staff were so kind and helpful to us. The food was great and a very nice dining room to eat it in. The disabled faciltiy room we had was large and light with grab rails to pull down in the bathroom, my only comment was that the chair for the shower did not fit in unless you put it in sideways and then you could not get it. Overall a first class hotel in every way. We will certainly recommend it and be back ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela-Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Had a really great time! Lots of fun and laughter ! Was really well looked after, nothing was too much trouble for Nick and his staff. Second year here and no doubt we will be back next year !
The thing you could not do for us Nick was make the sun shine every day x

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suebboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This is the first time in this hotel. Found the staff friendly helpful they couldn't do enough for you, the entertainment was a fantastic but is not the word for it excellent! The rooms were clean,big,comfortable and made you feel at home we was 2 out of 34 party and everyone thought the same. We never enjoyed are self as much as we did there, we go some were different every year and we will be going next year you was so close to the harbour it was fantastic thanks for a lovely weekend !!

Colin and Carol 1 of the Chelsea crowd

Room Tip: They were all good really
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol_colin2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

6 of us stayed here for a shooting trip, hotel was brilliant in their correspondence in organising taking the guns etc. on arrival the location is fab near the harbour and near the town.
The outside looks modern but as is every other hotel in Ilfracombe the interior is dated BUT this was clean and friendly!
It is what it is. It is reasonably priced and for the money couldn't fault it. The owner Nick went out of his way to help us booking restaurants and even giving us a lift off his own back.
If I had a gripe it would be allowing the front entrance of the hotel to be the smoking area. For us none smokers walking through the smoke filled entrance was not the best first impression.

For the money It was great.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cjslro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for only one night completely by accident. We walked passed and shared a cigarette with what we thought was a couple friendly locals. We found out later in the evening after a hilarious night of Kareoke and merriment, that Nick was in fact the owner! And what a lovely, excentric, welcoming guy he was too. We had a brilliant time with the locals in the bar and the hotel itself was well kept, with good size comfortable rooms. Thanks to Nick and Friends for a cracking night of fun and entertainment!
Sarah and Richie

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.0 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
416 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
371 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Devon Bay Hotel
Devon Bay Hotel
#18 of 20 in Ilfracombe
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Property: The Osborne Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated to explore Ilfracombe, The Osborne is a friendly family run hotel offering a warm welcome and fantastic value for money. The hotel has 53 en suite bedrooms, a ballroom, dining room, bar lounge, sauna and small games room.With a wealth of sporting and leisure activities close by the hotel attracts families, couples and groups who enjoy the stunning views and rugged landscape of the North Devon coastline. Our executive chef provides a mouth watering menu of treats with special group menu's available on request. We offer free gun storage for clay pigeon groups, wet clothing storage for surfers, kayak enthusiasts and fishermen, plus nightly entertainment in the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Osborne Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing