We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EVERYTHING CATERED FOR” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“EVERYTHING CATERED FOR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We would like to thank Nick and everyone at The Osborne Hotel for the excellent service and attendance doted on us.We had some-one with us who was just out of hospital and had to use a wheelchair.Nothing could be faulted, we were looked after 100% of the time.Food and sleeping facilities were excellent and our every request was catered for,there was a disabled shower in the bedroom which was very useful and at night we all slept comfortably and soundly .

Peter John Darby and Val and Ken Peel Wolverhampton

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JONATHAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    66
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
47
76
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

For our 50th wedding anniversary the family arranged a weekend in Woolacombe. On arrival we were informed that the two of us had been booked into the Osborne hotel in Ilfracombe for the Sunday night the 15th September exactly 50 years to the day, also a Sunday, that we arrived at the Osborne to spend our honeymoon there. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and as a result whole family were able to enjoy an excellent evening meal followed by a first class evening of entertainment. It was a wonderful experience that we will always treasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
It was lovely to see your review and thank you for allowing us to be a part of your special celebrations. It was a good night of partying and great to see a family enjoying themselves together. Here's to celebrating 60 years of wedded bliss!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

well what can i say this hotel is very well run the entire cox family make you so welcome from the minute you first meet sandy and the girls who look after your bags.The meals were so well cooked and brought out to us by a very friendly james the waiter who looked after us so well all weekend.In our room we had the most comfy bed the room was clean and tidy.The entertainment was spot on nick made our whole weekend i dont think any body in our group had a bad word to say as we were made to feel so welcome we did feel part of the family taking part in the evening with the entertainment playing various instruments and having such a great laugh. I would tell any body coming to ilfracombe to stay at The Osborne Hotel they will not be disappointed at all . thank you nick and all your staff for a very fab and rememorable weekend that we will all be talking about for a long time to come well at least till we return next may any way haha.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your time here at the hotel. We're glad to see you enjoyed every aspect of the service you were given and especially recognising the hard work all our staff put in to ensure our guests have a good holiday here. We look forward to seing you again next May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We visited the Osborne Hotel to celebrate my in-laws 50th Wedding Anniversary. They had their honeymoon there 50 years ago. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and Nick the owner could not do enough for us.
The food and the hospitality were excellent and the entertainment was an experience never to be forgotten !
We enjoyed the live music in the bar, especially when Nick produced the instruments for everyone to join in.
If you want to stay in a hotel where you feel valued as a customer and want to enjoy hospitality and service the way it used to be, this is the place for you.
I would thoroughly reccomend this hotel and will be revisiting next time we are in Ilfracombe.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marth66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend at the Osborne Hotel, it was a hotel that was recommended by a friend, we were told it was a warm welcoming family business, but unfortunately you don't see a lot of those hotels anymore, but both my husband & myself were pleasantly surprised, we are both disabled & the staff couldn't have been more helpful, polite & courteous too. they helped us with getting luggage up to the room.
They provided us with a room that had a shower which was easier to use than a bath, the towels, & tea & coffee facilities were renewed every day, to me that's a positive, I love my tea, & even if there wasn't enough they would give you more.
The dining room was really spacious for my husband to get round & they didn't hesitate to help us.
The food was fantastic & it was freshly cooked, with not much waiting time too.
They even charged a scooter for my husband to loan to use round the town, so he didn't have to struggle walking with his crutch sticks or us pushing him in his wheelchair.
The staff exceeded themselves & we felt so welcome.
The hotel was situated very near to the town, so it was easy access to go for an evening walk after dinner, the Illfracombe Museum is a few minutes away too, with a lovely cafe across the road from the hotel too.
The hotel entertainment was fantastic too. They excelled themselves.
I liked the fact that it was an old fashioned style hotel had the Old style revolving entrance door, with a very stylish interior, the family & staff were very warm & welcoming & when we first arrived with our group, we were welcomed at the door, they took our cases & directed us into the bar area for a cup of tea or coffee, & each evening you had time to get back from being out from the day to go to your room to freshen up & change before dinner was served. They notified you that dinner was being served with a great big gong just outside the dining room, & if you needed anything at all, you could go to reception & request it, (daytime at reception, or night time to the night porter who was on duty in the reception hall)
We felt so welcome, we actually didn't want to leave, our friend was right, it was a beautiful hotel & well recommended, we will certainly go back to The Osborne & we will recommend this wonderful hotel to anyone visiting Illfracombe too. Thank you so much to the Osborne Hotel Management & Staff

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 657Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel, we're glad you enjoyed your time here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Yet another great weekend at a great hotel. Have been visiting The Cox family for around five years now both as a coach driver and as a guest...My recent trip was with 13 long standing friends from Tamworth in Staffordshire. It was their first visit and it made such an impact that I had to book again for a week in May 2014. Always looked after by the family and as I heard a chap say at the weekend, As soon as you walk through the doors your name may just as well be Cox. I couldn't agree more. Thanks to Sandy Nick Stuart Sue and all the friendly staff...I'm there again this weekend in a working capacity...get the kettle on..

Room Tip: I've never had cause o complain about any of the room I've slept in and there have been a fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great hotel. Make you feel welcome ideal spot 5 min from beach and shops even closer. Would definately come here again!!! Food was really good and restaurant service was fast. Entertainment in the hotel was good although not my cup of tea. Friendly was of staff make you feel welcome

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Property: The Osborne Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated to explore Ilfracombe, The Osborne is a friendly family run hotel offering a warm welcome and fantastic value for money. The hotel has 53 en suite bedrooms, a ballroom, dining room, bar lounge, sauna and small games room.With a wealth of sporting and leisure activities close by the hotel attracts families, couples and groups who enjoy the stunning views and rugged landscape of the North Devon coastline. Our executive chef provides a mouth watering menu of treats with special group menu's available on request. We offer free gun storage for clay pigeon groups, wet clothing storage for surfers, kayak enthusiasts and fishermen, plus nightly entertainment in the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Osborne Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing